Weekly Tech Article #8 The Home Biogas SystemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

Good Evening my fellow Steemians!

Tonight I'm presenting another weekly tech article that I believe will help bring more abundance to humanity.

Today I present the Home biogas digester, this is a device that creates a methane cooking fuel through the breakdown of biological matter through anaerobic digestion. This process has happened on a larger scale dealing with waste from cattle and transforming it into a fuel. Cattle have a bacteria in there intestines that are effective in anaerobically breaking down bio-matter.

There have been a few cost effective designs created for residential applications using a portion of animal waste to begin the bacterial colony in the digester. The product that I have been looking at was originally on indegogo and they have now moved to larger production. Check them out here https://homebiogas.com/shop/homebiogas-bio-toilet/.

What is happening in the biodigester that helps breakdown the biological waste? This is the anaerobic digestion process using natural anaerobic bacteria that thrive in the absence of light or air. The bacteria act on the waste and produce methane as a bi-product of their digestion.

This is the generic process of how biogas is produced.

genericDigestionProcess.gif
Sauce

From the home biogas website you need some animal waste to begin the digester

"specifically an animal that chews its cud i.e. cow, deer, camels, buffalo, goats and sheep"

homebiogas.jpg
Sauce

Below is a breakdown of how this system can be configured for your home and how the waste is processed and finally treated through an effulent discharge bed that will provide nutrients for plants to breakdown for complete treatment.

hambiogassystem.jpg
Sauce

Using this method for biogas we can create heat energy and cooking fuel without using natural gas or propane while treating our waste responsibly saving water and without the need for massive water treatment facilities.

Thank you for your time if you gave this a read!

cropped-LogoV4.png

Sort:  

I proposed building a system like this to use the food waste from the dining hall at the university where I used to teach. The project didn't get funded, but it was a fun research project.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah campuses would be a great testbed for renewable tech. I worked at a University as well and am aware of the political process that happens there.

The homesteader community here on steemit is large, and this is right on their alley.

Keep up the good work, looks great for a self-sustainable home.

Cheers

Thanks @spiritualmax appreciate you stopping by. You bet I love the homesteader community on Steemit, super amazing folks.

I really like this. Been looking at it since before they launched the first version. It was about double the price. We're considering it.

It certainly looks like an interesting setup. I don't know how much methane you would get from the unit just using food waste and human poop. It's certainly worth trying it to see what happens.

Thanks for dropping by and checking it out. Yeah it may be a decent solution I'll have to keep my eye out for some reviews for this one.

Yeah man, that looks like a nice setup, pretty cheap too, especially with the toilet included. I see now they have a septic drainage bed in the plans for it too, nice :)

Yeah, It'd be pretty cool to see some reviews of the toilet system. I would consider this for my property for sure.

That HomeBiogas system does look interesting. I wonder how well they will work in practice.

Are you planning on getting one?


Host of Here Comes The News on MSP Waves Radio.

Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


I'm considering it, depending on where I'm at in the next couple months. I'd love to get one and test it out on my land.

OH WOW, I want one of these sooo badly. We live off grid and therefor rely on propane for cooking and hot water most of the time, and sometimes heat in the winter, and we have to treat all of our own waste. This is an awesome permaculture technology solution and I have just been waiting for an explanation of the process. Thank you for sharing! I hope soon we will have a biogas system as well as biofuel and am looking forward to sharing it on here in the future!

You bet! thanks for dropping by @skycae I'd love to have one too. If there are livestock on the property I believe this is an amazing solution.

Congratulations @makinstuff! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

ahhhh I want one of these so bad on our farm! We currently need more poop, but I have heard pigs are really good for this!

I know man! these things are awesome. I'm not sure about the pig waste in the system?

I think pig waste would work well as long as the proper anaerobic bacteria is added to the digester by putting in some cow dung.

I agree @amberyooper any bio waste should be effective if their is a good bacterial colony established.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62891.03
ETH 3103.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89