What Does Being Aware Mean To You? My Answer to the Tribe Steem Up Bi-Weekly question

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

aware.png

I'm glad I was able to become a member of @Tribesteemup. They are a group in Steemit that supports Steemians that post quality content. This was started by @kennyskitchen.

They have what they call the 8 Pillars of Tribesteemup which define their principles.

Their 8 Pillars are the following:

FIRST, each individual is the exclusive proprietor of his or her own existence and all products thereof, holding no obligations except those created by consent;

SECOND, no individual or association of individuals, however constituted, has the right to initiate force against any other individual and each individual has the inalienable right of self-defense against the initiation of force;

THIRD, explicit voluntary association is the only means by which binding obligations may be created, and claims based on association or relationships to which any party did not consent are empty and invalid;

FOURTH, rights are neither collective nor additive in character, and no group can possess rights in excess of those belonging to its individual members;

FIFTH, the Earth is not a resource to be exploited, it is a living system, of which we are all pieces, and we must learn to live in harmony & balance with the rest of the system;

SIXTH, animals & plants do not exist to serve humans; they are living things that have their own existence, of which they are the exclusive proprietors;

SEVENTH, the purpose of all human endeavors should be the creation of a more thriving, peaceful, healthy, joyous world for ourselves and to leave for future generations;

EIGHTH, basing our interactions with each other on cooperation, co-creating the world we want to live in and pass on, is key to our success

Source: https://steemit.com/tribesteemup/@kennyskitchen/the-8-pillars-of-tribesteemup-clarification-refinement-and-re-casting-the-spell

I like their principles and a lot of them reflect my personal values. I appreciate that they included me in their group and I would highly encourage to check our other members' posts.

separator template 2 rounded ends 2.png

What Does Being Aware Mean To You?

be-2009202_960_720.png
Image Credit

When you become a member of Tribesteemup, they pose topics to write about which is called the Tribe Steem Up Bi-Weekly question. The topic currently is "What Does Being Aware Mean To You?"

This is my answer to @tribesteemup's bi-weekly question.

To me being aware means being aware of the following:

  1. We are conscious human beings who are able to observe and are separate from our thoughts, feelings, and sensations.

  2. Our thoughts are only representations of reality and may not reflect reality itself and these thoughts are also tools that we can use and not use depending on the situation.

  3. Feelings and emotions (even unpleasant ones) may point to what is most important to us in our lives

  4. We don't have complete control as to what thoughts and feelings get generated by our minds and bodies but we can choose how to react and relate to them

  5. The more we try to get rid of unwanted thoughts and feelings, the more they persist and influence our behavior

  6. We have a lot of control over our behavior and our attention

  7. We can influence others but we cannot control them

  8. Even though thoughts, feelings, and sensations are just thoughts, feelings and sensations, we can use them to construct our life directions and choose what we want to live for in this life.

  9. We would be better off choosing valued behaviors (being a loving person, taking care of our health and our environment) than choosing goals as reasons for living. The reason being we don't have complete control over all the factors that lead to a goal getting achieved but we can always choose to act on our values.

  10. All of us experience pleasant and unpleasant experiences and we are not alone in our joys as well as challenges.
    We would be better off helping each other in times of need. We are all in this together.

  11. Our actions have consequences to others as well as our environment and planet. It would be great to know the consequences of our actions and do our best to be responsible in dealing with others as well as our world.

Thank you for reading my post and I hope you got something of it.

Please check out the groups I support including Tribesteemup:

steemiteducation.png

Sort:  

Greetings @ameaningfullife I can tell by the name you chose you are a person of awareness. I love the image you choice "BE"
That is the last name I use lot @rebeccabe (see the "be")

Nice to meet you 🎈

Thanks and nice to meet you too.

I like your being aware means to you. As I read it I thought of awareness being both on the community level and on the individual level. It is not an either or situation , but a dual existence.

I do think that they apply to both individual and community level. Thanks for replying.

Thanks for your comment. I was able to see that I missed including awareness of others and the world in my post. I updated it now. Cheers!

Your welcome, I like the update. I think in today's society, a lot of people don't consider the consequences of their action. Sadly, to many people are self centered and only concerned with what the believe will make them good in moment.

great answer @ameaningfullife, it is such a huge question and it really feels like I am getting to know everyone better by there posts xx

Thanks @trucklife-family. It's interesting to find out what others take on being aware is.

I updated my post because I missed including awareness of others and awareness of the world. I realized it when I was reading other members's posts. Kind of ironic since the post is about awareness. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45