Trial by Comics Entry - Knock Out Digital Pencils

in #trialbycomics6 years ago

Buying comics in the 90s, I think my favorite comic artists became Todd McFarlane, Jay Anacleto, Michael Turner and J. Scott Campbell. These guys have vastly different styles and I like all there work for different reasons. I also love Frank Frazetta's art.

I've always admired people who can draw but I wouldn't call any of them an influence. I never tried to do studies from comics because I didn't understand how important it would be. I just drew and if the drawing sucked I would through it away. I guess I'll be drawing and posting a lot here so it should be interesting to see some improvement even through it's not my focus.


fight.jpg

Anyway here is my entry for the Trial By Comics Contest. I did my best to emulate the crazy detailed pencil work of David Finch or Marc Silvestri. Obviously those guys do something special and this is a confused mess but I'm happy enough to post it.

A little about the process

I thought about doing some Spawn or Deadpool fan art. After a while I just wanted to draw more fighters because it is a good study for the project I'm working on. I found a reference photo and started sketching. Because I was trying to stay close to the reference I made the sketch to stiff. From now on I'll try to push the pose and show more movement.

I worked digitally in Clip Studio using a soft pencil from the daub-brushes.com set. I don't know how to make custom brushes in Clip Studio Yet but it's something to learn.

Thanks for checking out my post.

Sort:  

Very cool and great influences there. I can never tell if Frank Frazetta is every appreciated in the world enough. Really cool shading work on your boxer and I liked the outlined down boxer. There is actually a Steemit user @bryan-imoff who actually has a comic book with boxing, Seer you might want to check out https://steemit.com/comics/@bryan-imhoff/looking-at-seer-part-3-the-vision-begins-a-bonus-featurette-of-the-seer-comic-book

Thanks man. It's definitely on my radar. Look forward to his updates!

Excellent your work, I loved. ;)

Hello friend , fabulous the character, full of lines and shadows, although I am not an expert let me say that I really liked your art.

Thanks. I'm trying.

Nice drawing! Frank Frazetta was and still is a huge inspiration for me, although nowadays I'm looking more towards Alex Toth for guidance.

I think I can see the Alex Toth influence

Nice work dude. I was a big fan of Todd McFarlane growing up. Never really had the chops to draw and focussed on music instead. Good luck with the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67050.87
ETH 3252.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64