From Ukraine with love ... and humor: Secrets of Driving - 2

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Secrets of Driving - 2

Hello, my dear readers! Every time I am behind of the wheel of my car I think about writing one more post about our (local) driving. And this time is now!

If you are my reader, you might remember my previous post From Ukraine with love ... and humor. Secrets of driving. In fact, today I continue to write in same manner (e.g. with humor), and this skill is quite necessary for me to survive.

If you would be brave enough to drive here yourself, you need just a little bit more tips and tricks. I told you about rules and customs, but is there any rules that have no exception? Well, I pose very philosophical question.

Exceptions are like an castes outside the law and untouchable. Ready to record? Now then:

  • Bikers, or Motorcyclists.


source
These are (beyond all doubt) brave descendants of invincible Ukrainian kozaks, or elusive ninjas, or at least unbeatable Berserkers.

Biker who is going to gain the respect of community will never ride within the lane, only between them! The only exception (from exception, hehe) is when they drive in opposite direction. The speed should be at least twice as high as allowed.

The sound of a motorcycle starting on the green light is heard in the evening air by relaxing residents of several neighboring quarters

Every day they look into death's eye, and disdain pitiful tin can drivers.

neaw7mwzz0.jpg

Well, in fairness, there are separate individuals (like this guy I captured 2 days ago) who don't even care about customary practices. They do not race with the speed of the wind, but drive slowly, bewitching everyone around with the sound of 1.8L engines and the shine of chrome. Isn't it a bigotry?


  • Minibus drivers.


source

Any man worth his salt must have a minibus in his garage. It has a universal use and also is very good for local roads. The happy owner will always be a welcome guest of any company or event as in its bus magically can fit any numbers of guests, garden furniture for picnic, fridge and a fireplace.

Driver of passenger minibus will charge you for the flight and give you nothing - no ticket, no service, no sanitary stop, no clean interior, no guarantee of arrival time ... Well, you better feel lucky if it did not catch fire during the trip and didn't get in an accident. Don't try to argue with him - he is your boss!

From the height of his sit he can see future and observe all road environment. That's why he needn't to pump the brakes or to turn off driving beam - you are right, but it is bigger! In fact, do they have a brake pedal at all? Not sure...

Of course, they disdain petty bikers who disdain pitiful tin can drivers.


  • Luxury SUV.


source

This is one of most dangerous exceptions. While you have a chance of an accident with two previous categories, but still can survive, this case may end with shooting. You'll never see you get targeted through its tinted window. Even if not, the judge would rather believe in talking beasts than in your innocence. No way, seriously. And you will pay the damage for the rest of your life.

Contrary to the expectations, those drivers have a very delicate soul and ego. If they have a passenger they place a premium on not "losing face". You better give way and show respect to them rather than to police or ambulance, even if they trots towards you in your lane. What if not? Well, those who survived and can prove it are ... where no one can find them.

Drivers of Luxury SUV also have difficulties with brake pedal. It is a bad tone to talk about their speed limit. Well, that make sense, you know, all that high tech equipment - movies, news, phone calls, business, they just have no time to watch the road. Bear with it.

Needless to say, that they disdain rednecks in minibuses who disdain petty bikers who disdain pitiful tin can drivers.

vsgpvhbtxt.jpg


That seems to be all for now.

If you happened to not fit any of these categories, but feel yourself a cat with nine lives, do not give up. Put on your poker face, check the horn, learn a couple of swear word (it is an instrument of last resort) and you are back in play! Like my driving instructor used to say, "Break confidently".


source

vsgpvhbtxt.jpg

Okay, hope you don't take to heart my sarcasm. Of course, things are getting better every day. Just yesterday I saw a biker wearing protection and reflective vest. He never changed a lane and drove just like a .... driver! I forced myself not to stop my car, get out and give him a hug! Besides, my husband would mind that.

vsgpvhbtxt.jpg

Thank you for your time to read my post!To sum up, I would remind you The Golden Rule:

Treat others as one's self would wish to be treated

And watch yourself, my dearest ❤ We have one life - appreciate it!

I am with @qurator, do you?

vsgpvhbtxt.jpg

x1ezmfj9xx.png

eSteem.app | GitHub | Telegram | Discord

vsgpvhbtxt.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you, my friend!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Such a fun and perhaps scary post to read when you realise so much of what you say is true and similar for drivers of similar vehicles here

That't why humor is my armour. Now nice that I don't have to drive to my work place. It is just 5 min walk 😉

I think sometimes the saying laughter is the best medicine is so true and as you say a type of armour
I see the crazy traffic on the highway each evening on my way home and am glad I am on the train

Yes, trains are safer I guess, besides, and it is really good, that you can read or browse the net or chat with friends in messanger or on the phone.

By the way, do your drivers allowed to talk during driving? Should they use a headset or may hold a phone in the hand?

Indeed or do replies on steemit while on the train like I am now

It varies from State to state but many states now have laws to stop distracted driving

But that said I often see people on there phones talking or texting

Things are the same everywhere...

How many time do you usually spend on the train?

Yes I think so, and on average I spend about 3 and a half hours on the train each day

Pretty enough for steeming ))

haha! howdy zirochka! very funny and interesting! Why have traffic laws there if no one obeys them? Don't the police write many tickets?

Hello there, janton! Well, sometimes police write tickets, sometimes not, and I can't get it. There is a kind of mess with all that during last years. They increase sum of tickets, but what's the point if the law does not work.

Howdy today zirochka! Well in some places that I've lived in the United States the city or county government will have all the police go write tickets to raise money if the government is running low, so they use ticket writing as a way to fund themselves, maybe that's why they sometimes write them there in Ukraine.

Who knows for sure, do you know anyone who works in the government? That could be an interesting contact to have.

Hello today, janton! Well I think you are right, our police would like to fund themselves, not the state. There was a hope that things changes after reform of police, now I am not sure :(

howdy today zirochka! corrupt organizations are so hard to change because everyone in charge is corrupt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62