The Shittiest Coffee I've Ever Had

in #travelfeed6 years ago

I had the shittiest coffee I’ve ever tasted in my life. I can’t even begin to tell you how shitty it was.

Maybe even the shittiest you’ve ever had.

You know how I know?

Because the beans literally came out of a cat’s butt.

Yeah. So, next time you’re thinking of a cool unique date idea, maybe you should take your date to drink cat butt coffee.

It’ll definitely be an experience he/she will never forget. I can send you some in the mail if you need to impress someone, haha.

The cat is called a Luwak, or a civet cat in English.

Yeah, I don’t know what a civet cat is, either. I was just trying to sound smart. It looks like a mongoose or a ferret to me.

It looks like this:

Super inviting, right?

Can you imagine being so desperate for coffee that you see a Luwak poop it out and think “Yeah. I want that.”

That some seriously extreme coffee addiction right there. I’d say the first people to do this probably needed an intervention.

How addicted to coffee are you?

If all of the sudden, the entire world ran out of coffee, and you had to collect coffee berry poop and wash it off and roast it… would you do it to get your coffee fix??

Or would you kick the caffeine habit?

For me, I’m not actually among the millions of coffee addicts in the world. I love it, but I don’t drink it much (unless it’s decaf) because the caffeine literally makes me play leapfrog with people.

I get so shaky and uncontrollably hyper that I seriously do that. Last time I drank caffeinated coffee, I called up about 8 different friends asking people to play leapfrog with me until someone finally said yes!

So yeah…that literally happened. As an adult.

Despite this, I still REALLY wanted to try luwak coffee because having new experiences are some of my favorite things in life.

I’d rather have experiences than things. I’d rather have shitty coffee than buy a new pair of shoes.

Anyway, do you want to know why people started doing this in the first place?

It’s cause Dutch people in the 28th century were exporting coffee from Indonesia and wouldn’t let the plantation workers have any coffee beans at all for themselves, which I think is super rude.

But, the joke’s on the Dutch people. Because despite being so shitty…Luwak coffee is actually higher quality than the regular coffee that the Dutch were having.

Ha. Joke’s on them. That’s what they get for being rude. No poop coffee for them.

So, the luwaks were going all around the jungle, eating the coffee berries. But, they swallow them whole and can’t digest them entirely.

So, the partially digested beans are what they poop out and somehow it magically makes the coffee taste better.

It was super cool that I got to try it.

There are a lot of Luwak places in Bali, but this one was very close to the infamous rice terraces in Ubud. It’s called Alas Haram.

You literally couldn’t miss it if you’re driving a motorbike there (which, I’ll say again if you’re going to drive a motorbike, use maps.me for directions. It’s a lifesaver and works without wifi).

Snapseed 7.jpg

This place was awesome, because they gave us about 16 different types of tea/coffee to try, as well as a cup of Luwak coffee and regular Balinese coffee to compare it to.

All for about $4 USD. Plus, we got a tour explaining ALL the poop things.

Literally one of the best deals I think I've scored in Bali.

Snapseed 27.jpg

Snapseed 19.jpg

Snapseed 17.jpg

So...I have this stuffed animal poop. I call him my traveling piece of crap. I ALWAYS forget to take pictures of him, but thankfully not this time!!

Which was perfect, considering I was at a place that serves pooped out coffee beans, haha.

One of the workers, Oka, LOVED my piece of crap. We ended up laughing and playing around with him and having the best time.

Snapseed 6.jpg

Snapseed 5.jpg

Snapseed 4.jpg

They had a cool glass floor!

Snapseed 12.jpg

And also this pretty view:

Snapseed 22.jpg

And this "unpretty" view of coffee beans with some poopy still on them:

Trying to imitate the statue:

Snapseed 23.jpg

Snapseed 9.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

thank you!!!!! ❤

I don't know if I can get myself to drink that.
Well... I'm glad Indonesian cats are appreciated for their poop instead of the cats in the US where it's seen as a nuisance.

hahaha you seriously have the best comments. I wish someone would appreciate me for MY poop!

Hahaha, when I see your post title, I know it will be about Luwak coffee! Great writeup, so informative! And I just love your smile(or laugh?) and the dress.

hehe I think it's my laugh!! Thank you!!! <3 So you tried Luwak coffee before?! You can get the dress for a good deal in Ubud! At the elephant cave they bargain really low. 50k which is about $4 USD!!!

This post was hilarious!!! I would love to return to Bali, and perhaps try the poo coffee!!! haha

haha thanks! That would be awesome! Come hang out!

I've had it before. Pretty good stuff, actually. Glad you got to experience it with your stuffed poo.

haha it just seemed like the only appropriate way to experience it

Ha! I knew what was coming when I read the title of the post. I've heard of the poo coffee, but haven't tried it yet, sounds like you had a good time with it!

hahaha I wonder if everyone knows. Definitely try it when you get a chance. It's not gross. They clean the beans. I mean, it's KIND of gross...but it tastes good!

Yeah, still gross! :) When you coming through Bangkok so @suitcasemama and I can spoil you with Thai food? :)

I'll try this one day 😂

you really should!

Ahah we did stop by a place near Munduk that served the poop coffee - but despite Guilly being a coffee drinker he, for once, didn't want to adventure! Next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37