Photography: Landmark- A competition by @lightcaptured 📷

in #travelphotocontest5 years ago (edited)

A competition founded by @lightcaptured. He does try to change the subject every new round, last round I joined the subject was Landscape. This edition it will be landmark.

Rules are simple:

  • The topic for this edition is:
  • Create a new post with one photo
  • Use ONLY your own original work, plagiarism will be flagged and reported
  • No NSFW images
  • Use the hashtag #travelphotocontest
  • Mention @lightcaptured in your post, for example: "This is my entry for the #TravelPhotoContest by @lightcaptured"
  • Adding your personal touch, a short story, the location, EXIF data, etc. is not obligatory but will definitely make your entry much more appealing and increase its chances of success
  • Reply at the original post from this contest

You see not the hardest rules to be part of the competition.

The landmark of my choice

There is one landmark for me at the moment nearby my house I'm walking by almost every day to grab some Vitamin D during my daily walks. The landmark is a shipwreck called the Captain James Duffy.

Captain James Duffy

A while ago I've created a post about the shipwreck. A lot of people are taking pictures from it nowadays. This is because of a popular bicycle track that is leading towards it. The wreck is in the formal safe harbor from Hansweert.

The captain James A. Duffy is a formal small tow. One of its owners has been the American army and they used it for war tasks, like cleaning mines or military transportations. The ship was completely build out of wood and after the army usage it was sold. If you want to read more about this wreck you can see my older post about it.

Surroundings

The reason this is a famous landmark in my area is because of the bicycle track. The track is leading the people on their bike through a Nature 2000 area. So I would love to share some other images from the area before I show the image for the contest.

Natura 2000 area
Nature 2000 area
Nature 2000 area

The picture for the contest

The day I took this picture I worked at home. At the moment I’m doing this everyday but at that time it wasn’t that regular. Sitting behind my desk I needed to clear my head and my inbox 😅 While having a lunchbreak I played along with an app called Photopills

I was looking at a function to see how the sun would go down for the golden hour and the specific angle it would have. I was looking at the shipwreck location nearby my home and at what time there the sunset would be. Photopills did mention me the right time and I checked the tide for today. Did seem that if the sun would come out and play the sunset would be perfect.

Well it turns out it was my lucky day! We finally had some sunshine again with a beautiful sunset. The light from the sun during sunset was shining over the shipwreck from the Captain James A. Duffy and creating a beautiful orange/yellow view.

James DUFFY
Captain James Duffy during sunset

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more every day life stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!

Banner

Travelfeed

travelfeed

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord. How does travelfeed work? Simple just use the tag #travelfeed in your travel posts (min. 250 words) for a chance to be curated!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://surfingnomad.nl/photography/photography-landmark-a-competition-by-lightcaptured-%f0%9f%93%b7/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by guchtere from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @guchtere! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @guchtere!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.396 which ranks you at #2365 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 102 places in the last three days (old rank 2467).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 197 contributions, your post is ranked at #168.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @guchtere!

You just got a 3.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61563.75
ETH 2648.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46