Batman, Drawing | Painting | Digital

in #trialbycomics6 years ago (edited)

I started watching Batman on TV in the 1970’s with Adam West. It was a staple of my childhood.

Whenever I had a chance in art school, I would do a comic book piece. I would squeeze them into assignments whenever possible.

Sometimes, I would hire a model then turn him into Batman.

Batman w/ Cross.  15 x 20 in Oil on Board 1993.
Batman w/ Cross. 15 x 20 in Oil on Board 1993.

The method was to use a glaze of transparent color and liquin.

And I would also use them as a subject to do demos for my students when I became a teacher.

These demos were done in class.

I’d start them off with line and value. Drawing from my head, blending with turpenoid and erasing with a kneaded eraser.

Then I’d apply colored pencils to a copy and add a solvent like turpenoid.

Then I’d scan the colored pencil drawing and adjust it even further in Photoshop. Here, I made it darker and pumped up the saturation.

Batman Colored pencil on 9 x 12 in Vellum/Digital 2004.
Batman Colored pencil on 9 x 12 in Vellum/Digital 2004.

One of my favorite things about a teaching job is the free paper and drawing materials.

Now that I have discovered https://steemit.com/trending/trialbycomics I can start posting my comic art here.

Thanks everyone,
@PixelColada

Click here for my Previous Post

Sort:  

The hashtag #TrialByComics is used for a competition that goes on weekly or bi-weekly by the user @kommienezuspadt

You can read more about the current competition going on in this post https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@kommienezuspadt/trial-by-comics-winners-for-colors-and-new-theme-announced

I would highly suggest taking off the "trialbycomics" tag on this post and instead put in #Comics and also add #Batman

Great art, I love a darker looking Batman. Hope you compete in the #TrialByComics!

Thanks, for the suggestion. I'm still trying to figure out where I should post stuff. I can't seem to remove #trialbycomics though.

Oh yeah, I forgot that you can't change the first tag. Oh well, still great art. You can have up to five tags so you can still have #Art #Drawing #Creativity etc. You can see tag stats on this page https://steemit.com/tags if you ever get curious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63