#Travelmap week 2 - PORTUGAL!! Get ready for the steemfest 2017 with our travel guide

in #travelmap7 years ago (edited)

As many of you know I started this project last week to create a new travel guide for our community. I also want to our Steemias, that are located all over the world, to get closer together, by sharing their cultures, traditions and travel information.

More about the project here: https://steemit.com/travelmap/@lizanomadsoul/travelmap-the-new-travelguide-for-our-steemit-community-created-by-you

As I could see, many of you liked the idea and participated.  -  You already can find really interesting travel guide posts about México, Nicaragua, Malaysia,  the Indian Ocean, Thailand, Turkey, Hungary, France, Germany, Austria and Indonesia at #travelmap. Thanks everybody for using the tag and helping me grow this project!!

@liliana.duarte had the great idea to make this weeks #Travelmap challenge about Portugal, since this years steemfest has been scheduled in Lisbon for November 1st to 5th.

More about that here:
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@roelandp/save-the-date-steemfest-2017-creamy-and-delicious-1-2-3-4-5-november-lisbon

I appreciate your feedback and consider nominations of other countries for my next choice.

The second weeks country is #Travelmap  - Nr. 2 Portugal!!




http://www.innostarsaccelerator.eithealth.eu/portugal/

I remind you that the goal of this initiative is to create a new insider perspective  from travelers or locals about countries all over the world. 

As always I want you to blog about places you like a lot, something cultural, traditional, something about languages, food, the people or their lifestyle - so our steemians know more about the next steemfest location :)

Here a bit of general information:

Portugal is located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe right next to Spain. It is considered one of the warmest countries in Europe with around 2500 to 3200 hours of sunshine a year. In Lisbon the temperature for November is normally between 12 and 18 degrees with 75% humidity. 

There are about 10 million people living in this country and the first language is Portuguese. It´s capital is Lisbon with about 500 000 inhabitants, which is located at the Atlantic ocean. 

The country is a great place for sightseeing, as it contains fifteen UNESCO World Heritage Sites, ranking it 8th in Europe and 17th in the world. The Torre de Belém & Mosteiro dos Jerónimos in Lisbon are great examples of those!

It also has great landscapes and beaches to visit and the food is great!! It is definitely worth it to stay a little bit longer after the steemfest and explore the country. I hope we hear more about that soon from our Co - steemians writing for the travel guide!


Fun Facts:

1. Half of the "New World"(today Brasil) once belonged to Portugal.
2. Portugal is the oldest country in Europe with defined borders since 1139!!
3. You can find the oldest bookstore of the wold in Lisbon. It is called: Bertrand bookstore and was founded in 1732.
4. Portugal is one of the world's top surf spots with 364 days of surf and a cost line of 800km!
5. The border between Portugal and Spain is considered the longest uninterrupted border within the European Union with 1,214 km

As always after one week I will pick 3 articles about the chosen country and make a post about it. Whatever that post (and of course its translations) make will be split and transferred to our three winners!


Here you can still upvote for our last winners with the topic: Germany :)
https://steemit.com/travelmap/@lizanomadsoul/travelmap-winners-of-week-1-germany

I am already curious about your posts and also appreciate Upvotes, Comments, Followers & Resteem :)
Steem on! - Cheers, Liz

Sort:  

Can't believe this - I'm a new Steemian, and for my first project I decided to write a blog series about four long-stays we have spent in Portugal as an escape from the Canadian winter. I joined about a month ago and my first post was probably about the same time you posted this, but I didn't know enough about Steem to find you or @liliana.duarte, who had the great idea to make Portugal #Travelmap number 2! So better late than never - I am up to 11 posts now in my series, and some of the info may help your followers who are either interested in Portugal or heading for SteemFest. Travelmap is a great idea, and I'm now following!
Any plans to do Tahiti-Australia-New Zealand? About a year and a half ago we did a 3 month road trip which will be the subject of my next series, once I finish Portugal!

Hey there! Yeah it is but I didnt have enough time to keep it going like I wanted to. I will probably start it again in September though when I start my travels. Thanks for participating! I will keep that destinations in mind.

Thanks for getting back to me. If you have time take a look at my Portugal posts - I think I could have been the winner if only I had found you!

Ahah, let's see what co-steemians will share about Portugal!! Like to see what you find out and shared on this post. I didn't knew about Bertrand, but I've been inside it :)

Well you should write about it too ;). I ve never been there but I will see what I can do.

That is one of my pending projects on Steemit, maybe I can resume some features in a post, it would be fun indeed!!

I am looking forward to it :) Thanks for your support by the way. I reached 500 followers today. Mentioned you in the post!https://steemit.com/thankyou/@lizanomadsoul/woow-today-i-reached-500-followers-and-1-000-steem-power-thank-you-dankeschoen-gracias

Probably I already know what I'll focus! Need time for it, maybe on the weekend only. Congrats on your 500 followers, that's an amazing achievement!! I already got 500 followers​ this past wekeend and now 550! Common, really? Are theymultiplying​g or what? Checking your post in a moment!

;)

As you may have noticed I hadn't done my Post yet about Portugal...I will do it, asap. it will be my next "big" post. Need time to search for photos and build it

Thanks :)... I will put the competition on pause though.. because nobody is participating.. maybe start it again when I got more followers :)

I've started writing about places to visit while you are in Lisbon in steemfest
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@serggioc/steemfest-is-coming-to-lisbon-things-you-should-definitely-try
Check it out

Great, put it in travelmap and I check it out asap ;)

Great idea. I haven't been to Portugal but will keep checking back to see new challenges. Followed

Nice! Thanks :) What do you want to write about? I still need some inspirations for next weeks country

oki doki. I will write it down.

Great Idea and think Portugal is a great choice !! please do keep me updated !! STEEM ON !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66