A look back at how many people were reached through "20 Questions" in 2016

in #writing7 years ago

After 6 months, 26 interviews and 520 questions answered, I think it is time to take a look back at "20 Questions" in 2016.

My Steemit journey began in early July. I was introduced to the platform by my co-worker, @chrisj. Although I had no cryptocurrency background, I love to write, and I was intrigued by a concept that was based around rewarding authors for their work. I had been sitting on a piece of writing called "Fluid Thoughts" for a couple of years, and I thought this would be the perfect platform to debut it on. I posted it, sat back, and waited for the upvotes to roll in.

Ouch! This piece of writing that I had put so much effort and energy into was clearly not destined for the trending page. Despite the initial disappointment, I was determined to find success through Steemit.

After a few unsuccessful posts, I decided to do something that many people don't often do on social media: listen.

I noticed pretty quickly that there were a few popular bloggers on the site, who consistently landed on the trending page. One of those writers who I noticed day after day, was @heiditravels. After reading her posts, it was clear to me why she was popular. She is genuine; she posts great photos and videos; her writing is interesting to read. I sent Heidi a Snapchat video, asking if I could feature her in a "20 Questions" interview. She said yes.

I realized I was on to something.

I continued to interview popular Steemit users: @katecloud, @manthostsakirid, @blockchaingirl, @piedpiper, @stellabelle, @budgetbucketlist.

Each of these interviews fascinated me, and I truly believe I was adding value to the community. "20 Questions" was helping to shed light on this unique group of talented individuals who knew they were part of something special.

But, my eighth interview went a different direction, and led to an "a-ha" moment.

After a conversation with @chrisj, I decided to reach out to Roger Ver to see if he would be interested in doing a "20 Questions" interview. Luckily, he was, and after a couple of weeks of back-and-forth e-mails, I posted "20 Questions with Roger Ver."

And the community seemed to like it...

The monetary value of the post was great, but what really had me excited was the fact that Roger had Tweeted out the Steemit interview to his 37,000 followers.

At this point, I realized that there were two types of "20 Questions" interviews, both of which added value to the community, but in different ways. Interviews with Steemit users helped identify and showcase the humans behind the usernames. Interviews with outside influencers brought non-Steemit users to the platform to read fresh, unique content featuring someone they care about.

As of today, I've completed and posted 26 interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson
20 questions with Farnoosh Brock

Although it is difficult to accurately quantify the total impressions of "20 Questions," I've provided a few stats below that help show how many non-Steemit users have been exposed to Steemit, thanks to the interviews.

  • Roger Ver - Tweeted to 37,000 followers (this was also Re-Tweeted 29 times)
  • Janina Storace - Tweeted to 600 followers and shared on Facebook
  • Scott Young - Tweeted to 8,700 followers
  • Jesse Heiman - Tweeted to 6,000 followers and tagged several A-list actors
  • @dragosroua - Tweeted to 6,500 followers and (as you can see) has not only joined Steemit, but is now a Witness as well
  • Chelsea Dinsmore - Tweeted to 18,000 followers and posted on Facebook to more than 19,000 fans
  • Ludvig Sunström - Tweeted out to 2,900 followers and helped set-up interview with Kyle Eschenroeder
  • Kyle Eschenroeder - Tweeted out to 1,400 followers
  • Tim Brownson - Tweeted out to 6,000 followers and shared on Facebook
  • Sean Ogle - Tweeted out to 12,600 followers
  • Henri Junttila - Tweeted out to 4,000 followers
  • Hal Johnson (BodyBreak) - Tweeted out to more than 40,000 followers!
  • Farnoosh Brock - Tweeted out to 7,000 followers

(Potentially) 169,700 people saw an influencer who they care about share a "20 Questions" link to Steemit.

This isn't taking Re-Tweets or shares into account


I truly enjoy doing these interviews, and I have to thank this entire community for all of the support! I have lofty "20 Questions" goals for 2017, so stay tuned.

And if you feel as though others should check out this post and be aware of the "20 Questions" project I'm working on, please Re-Steem!

Sort:  

The other day, I was thinking "Where's Wade? I haven't seen a post from him in a while."

I think your 20 questions series is valuable for the Steem ecosystem and hope to see more from you soon!

Hey man! I know... a few other things have been keeping me busy, but don't worry, I'll keep the interviews rolling (especially after the holidays).

I appreciate the kind words! Great work, yourself. SteemDeals sounds pretty cool!

Thank you for introducing me to this community, @wadepaterson, I really appreciate it. As for the number of people you influenced with your series, I think you are drastically under evaluate yourself. The ripples are bigger than just the bare numbers of social media followers.

For instance, once I realized Steemit may be an opportunity for me, I started a 30 days series, in which I posted an article every day AND shared it on my social media circle, with a combined reach between 2k and 4k per post. I know for sure I created at least 10 real Steemit accounts just by that series, and I'm talking about people actually using or promoting the platform constantly.

You're doing a great job! I remember I even asked you if you're on Steemit marketing team and if those 20 questions posts weren't some kind of a marketing strategy.

Well, now I know you're not on their team, but I definitely think you should be :)

Cheers for that, Dragos! I really appreciate it.

The Steemit community has benefited from you joining, no question about it. And I'm glad to hear that the potential influence may be greater than my prediction :)

Very nice Wade, this is a great approach to get interaction on posts and I am sure Google will love it!

When I look back over the years and see what kind of posts do the best. Interviews stand out! Keep it up Wade!!

Thanks Randy! You keep up the good work as well, I love your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10