Yesterday's "20 Questions" had more views than the top 4 trending articles combined :)

in #trending8 years ago (edited)

Sometimes it's difficult to define what makes a good Steemit post.

The dollar amount is an indicator that is taken into account by the "hot" and "trending" tabs; however, many times it is common for these posts to have more upvotes than actual views. This is something some Steemit users have indicated is problematic. @piedpiper and @mrs.steemit addressed this a few months ago.

I appreciate any and all upvotes that help me earn Steem, but yesterday, I was pleasantly surprised to see the view count on my interview with John Goehrke much higher than the number of upvotes. This, to me, is an indication of many people reading the content who aren't Steemit users.

In fact, there were more views on that "20 questions" interview than there are in the Top 4 Trending stories combined right now!

As of this morning, here are the Top 4 Trending articles:

top5trending1564f.jpg

Here are the view counts for each...

  1. zcoin2better0a27d.jpg

  2. fantasy2638b5.jpg

  3. pete26f50f.jpg

  4. hole25aa59.jpg

All of these combine for a grand total of 496 views.

My "20 questions" interview, which was posted about 30 hours ago, currently has 510 views!

johninterviewbe93b.jpg
views45b13.png


As I've mentioned before, I'm a big believer in interviewing influencers as a way of exposing new users to Steemit and creating content that is interesting to Steemit users and non-Steemit users alike.

@mynameisbrian recently commented and told me that I should have earned more for yesterday's post. I appreciate his concern, but I'm genuinely happy that the view numbers were high! I'll continue to try to provide more content that people outside Steemit find interesting!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49