How I Got Lost in The Jungle And Survived

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

What should have been one the scariest times of my life...

...turned out to be one of the most fun times of my life.

Why, you ask?

I guess because I’m weird.

I’ve noticed that when super bad things happen, normal people freak out. For some reason though, I’m always chill af.

Like the time a guy tried to attack a friend and me in Mexico.

Or when I got stranded hardcore at a border town with 6 friends and 0 money.

Both times, people were crying and going into hysterics, and I kind of just didn’t care at all. I always had to be the one to deal with stuff (mainly because I was the only one calm enough to actually do something about it).

Let me tell you about one of those times...

I was in Bocas del Toro, Panama, with several friends. We decided to go look for a beach called “Red Frog Beach” on La Isla de Bastimentos.

We wanted to find poisonous frogs because that’s what the cool kids do, I guess.

(Image taken from hellotravelpanama.rezdy.com)

We were staying in Bocas Town area and had to get over there on a boat.

Once we got to the island, we saw some of the cutest kids in the world.

This boy wanted to show us his chickens:

Slowly one by one, our group of 6 people dwindled off...

...until it was just me and my friend, Chris.

It was my fault, really.

Because I saw the sketchiest haircut place in the world, and just HAD to try it out. $3 for a sketchy haircut with chickens running on the ground around me?

And locals watching me like I’m the main act in a circus freak show? Yes, please!

I even got to shave the barber’s head afterward! Jk haha.

My friend Chris was the only one nice enough to stay behind with me on my impulsive haircut venture.

Unfortunately for him, nice guys really do finish last…

...because he’s the one who got lost in the jungle with me.

Everyone else managed to find the beach that day.

Chris and I were cursed from the beginning.

First, we were climbing over some rocks, and I dropped my camera and it broke! No more pictures for me (or for you to see).

This is the last, blurry picture I took before the unfortunate death of my camera:

We had to bury it in this graveyard:

Just kidding about that last part, but isn’t that a cool looking cemetery? I’d never seen one like it before.

Luckily, this was a LONG time ago, in 2010. So, since I didn’t have a smartphone yet, I got to save the pictures that I’d already taken because they were on a memory card.

Old school for the win! Memory cards are the new superheroes.

After the camera death incident, things just went downhill.

We should never have trusted the random village person who pointed us on the path that didn't really look like a path. When it doesn't look like a legit path, it usually isn't.

We took the sketchy path and mean jungle monkeys threw things at us...

At least they were nice enough to not throw their poop! I’ve heard that they do that.

After the attack of the monkeys, we literally walked for hours.

Then came the mud pit, which we tried to cross because there was no other way around to continue on the path. I thought I could make it...

But the mud pit was way deeper than I expected.

I literally started sinking and thought...

“Oh my gosh, is this the mud version of quicksand?”

I was definitely sinking slowly, further and further, until the mud was up past my bellybutton.

Chris luckily is super tall and has long legs (and did some kind of weird ninja move where he was half hanging off of a log trying to get me).

The mud was up to my shoulders, now.

My flip-flops were completely lost in the mud at this point. I know flip-flops are horrible jungle trekking shoes, but I was planning on going to a poisonous frog beach, remember?

I lost so many pairs of shoes to Central American forces of nature that year.

Anyway, Chris managed to help me get out of the mud. We had no other option but to turn around and try to find a different way out.

We’re walking along, and it started slowly getting dark, which made me a little nervous. I really started wishing I had watched the tv show Survivor more, anyway. (Fun fact: Either Survivor or Naked and Afraid did an episode on this exact same island)

The intense heat radiated through the trees onto my back, making me sweat and lose the little amount of water I had in me. We were incredibly thirsty.

As I was trying to make plans on how to survive the night…

I saw my biggest enemies walking across the path before me: Fire ants.

...but not just any fire ant.

I'm talking about the monstrous, Central American version of them. Also known as bullet ant. Because their sting is like a bullet (and worse than a regular fire ant).

(image from treatcure.com)

I was officially afraid for the first time because I had no shoes and I’m super allergic to fire ants. Chris, being the nice guy that he is, saved me AGAIN!

He literally just let me piggyback ride for a while until it seemed there were no more ants around. Phew, that was a close one.

Thank goodness Chris is so freaking nice.

Dark was closing in on us, and as we started to think we would never make it...

...we saw the first person we had seen in hours.

Thankfully this guy spoke Spanish as well as Creole (some people on the island speak Creole called Guari-guari).

He saved our lives and helped us get out of the jungle!

It was dark by the time we made our way back to the shoreline to try to take a boat home.

Our friends were nowhere to be found.

No one was really taking back boats anymore…

…but luckily we convinced a local fisherman to take us on his boat if we paid him some extra moolah. And that, my friends, is how we made it out of the jungle.

