Visit Scottish Highlands #7 - Isle of Skye - Sligachan area.

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Good day Steemians!!


I am happy to present another part of my photo-guide to Scottish Highlands. Today we focus on Isle of Skye and closely to Sligachan - small settlement in a heart of the island.

I love making this series for You and for myself - it takes a lot of time to search the archives from many years to find the matching photos but also it is like great travel in time, refreshing my memories and finding always some new, never published before, photos.


IMG_9612sm.jpg


This time it will be more like a big gallery instead of detailed guide - simply because there is not so much to tell about the location - there was some historical stuff going on there, but in fact - Sligachan is just a small area, crossroads with couple of buildings and old, stony bridge - not much to write about - what is really important there are the views around! These are spectacular and I hope the pictures will tell You more than 1000 words...


DSCF0301.jpg


I visited Sligachan 4 times already - first in 2006, than 2015, 2016, 2018. I will mix the photos all together here but I will place them under the described subject. You can see the difference in look of the mountains depending of light conditions, sky and season of the year.


IMG_1593.jpg


Some introduction - driving from the main island through Isle of Skye it is impossible to miss Sligachan - it is just by the main road A87 from Broadford to biggest city Portree and there is also another way leading to west side of the island to Dunvegan. Couple of car parking areas, white old Sligachan Hotell with small brewery, guest houses... some other buildings in a distance. Small settlement in a middle of nowhere! Lovit!


IMG_5655.jpg


On the place, just next to the main road, is standing old Sligachan bridge - in some way it composes with the landscape so naturally that looks almost like a creation of nature - it fits perfectly to the landscape and is one of the main attraction for all lazy turists who don't want to move their asses up the mountains ;) (just kidding, I was also one of these lazy ones).


IMG_1605.jpg


IMG_9500.jpg


IMG_9512.jpg


Like I mentioned in the beginning - views around the place are simply fantastic. Almost 360 degree of magical landscape around. From the location we have great view on Cuillin mountains and especially Black Cuillins - the highest mountain ridge on the Isle of Skye.


IMG_1601.jpg


IMG_9556.jpg


Sligachan is a name of the settlement but the whole area is known as Glen Sligachan or simply Sligachan Valley. I could even say it is more plains than valley. Marches, rivers, small ponds, rocky terrain mixed with swampy grassy grounds - typical background of the Highlands.


IMG_4321.jpg


IMG_5669.jpg


Black Cuillins with its highest peak Sgùrr Alasdair - 992 m. Great destination for all hikers and climbers. We can reach the mountains directly from Sligachan with one of many footpath. Originally Sligachan Hotel was a base camp for the mountaineers in past days.


IMG_9514.jpg


In the left hand side, looking to the Black Cuillins we can see Red Cuillins or Red Hills. Different geological structure make them looks much brighter. Why they are called red? You can see on the photos.


DSCF0309.jpg


DSCF0306.jpg


IMG_9545.jpg


The highest and in the same time most characteristic summit of Red Cuillins is mountain Glamaig - 775m. It's pyramid shape from this side and fantastic colours make it most beautiful mountain in the area (in my opinion of course).


DSCF0302.jpg


DSCF0291.jpg


IMG_9546.jpg


Another very characteristic and very beautiful mountain is called Marsco. We can see it directly between Red Cuillins and Black Cuillins.


DSCF0300.jpg


IMG_9554.jpg


IMG_9504.jpg


If we are not planning spending whole day there and go to the area near Cuillin mountains it is good to use the main trail and go to Sligachan Waterfalls - small falls on the river Sligachan flowing to the Loch Sligachan. During winter time we can expect it to be partly or whole frozen but in other seasons, water is flowing nicely creating good first line in our landscape composition.


IMG_9604.jpg


IMG_9613.jpg


IMG_1584.jpg


If You will driving through Isle of Skye to other more famous locations like Storr, Fairy Pools or Quiraing - don't forget to stop by the Sligachan every time! the look of the mountains and great plains around will take You to the right mood and are the preludium to fantastic travel experience during Your further journey through the Skye!


DSCF0308.jpg


IMG_4361.jpg


DSCF0296.jpg


Few more shots taken outside Sligachan but in the area of Glen Sligachan. Open spaces like these ones are my favourite type of landscape. in such great opened horizon You can watch the moving light, changing weather, search for details in a far mountains, breath the amazingly fresh air and feel the moisty, cold wind on Your cheeks! Is there something more beautiful?


IMG_5737.jpg


IMG_5735.jpg


IMG_5719.jpg


Thank You all for watching and Great Thanks for those who read as well! Hope You liked this post and the place I was trying to show You on my photographic works. Any thoughts or questions - feel free to ask and write comments! Until next one!


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

Sort:  

wow ...
you are indeed a very talented photo grapher, i want to learn a lot from you how to take a picture that looks life like that, ..
Hopefully more useful knowledge from you that I can learn thanks sir ...

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 73.83%. Estimated dollar amount of $5.02

Nice to know! Stay tuned, more posts on the way ;). By the way... I am thinking to do some series about photographic techniques I am using and some photoshop tricks that can improve the photo quality...

hmm, you use photoshop to edit it.
thanks sir ..

Excellent high quality pictures, highly appreciated. Upvote and resteem.

Great thanks for good good opinion ad for the great support! :D

Oh..scotland I don't know when I can visit. Thank for share your photo. This is my way to enjoy other contry, becuase impossible for me to visit them

Of course, I have the same with countries like New Zeland, Australia or Greenland... they are out of my reach so for now I am just watching them on other's photos...

Of course, I have the same with countries like New Zeland, Australia or Greenland... they are out of my reach so for now I am just watching them on other's photos...

I love the moodiness of the majority of these photos. Great locations!

Scotland is in whole very moody place. Thank You for Your comment!

So beautiful! Incredible selection of pictures. Resteemed!

Thanks a lot! Always great to see the support from Your site!

JUST STUNNING! Wow this is truly amazing every single photos could be in a gallery somewhere! My favorite is the one very first one!!

Thank You for this fantastic comment! My pleasure to read such things!

Your photos have a way of capturing a mood that I find awe inspiring... I’m sure there is a technical word for it but, I’ll just go with wow. I also really enjoy the story that you present, it’s like you are taking us on a journey with you... it’s wonderful and I really enjoy your posts. Thank you for sharing your talent here with us!

Thank You a lot for this nice words! I am trying to share my best works with You guys! It is always better to shw it than to keep it somewhere in the archives all the time ;). Still hundreds of them waiting for publication. Have a great day!

Wow stunning shot, wonderful photography

Thank You a lot! My pleasure!

Wow these are just stunning, could look at these shots over and over and over again!

Nice to hear such words from a person who also love the Scotland's landscapes and saw them in real live. :)

Your welcome!

Beautiful photos and high quality content! I really enjoy how you play with shadows while taking landscapes. Keep up the good work. Resteemed!

Thak You or good opinion and resteem! All kind of support is always welcome. My pleasure to see people like my works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57126.48
ETH 3046.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29