I Accidentally Ate Raw Buffalo Meat

in #travelfeed6 years ago

I’ve talked about how making friends with locals leads to some crazy experiences. Well, on the same day I went to the strawberry festival with no strawberries, I also ate some beets that weren’t beets.

That’s right. It wasn't beets. It was raw, uncooked buffalo meat that tricked me into thinking it was beets. I can’t believe a piece of meat would try to lie to me like that. What a jerk.

It was covered in blood which gave it the red beet color. To be honest, I thought it tasted amazing. It obviously had some good seasoning on it.

It was really weird eating cold meat, though.

And especially once I knew what had happened, I was SO worried that I would get sick and die because I’ve heard all kinds of horror stories of people eating raw meat...

...and it not ending well.

Here's my friend Rit (Thai), Matt and me. Matt is way too happy about this raw meat potentially killing him:

But, good news. Nothing bad happened other than the queasy feeling in my stomach at the thought of getting sick.

When you go out to eat with Thais, they just order a bunch of dishes that everyone shares. Since there was no menu in English, I had no idea what they were ordering.

This is one of those times where I question if I go with the flow too much.

After eating raw buffalo, I had an adventure that made me forget all about it (thankfully).

We went to the Mae Sap Cave. Here's most of our group:

I don’t think I’ve ever been in a cave before, and I absolutely loved being inside the dark inside the caves. It felt like I was living a real-life ghost story. I would love to spend the night there and just freak out about the bats flying above me and tell ghost stories all night.

Here’s me telling one in the cave:

I also loved how small I felt next to the huge rocks surrounding me on the outside. Pictures don’t do it justice. Especially my pictures, ‘cause I’m an amateur photographer with a cracked iPhone. Iphone on crack, haha.

I tried to get the spider to bite me so I could become spider woman and have superpowers, but he refused to do it. This spider just does what he wants.

Take a quick trip to these caves if you’re ever in Chiang Mai. You get to drive past some beautiful rice fields on the way there as well.

I also recommend pretending to be a cave man, so I don't know how trustworthy you think my advice is anymore.

Sort:  

Holy cow! That's a big spider.

I reluctantly ate raw beef in Cambodia. 😬 I wouldn't have if it wasn't marinated in lime juice to kill the bacteria.
I also ate raw horse meat in Japan and beef tartar in Germany. They were actually all really good and I didn't get sick from eating any of them. ✊
I'd be slower to eat raw meat in Thailand because of poor handling. Poor meat handling? 😸
I saw those cave spiders in SEA. Too big for me to deal with, I was like "Nope" *runs the other way.

How do you prefer them to handle your meat?

Very carefully. 😉

Hahaha I run from real spiders, but cave spiders seem exciting!

I didn't know lime juice kills bacteria!! You're the raw meat king!

Where I live we eat raw meat in a meal called tartar.

Neat! Where are you from? France? It actually tasted really good, that's the crazy thing. I want to look up this meal you're talking about

I live in Québec.

I don't know if it's popular throughout Canada but here it's usually served as an entrée accompanied by fries or salad.

It's good but frankly it doesn't have a strong taste because the meat is uncooked and almost unseasoned.

It might be different in Europe but here the salmon tartar is more popular than the beef tartar.

Whoa, interesting! I had no idea!

Any tips on how to be a caveman? Lol
Never imagined eating a buffalo. Perks of having a Thai friend. :)

Tip #1: Eat everything with your kumai, no matter what.

Tip #2: Never shave your armpits or legs or anything.

Tip #3: Google how to be a caveman if you forget how to be a caveman

Tip #4: Remember that cavemen don't use Google

Hahahhaha pretty witty! What's "Kumai"

I shouldn't Google anything or else I won't become the ultimate caveman!

This is interesting....i have been to only Ogbunike cave in South Eastern Nigeria ....do you wanna go there?

Are you asking me? Lol

I want to go to all the caves everywhere!

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Awww, I've been to many caves, and I love it! It's like being in another world, isolated from the worries outside. There's an awesome cave in Japan with magnificent views. There's some artificial light inside and measures to stop people from damaging the ages-old rocks. And right outside (there are two entrances, one below in the city, and one above in the mountain), there was a long mountain road right outside the building where the elevator was. The view was also amazing. I was reminded of it because of your last picture. A beautiful cave and right afterward a beautiful open landscape with pines and foreign smells.

strawberry festival with no strawberries 😂😂

The beets at least wanted a host. @nomadicsoul

I'd love to give it a go .....

I'm in Penang now yes

u have an amazing experience of this story, I think enjoying raw meat is not very good for digestion, but can enjoy the trip with friends and get new things should be tried. hopefully you always get a great adventure @nomadicsoul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50