Strawberry Fest With No Strawberries

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

When I travel, I always love to become friends with locals. The travel stories are so much better that way and the experience is much more meaningful.

Luckily, I have a friend here, Matt, who is friends with basically every person in Thailand.

Every time you hop on the back of a motorcycle with him, some Thai person yells something at him like "Where are you going?" as we pass by.

Matt decided that he should become friends with some local Thai police…because he’s always getting into trouble and needs someone to bail him out of it. 😆

Kidding about the trouble part, I think.

Here's a pic of the Thai police uniform and a policewoman just for fun:
]

His police friends told us about a strawberry festival that was happening, which was awesome because literally NO tourists or farang (foreigners) here in Thailand knew about it.

That means we got to have a truly authentic experience with locals. Matt and I were the only two foreigners there!

My favorite thing about the Samoeng strawberry festival was that there were almost no strawberries.

🚫 🍓

I know there was a language barrier... but I was SURE they had said we were going to a strawberry fest.

This was the one lonely strawberry we saw, so I knew I must have heard correctly:

Actually, there were more cowboy things and Native American Indian stuff than strawberries!

Thai police make hella good Native American/ Strawberry Fest Indians:

And there were also a lot of American flags?!? I was so confused...I promise this was in Thailand! 😆

Here's a cool strawberry life hack I learned ** (thanks, strawberry festival knowledge):

You can use empty plastic to keep your boots standing straight in your closet! I
actually use pool noodles at home...but I love the plastic bottle idea.

Bonus points: There was a swing there!

One thing every strawberry festival always needs to have to be a big hit is a swing.

What You Need To Throw An Awesome Thai Strawberry Festival:

  1. Feather Headdress ✔
  2. Cowboy Hat ✔
  3. Tractor ✔
  4. Boots ✔
  5. Boots with plastic bottles inside ✔
  6. Swing ✔

According to my calculations, this festival was a perfect success!!

It turns out, this place was only a pit stop to the REAL festival. PHEW. We were super confused! This is what happens when you are the only two foreigners and have no idea what is going on.

We drove to another place even further away that had actual strawberry things!

The strawberry parade floats were my favorite. The detail is amazing on these things! They're made out of flowers and fruit!!

The funniest part was that someone ate the strawberries off of the parade float:

Food wise, they mainly had strawberry wine and strawberries:

I wanted to be friends with this guy who was selling some strawberry whiskey because his smile was so contagious!


He wasn't even posing for me... I was just taking multiple pictures of him like a straight up creeper.

Proof that I'm creepy and took several pics of him:

I took a taste of the wine...and surprisingly it was some of the best wine I've tasted! Even though I typically don't like very sweet ones...this was berry good. 😆

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing you experience at a Strawberry Thai Festival. I must admit I am really glad you came across more strawberries than the original first one! However, the thought of a Strawberry Festival with no strawberries was incredibly comical;0) The guy selling the strawberry wine seems to be smiling like he knew you had finally made it to the actual festival!

Haha I'm glad you thought so! I thought so, too. Two whole hours I thought "what a weird festival..."

Thanks for reading and for your awesome comment! You made me so happy with your thoughtful comment. Also, thanks for your upvote. I really appreciate it!

Glad I could return the favor! Though I have not been following for long, I must admit your posts have a certain je ne sais quoi that inspires contemplation while simultaneously causing me to smile...it's a beautiful thing really;0)

AYYYY did somebody say stawberry whiskey?! 😍😍 hahahah

a truly berryful post @nomadicsoul !

Thanks so much @omravi I'm glad you liked it and came by to read it!

Looks like a blast. Those dress up pics are hilarious. Thanks.

haha thank you for reading and commenting!!! I appreciate it

So cool! I love it. I am going to thailand at the end of March and this made me SUPER excited. Its odd happenings like this that I hope I find myself at. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with your future travels. Looking forward to seeing your future posts!

@arqetype Where in Thailand will you be?!? You definitely reason to be excited...I don't want to leave here!!! I'm going to Malaysia because of burning season in Northen Thailand...I wish we could meet.

Can I convince you to go to Vietnam? Haha after Malaysia I'll be there for a few months I think. Thanks for reading my post and stopping by!!

I appreciate it so much!

This such a cool festival .... honor the Strawberry!!!! I'm going to buy me some now - have an urge for them!!!

haha did you get some? You know what I keep having an urge for here? Mango sticky rice. Oh my goodness.


@nomadicsoul from this picture, you reminded me the alexandro querevalú a brilliant performer, in the field of music. here is his picture.

Oh wow! How cool! What does he perform?

he is playing various kind of songs. I like all his songs and performance but I can share the link to my favourite on here. you can watch.

I completely agree with you about the first paragraph.... with locals the experience is much more meaningful. I have a long list of examples to support your idea but I will finish to write probably the day after tomorrow :):) :) Regarding the festival the strawberries are one of my favorite fruit I want to taste this wine strawberries-flavoured :) :)

Oo awesome! I look forward to reading your examples!!

Well it is not easy to summarize my learning experience living in Poland, in India and Australia which would not have been the same without the suggestions of my local friends (and also people just met). Or Travelling in Europe and meet again someone who I met in Poland, India and my hometown. Thanks to them I further improve myself and my knowledge about their own countries and the differences with mine .

I'm pretty curious how the berry wine taste :) I don't usually drink wine, this might change my mind!

I love how the festival went and enjoyed reading all throughout. Thankies xxx

I think this would change your mind! It's nothing like regular kind. I wish I could bring some to you! I didn't even buy any for myself though haha

hahahah ^^ That's okay maybe we can share a bit of those in the future. ♥

oooh strawberry whiskey s what i need now. :)

Let's make it a party! :) Stawberry themed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43