You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Terrific Tree Tuesday!

Thank you for the great comment! Yes I think with the decline in the value of Steem, we are seeing some of the folks that are only interested in money jumping off. I love the money but I also love the interaction with kind souls as yourself!

Sort:  

Good to hear from you brother. Since I am new to the community all I know of it is what it is now. I believe it is 90% good. But just like my physical community that I live in I always look for ways to improve. Whether it's simple interactions with people I can tell are having a bad day. Or taking the time to thank an officer for a firefighter from what they do. It can be as simple as picking up a bubble gum wrapper from the ground. Or spending a weekend repairing someone's car who can't afford to have it done, yet NEEDS their vehicle.Every tiny small thing adds up. We all have in us something that is special and unique that we can use to better the lives of people around us, and in doing so we better our lives.

Well this is just like your real life community. There are many fine folk and a few bad apples. Some seem to find it a game to try to trick people to enter their passwords in and steal their funds. So be vary cautious. Take some time to learn the difference between your posting key and your active key. A good practice is to only use the posting key for normal posting. That way even if you are tricked, they cannot move your funds.

It is a wonderful community and can be very addictive in a good way :)

Is there any reason I should ever give anyone any of my passwords? I don't get why I would do that? Is there something I'm missing or haven't come across that's a normal part of Steemit where I would give someone even my posting key? Thank you so much though for the words of caution. Just please help me understand better.

No never, but they have links that take you to a page like "stemit" (spelled wrong but made to look close) and ask for your login and steal your money.
Here is a post about it.
https://steemit.com/scam/@denmarkguy/scam-warning-watch-out-for-comments-by-steem-reporter-phishing-alert

Wow. That's definitely some good information. The links people go to just to take advantage of another person. It's not surprising I guess, I just don't get it. But I do truly appreciate you looking out for me brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70