Mule Deer, Baby Osprey, Howitzers and West Coast Baseball.... Must be TreeTuesday!

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

I was going to play this one straight, I swear...nothing but trees, beautiful trees!

qrstlh2o6t.jpg

I had an idea to show trees which have been carved up to make room for power lines.

xijh4fanlv.jpg

There's one on my street that's pretty cool. Maybe I could act all serious and write about trees using their Latin names or something. Prove to you guys that I have a normal attention span and can stay focused on the topic at hand!

lbzyxw797t.jpg

Of course that plan goes out the window when Bambi's Mom shows up and starts eating a tree. Hey, it's still about trees and I'm still on topic, right?

snnfprhrvq.jpg

A black cat watches the deer family. This kind of stuff probably happens on your street too, right?

9ofk8xlg5l.jpg

A piercing scream from overhead. It's a fledgling Osprey... What's he saying?
"Hey dummy... your shutter speed is only 1/30th second. You'll never catch me!"

6ysuu48z16.jpg

I decide to follow the bird and see if I can find his nest in some tall treetop.

dj022g5txl.jpg

High above the trees the young bird flies from one lighting tower to the next. (See? I'm keeping it on topic!)

l1tli9tm6q.jpg

Down below a baseball game is in progress and I don't have tickets. It seems the WCL Portland Pickles are in town to play our Victoria Harbourcats and I'm not making that up. I walk around shooting through the chainlink fence. The tiny lens on my camera fits right through the holes!

65qtsxlsw5.jpg

I'm walking all along the fence trying to find a spot where I can see the game, still poking the lens through the chainlink when suddenly...

bzkthzfkua.jpg

Ummm... Hello? Are we expecting crowd control difficulties? Not any more... That's a 105mm Howitzer. (Of course I know my field artillery... duh!)

y41jrz3w2c.jpg

Please check the above photo carefully. First of all, it seems the Canadian army may be recruiting five and six year-old girls. Second - check out Dad! He is way more concerned about the weirdo behind the fence than the thought of his daughters learning how to load shells!

z07iavs8hz.jpg

I finally find a spot where I can see the game. I'm only about a half mile from home plate and my camera is on 10X digital zoom. That's not going to be real clear.

I'm feeling a little discouraged about my inability to stay on topic and simply discuss trees. But after all, what do I know about trees? I'm going home!

yooakaey2l.jpg

This has been my entry for #TreeTuesday by @old-guy-photos See part one of his #TreeTuesday post here:

https://steemit.com/dlive/@old-guy-photos/0f133895-9a4e-11e8-a04f-0242ac110003



Please be sure to check out my latest posts, thank you!

* Symphony Splash 2018 ~ Don't Miss The Cannon Fire!
* The Trouble With Sunsets ~ And My Attempts At A Solution
* Sublime Sunday Goes To The Library

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What a stroll through trees ! ;-) I love all the wildlife you encountered through it better than the armed part...LoL The guy is looking at you in a mad manner, really ;-)

I think he really wants to hurt me. I guess he thought I was spying on his little girls. All I saw was the big gun and when I got home, I saw all the faces and people. The lighting was very difficult...

Please don't stay on topic or play it straight.....this was fun. Perfect for a grin before I head off to work.

The way the pics are tied together really is amusing.

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

This kind of stuff probably happens on your street too.

If Bambi's Mum showed up on my street if would cause a sensation @keithboone. There would be experts out trying to catch it as it would have escaped from some deer park miles away.

Questions would be asked about how she had managed to travel so far without being spotted previously and without getting mown down by the traffic.

I have never seen trees carved up to make room for power lines either.

Different worlds @keithboone Different worlds! 😂

I'm sure it's quite different. Vancouver Island has a large deer population. Regarding the deer and traffic - these deer are very intelligent and have learned to adapt. Cars and trucks are their only natural predators in this neighbourhood.

This particular little family of deer made the front page of the local newspaper last week. About one block from here there is a very busy intersection with lots of traffic. These deer were photographed crossing the intersection at a pedestrian crosswalk. They waited for the green light and calmly walked between the white lines, crossing four lanes of traffic.... and then, and I swear I'm not making this up, they waited for the light to change again and did it once more!

These deer were photographed crossing the intersection at a pedestrian crosswalk.

That's brilliant @keithboone. 😂

Yeah Dad seemed non too pleased! LOL that makes it a great shot! I have a hard time shooting in public. I find I use my phone more as it is never noticed as much.

Yeah I know, it's tough taking pictures of people. That female recruiter seemed friendly though... if they're desperate enough to look for 5-year-old girls, maybe she was wondering if a 63-year-old man would join up!

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It is very beautiful where you live. The closeness of nature is a special one. I like how you leave the main subject, the trees, and present us parts of everyday life. Photos, as always, great!

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. As long as nobody takes me too seriously! :)

Your humor is very good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67