Trip to Severn Beach and Clevedon #2 + video

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

_DSC3627_.jpg
ISO 100 | f 11 | 1/30 sec | Sony Alpha A230


This is the second part of the day out to Severn Beach village and Clevedon. And a long promised. Read the first part here.

Driving from Severn Beach to Clevedon has been a very enjoyable experience. The sky looked promising and we were expecting a beautiful sunset.

As soon as we entered the city, I got really upset. Clevedon is a very unique and beautiful city! To come here just for a sunset is not wise. The city offers tons to see! So one day I would have to return - no excuses.

But let's get back to the pier. Why Clevedon pier? Because I looked along river Severn for a nice place to be near water. Once I saw the google view of the pier I was so impressed, I could not wait to see it, walk on it and watch the sunset from the pier.

_DSC3628_.jpg
ISO 100 | f 11 | 1/15 sec | Sony Alpha A230

Little that I've known, this spectacular Victorian pier actually has got opening times and a paid entry. At the time of our visit, it was already closed for the day. Therefore, all the images have been taken from around the pier.

But even then, it was a nice experience. Seeing the sky change colour, listening to the water, walking on the river cobbles, which felt like a pile of snow, - it all makes up for a missed entry to the pier! And wait for the day to get dark - watch the other side of the river Severn to lit the lights. It is so beautiful and fascinating knowing that you look at the life on Welsh land while sitting in England!

_DSC3660.jpg
ISO 100 | f 22 | 4 sec | Sony Alpha A230

The row of houses facing the river Severn was colourful and offered plenty of places to sit down for a meal. There is an on-street car park along the promenade, which looked to be free of charge. However, coming on a quiet Saturday evening, it was full and even driving around prooved tough finding a space! Seeing it as a popular tourist destination, I would suggest planning ahead.

_DSC3644_.jpg
ISO 400 | f 5.6 | 1/40 sec | Sony Alpha A230
_DSC3653_.jpg
ISO 400 | f 5.6 | 1/30 sec | Sony Alpha A230

We left the city in a good and relaxed mood. My little one has played with some boy digging cobbles and running around. I have exhausted the camera trying to get some decent long exposure shots on a very uneven ground. It the end, I felt so at home that I thought I should move into this wonderful city!

_DSC3666_.jpg
ISO 100 | f 13 | 2.5 sec | Sony Alpha A230


Watch a short shaky video I took at the location!


Why and when to visit the Clevedon Pier

I have shared my experience, but I would like you to visit this place so I have done a bit of digging!

"The most beautiful pier in England"

by Sir John Betjeman [1]

The pier opens at 10 am but closes depending on the season! So, if you are here in winter - expect closure times at 4 pm. And summertime - 8 pm [1].

Prepare yourself for the entrance fee. Again, different pricing for various age groups, but aim to spend £ 3 per person [2]!

You get to visit a Pier shop, discover a bit about the history of the Pier and could even have a meal in the restaurant in the pavilion at the end of the pier.

The Clevedon pier is Grade 1 listed Pier! It is one of its kind in Britain! You won't see the arcade amusement usual to the piers in the UK. It is very classy. Covered in wooden decking, it offers sitting benches either side of the pier along the path.

_DSC3649_.jpg
ISO 400 | f 5.6 | 1/80 sec | Sony Alpha A230

An interesting historical fact - it has been previously collapsed and has been restored thanks to the English Heritage, the National Heritage Memorial Fund, the Heritage Lottery Fund, the persistence of the locals and small donations [3].

!steemitworldmap 51.441889 lat -2.861600 long The Clevedon Pier d3scr


© Rimicane

image.png

Use #travelfeed tag because why not!?

Min 250 words!
Travel related!


Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

  1. Clevedon Pier & Heritage Trust. Oficial website. Accessed 11th March 2018.

  2. Clevedon Pier & Heritage Trust. Official website. Accessed 11th March 2018.

  3. Clevedon Pier. Wikipedia. Accessed 11th March 2018.

Sort:  

Clevedon Pier used to be the second best in the world! Now the best after Weston's was burnt down. And yes, you should definitely consider moving ^_^

In the world?! Wow! No wonder they charge for the entrance! 😏 But I don't mind!
I wish I could move! Such a beautiful city!

Well, of course I would say in the world coz I'm biased, being a local 😉

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Oh, cool! Thank you!

Красивая палитра красок на небе на первой фотографии! Пирс- великолепен, как и сам городок!

Спасибо! Небо менялось очень быстро. Но город - сказка!

More trips down memory lane. The video especially was very evocative for me. It really hasn't changed much over the years. 😊

That's great! Means they maintain the standards! But I really want to go back and see more!

Beautiful photos. I want to go there 🙏🏿🌟

Thank you Ade! Why don't we arrange a steemit meet-up in Clevedon next time!? I would be all for it!

The post has been featured on the worldmap! Well done.
Sounds like an idea, the meetup :)

Oh, nice! Thank you for letting me know!
And, yeah, should take the idea to the discord and see what everyone else thinks!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rimicane
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=trip-to-severn-beach-and-clevedon-2-video


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The first picture belongs framed and into a museum! Beautiful, silent capture!

Thank you! It was pretty silent scene! Loved it!

It does look like a unique and beautiful place! I just put a pin on my travel map.me, hope I get a chance to visit that region in future when I'm in Europe. Thanks for sharing these beautiful visuals! =)

The first photo it may be also a colourful and beautiful paint

Really lovely images, @rimicane, and I enjoyed your video, too. I have never been to Clevedon, but your post makes me awnt to do so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91