Wednesday Walk. "Cavill Mall at Night."

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

"Cavill Mall at Night."

I didn't set out to be entertained on my walk through Cavil Mall in the heart of Surfers Paradise last night but entertained, I most certainly was.

(This is my entry for the "Wednesday Walk" challenge initiated by @tattoodjay)

My first introduction to Ripley's Believe It or Not 'Odditorium' was fascinating to say the least. I've never had the opportunity to actually enter one of these places but from what I have heard of other peoples experiences the statement made on the entrance to this place sums it up succinctly.

Ripleys 3.jpg

The statement reads, "It's a Weird World After All!" Perhaps I should have said, "Under-statement."

The Ripley's experience incorporates interactive games, illusions and puzzles, dozens of engaging displays, and over 400 artefacts to browse. 'Ripley's Believe It or Not' venue is open 365 days of the year. Maybe I'll book in for a visit next time I'm in town.......maybe.

Ripleys 1.jpg

There is a great variety of cafes and restaurants in the Cavill Mall. With the chill of winter creeping in, large gas heaters did their job of allowing people to enjoy al fresco dining whist soaking in the holiday type atmosphere.

Diners.jpg

City Beach stores are a popular place to shop for all things 'Beachy.' With the sound of the surf as the ideal backdrop coming from across the road, they hardly need any sea, sand or surf props with which to promote their goods.

Citybeach.jpg

A talented busker added his touch of Tropicana to the place with his dulcet tones and skill on his guitar making it sound like Hawaiian music.

Surfers Paradise which is situated on the Gold Coast in Australia is well known for its high rise skyline and its beautiful beach. Buildings such as the Q1 with its SkyPoint observation deck provide panoramic ocean and city views. The night life is another big attraction and amongst these shops and cafes you'll find lively nightclubs.

Busker.jpg

Its never too cold for Gelato........

Gelato 1.jpg

Especially when there is a Starbucks across the way. The social scene at Surfers has been referred to as an entertainment playground and many international events take place at attractive venues throughout the year. Cavill Ave becomes a favourite meeting place in between business and holiday activities.

Starbucks.jpg

Rows of palm trees decorated with sparkling lights make a bright focal point and an easily recognisable landmark for visitors.

Tourists.jpg

Build A Bear Workshop is still open for business even though it is now well past all little Bear's bedtimes.

Bear workshop.jpg

Bears.jpg

Fashion Stores are looking for customers.

Fashion.jpg

Fashion 2.jpg

Out on the Esplanade I discover more interesting places to eat.

F Surfers dining.jpg

Parking is not easy during public holidays, special events and weekends along this picturesque waterfront so these orange bicycles which are provided by the council are a handy way to get around. I see them situated all over Surfers Paradise.

Orange bikes.jpg

Alternatively, you may like to grab green cab to pick you up and take you to your destination.

Green cabs.jpg

Business was a little slow for these two cab drivers but when the Beachside Markets close at 9pm, I imagine they won't have time to check their phones then.

Green cabs 1.jpg

I started this walk showing you something weird and I am going to finish it in the same manner. Meet The Silver Man!

Silver man.jpg

At first I thought he was a statue. But then someone put a few coins in the tin on the ground and suddenly, he leaned forward, smiled and shook their hand to thank them for their gift. During this exchange, I took a closer look to find out what he was sitting on. Nothing! Absolutely nothing! How does he do that?

Silverman 2.jpg

It is beyond my comprehension. But that's not all. Check out his companion sitting with docile patience at his feet. Not a friendly pup or loyal dog. Not a pig or a cow or anything ordinary like that. No! The Silver Man has a crocodile to keep him company. Can this scenario get any weirder? I daresay it could really......... if I stayed long enough to see if The Silver Man had trained his pet croc to look like a statue too. I wasn't prepared to find out.......because it was well past my bedtime now. That's my excuse anyway.

Silver man 1.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this fascinating walk through Cavill Mall and Surfers paradise Esplanade. Thank you for viewing. Have a great day!

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk :) what an interesting visit tot he mall, so many interesting shops

Ripleys I have always mean to do a visit to and go in, but have never got around to it, one day I will,

and the Silver man I have seen similar and I have no idea but am intrigued how they sit like that for so long

It was my pleasure to share my interesting walk JJ. Thanks so much for your wonderful support my friend. There is always something happening in Surfers Paradise but I haven’t been out and about at night there for a while. I hope the Silver Man has a comfy Lazyboy chair at home to relax on. Goodness knows how long he stayed in that position. 😁

Ohh yes thats a good point by the end of the day he must have some tired muscles I know I would be aching after a couple of minutes

Me too @tattoodjay It's not like he was very young either. It will remain a mystery. (:

I would love to know but I guess we never will

What an interesting walk you had, Trudee. The silver man with his pet crocodile had me spellbound. Unbelievable! V&R.

So glad you enjoyed my post @redheadpei It was just going to be a short one but I find it hard to confine myself to just a few images most times. The Silverman and his Crocodile were definitely the highlights for me. Thanks very much for the V&R. Greatly appreciated. 🌺

Wow, so cute picture, big shot!

Many thanks for your kind appreciation @manuelnoya 🌺

That was cool. Thank you for sharing!

BTW, can I ask how you got the shadow effect on your photos?

Thank you very much for your visit and input @misterbob Nice to meet you. The effect is shadow framing and I use it to add a bit of depth to my photos.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-cavill-mall-at-night


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Thank you so much @steemitworldmap I'm very appreciative of your kind support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47