Travel Tip: Trosky Castle, one of the most romantic castle ruins in the Czech Republic

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip series where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I would like to take you to one of the most famous and photographed Czech castle ruins, the legendary ruins of the Trosky Castle.

Hrad_Trosky,_letecký_snímek.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Located in the Liberec Region in the Northern Czech Republic, the Trosky Castle is a ruin of what used to be a magnificent Gothic castle whose origins date back to the 14th century. Built on two large basalt volcanic plugs by the Czech military leader Cenek of Vartenberk, the structure consists of two towers known as Baba (translated as “the old woman”) and Panna (translates as “the virgin”).

Hrad_Trosky,_zřícenina_(Troskovice)_9.JPG
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Towering high above the picturesque surrounding landscape of the protected natural area of Bohemian Paradise, the ruin is the most famous landmark of the area.

The Trosky Castle was attacked, besieged and damaged many times throughout its long history but it was never fully conquered. There are also numerous myths and legends related to it. The castle is alleged to house a highly valuable treasure and it is also believed that the underground is interwoven with many cellars and secret escape routes leading to nearby caves.

Hrad_Trosky_-_vez_Panna_2.JPG
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

We might never know whether these legends are true or not but there is no doubt the Trosky Castle is one of the most romantic and beautiful castle ruins in the country, having inspired countless artists, poets, painters, writers, photographers and other creative and romantic souls from the Czech Republic and abroad alike.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Prague Astronomical Clock, one of the oldest functioning clocks in the world

ColorChallenge - Red Monday -@devi1714 in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Price of 20 SBD/40USD: 7 World's Continents photo challenge WEEKLY WINNER announcement #24!

Prague/Czech Republic - Monday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

What an challenging place to build a castle. This is not a commonly documented place, so thanks for sharing these unique photos. Doesn't look easy to capture from different angles.

Yeah, I was wondering the exact same...... It goes beyond my thinking how they were able to do those things in the past with a non-existing technology, all manual labor...

Slovakia and Czech republic are our aim in this year. I have never been abroad yet. I live in Uzhgorod.

Go for it, you will be pleasantly surprised!

Really beautiful and amazing. A good place to visit. That name "baba" actually mean old man in my language, haha. But its nice to know it means an old woman in yours. Nice work

LOL, that´s funny considering it does mean old woman in mine:)....

Great shots and lovely location as usual. You really make me want to travel there my friend. You make the place seem magical.

You should:).... it does expand your horizons:)!

I may just do that my friend. Thanks and please keep the great stuff coming.

You made my evening with this lovely pictures....wish i can also travel someday...Thanks for the post most especailly the pictures

I hope you can! Make it a dream, plan for it, work hard and it will all come true, I have no doubt about that!

Thank you for some informations about this place :) I was there and have to say that I really liked that place.

I was thinking about you since I remember the pic you submitted to my photo sharing challenge! You are one of few foreigners that find their way over there, very lucky:).....

So it's nice to hear that, as you are watching a lot of pictures, so if you remember mine I'm happy :) ja se divam obcas na svet trochu jinak, a taky na Ceskou Republiku, kterou mam rada :) myslim, ze je velmi zajimava, ale ze vetsina lidi jen jede do Prahy a to je vse.

Wao amazing tips found in your post and amazing photography . I also love tourism

"Tips" Volcanic? Underground caves? Or a once living tree or titan? Really magnificent pictures no matter what.

By stirring up the mist would you do better by looking at your travels without the fables told about them and taking a second look to arouse your customers with such unbelievable reality that might well increase your sales by X 10. Imagine the lure and shock when you can clearly look at your pictures and travels and see exactly what your looking at. Volcanic structures? Thank you for the pictures.

Wow!! How wonderful !! Trosky Castle is 10 k.m. south from your homeland. I know a little bit. But by reading your blog I could know more about Trosky Castle. Thanks @czechglobalhosts for sharing the beautiful photography of Trosky Castle.

Adventure is worthwhile.
For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.

You capture little moments of clarity that highlight truths about travel, adventure, and life.

Thank You @czechglobalhosts

Really beautiful and amazing. A good place to visit. That name "baba" actually mean old man in my language, haha. But its nice to know it means an old woman in yours. Nice work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69