We got back to our hostel and our friends were there.

Their reactions to me, especially, were hilarious.

I got back completely covered in mud, with no shoes, a broken camera, and my hair was WAY shorter than I wanted it to be (the guy chopped off about 6 inches when I only wanted maybe a half inch).

I'm sure I looked like Swamp Thing, from that old comic book back in the day.


(image taken from the interwebz, sideshowtoy.com)

Despite not making it to the beach, I can honestly say that was one of the most fun days I’ve ever had. I always know that if I lose my shoes to a force of nature...

It’s going to be a good time.

Sort:  

You just went from one disaster to another haha. Glad you made it back. I've also heard about the monkeys throwing their own poop, I think it's the Howler monkey who has such bad manners, But I'm not entirely sure. Can u imagine if that also would have happened? How crazy would that be..

Haha is it weird that I kind of wish it happened? Just for the story? Thanks for the info, no pretty howler monkeys for me. Non-howler monkeys only

It sound funny and adventurous enough. Did not find any poisonous animals around ...? It is difficult without flip-flop isn't it? I did not know about red frog I found it amazing Thanks for sharing this post

The only poisonous thing was that bullet ant! Sort of difficult, but I like being barefoot, except when murderous monsters are out to get me. Haha thanks for your comment

For murderous monster do you mean those red frog ? Anyway living in Australia taught me that animal are not that evil as we expect I was kidding about finding poisonous animals :) :) Thanks for your response and congratulations for your own boldness

I mean the bullet ants who tried to sting my naked feet. Maybe the red frog would have also tried to kill me if I had ever found the beach haha.

That's good to know about Australia! And thank you

Great story, thanks for sharing your adventures and life lessons with us! One of my favorite lessons of this post was "when it doesn't look like a legit path, it usually isn't" ;0)

Hahaha lol obvious life lessons. Thank you for reading!! It makes me so happy that you enjoyed it

Definitely enjoyed your post, specially your positive outlook despite the challenges you faced. I felt like I went on an adventure myself just by reading it;0)

Wow thanks for the nice compliment! The challenges just seemed fun I guess!

Haha, your post made me laugh. I like your style and the eye-catching beginning! I’ve been to Panama but haven’t made it to Bocas del Toro, hope one day I can see some red frogs 🐸 (sorry only green frog emoji available on my keyboard ;))

haha green frog emojis are acceptable since no red frogs are available (not even in real life because I never found them haha). I'm so glad it made you laugh!!

That's the best ever! I don't want to write a totally boring post...so you just made me so happy! Thank you

you're such an witty story teller! I first cracked up when you tried that sketchy haircut service and then I am left dumbfounded when you tell the jungle experience.

haha YAY I'm so glad you laughed!

That makes me happy to know that no readers died of boredom while trying to read my post. It would suck to be responsible for Steemian death haha.

I still feel pretty chill about the whole jungle thing. Like, no big deal...although I guess it could've ended badly! lol

I had a good laugh at this. Good thing that Chris was there or you would've been lost all by yourself.
I tried getting lost and when that takes too long I begin to get irritable, then calm myself again then try to find my way and then become irritable.. lol my emotions are usually up and down when traveling but nonetheless, I'll realize I just had the most memorable and amazing time.
I had fun reading your experience it was totally hilarious. :)

True, in the end, it's always just fun! Haha maybe I would have been freaked out more if Chris wasn't there.

I'm so glad my pain made you laugh, haha just kidding! I'm glad you laughed and that I didn't bore you too much :)

Sometimes I worry people will get bored if I write for too long. But I usually try to at least attempt something sort of humoruous so that people don't want to kill themselves while reading lol

don't worry I didn't plan on killing myself on your posts.

Chris that guy is the best. We get to laugh because you're safe and sound. and am truly happy that you are. xx

Everybody shouts have a Chris when you are lost in Jungle ;) seems to be a nice guy 😎

Maybe it is the best way to take it easy and not to freak out. That wouldn’t help at all. But seriously: at least in the mud it was turning to a nightmare... thank Chris again that you are still with us! 🤗

Haha I'm going to have to tell Chris his services are needed for all travelers everywhere. I'll let you have him next time you go on a risky adventure!

ok. I'll shout when I'M in trouble... CHriiiiiiissss

Wow! What a story. Glad you survived to blog about it.

Hehe thank you, me too! I guess I was never worried that I wouldn't!

Those are some scarry stories. Luckily this didn't happen to me yet and hope never will, lol. I have no idea how I will react, I am also a very calm person but don't know how long can go like this. But yes, it's very important to remain sane and don't lose your minds getting scared as it will be very hard to keep going..

Such a great post

Thank you! I appreciate you reading it and commenting! Glad you enjoyed it and that I didn't bore you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58