Rice Rice Baby

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

What would you guys say if I wore a banana suit in a rice field? Would you wear one too and go in the rice fields with me?

I think it would be funny if I went to a random rice field wearing the suit and then I asked a local Indonesian to show me how to harvest rice. I’d offer to help them and pay them 13k (1 USD) if they allowed me to put on their rice hat.

I bet it would make their day. Because just imagine their dinner conversation:

“I was just working in the rice field today and some random girl came up to me in a banana suit and tried to help me pick rice.”

Probably nothing that interesting ever happens during their work day!

Unfortunately, there were no banana suits used in the making of this rice field post :(

But, at least I had my crappy friend with me:

You maybe remember him from that REALLY crappy coffee I had.

Well, even though there was no banana suit, I ended up doing a tourist thing and going to the Tegallalong rice fields near Ubud. I almost considered not going, just because I didn’t want to be a typical tourist…

…but, it was worth it.

Turns out, rice is nice!!!

Seriously it’s so beautiful that I barely need to edit photos, which is great, because I’m untalented, remember?

Hmm...Crying out for love and attention much, are we, rice fields?

Crappy Friend Stole My Balinese Hair Flower

Had To Go To This Restaurant And Stuff My Face For Comfort Food After The Flower-Theft Incident

Couldn't find comfort because restaurant tried to be fancy. Look at those portions, though. What am I, a Barbie? So much for emotional eating...

Had This Crappy View:

Thought I'd take a narcissistic photo of myself to get social media validation/likes since the emotional eating thing fell through:

Immediately posted on social media, got 3 likes, so had to swing it off and forget about it all

Stupid crappy friend.

Love, @nomadicsoul

P.S. My crappy friend says hi, too. Only because I made him act slightly less crappy. He was totally planning on just ignoring you.

Sort:  

That swing looked scary, but what a view!

It's less scary than it looks, I promise

Ahh, threw me off with the Hanoi post. I guess you are still in Bali...It occurred to me that maybe you're getting sick of hearing from me...like every post. I'm supposed to be out there(well, SEA) now, but I've been putting it off for some unknown reason. Maybe the stars haven't aligned quite right yet. So, I'm glad someone I think I can identify with on some level is out there doing their thing. I'm enjoying your adventures.

I'm actually in Hanoi but still have post-catching up to do with stuff from Thailand AND Bali. I'm not sick of hearing from you at all. It's the opposite, actually. I appreciate you so much!!! Thanks for your comments and I'm glad you're enjoying adventures! I was supposed to go to SEA 4 years ago and ever made it out until now...so I know you'll make it eventually when the time is right

the majority of the activities of Indonesian people are farming, you have to travel around Indonesia because the scenery here is very beautiful @nomadicsoul. Wonderful picture

I agree!!!! I LOVE the scenery over seen so far! What was your favorite part @indraperdanaok

my opinion to me the two most wonderful objects in Indonesia are its nature, mountains and sea. if u like the adventures of it is the right choice @nomadicsoul . 🙂

I agree with all of that! But I have to add, the people are wonderful as well!

In this post the main character is your friend Mr. crappy isn't it ? Follow you around the rice field and take care of you while you play with swing. eheheheh The view in that photo is amazing!

Hahaha he's a crappy main character! Yeah it was definitely cool

LOL the 'barbie portion' cracked me up. Love the yellow dress :-*

Lol thanks! Glad to make you laugh

Mr. Crappy is liking all the attention. We also have rice fields here and if you say you took a crappy one, I disagree with what I had with mine.

We were chasing fogs and clouds because the weather was gloomy when we went up!

I so love your photos totally! :)

Haha the rice field was actually super amazing. I loved it. I sometimes like gray skies just as much as blue ones...as long as it doesn't rain! thanks!

I love blue skies! I like anything bright and colorful! Grey skies are okay too, that means it's not super hot and you don't get all sweaty.

true!! It's kinda gray in Hanoi but I like it because I don't sweat here so much! Positive sides to anything! Even gray skies!

Yes, I agree definitely!

It is possible banana plant grow in rice field. your photography is very beautiful, i am appreciate your hard work.
Thanks for sharing your life moments on steemit.

thank you for your comment and for reading and commenting! I like your profile picture, by the way!

Thanks for these lovely words about my profile picture.

wow what an amazing photography rice fields looks amazing, you must had a great time, you look gorgeous with this sweet yellow dress hehe all the best.

Thanks for the compliment!

baik!

The plantation is nice in your country, so well arranged line.
in our country Bangladesh, we plant direct on field, almost square areas
and some fields are spreading with a big area.
see the photo below. this is a rice field.
s3.jpg
image source

oh cool, thanks for showing the difference!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nomadicsoul
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=rice-rice-baby


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44