Visiting Riquewihr, Alsace France

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Riquewihr

Let me take you back in beautiful Alsace region in France.

After visiting The Château du Haut-Kœnigsbourg we were led to another medieval gem - Riquewihr. It seemed the time has stopped in this romantic town and the old houses were preserved as they were in 16th century..

image

What makes it even more attractive are all those cosy bistros, cafes and restaurants, everywhere you look. The place is most loved by tourists and you can see the streets full of people. What attracts the people is not only the historical architecture but also the local wines. Vineyards surround the town up to its gates and one can enjoy wine tasting on every corner. The most famous wine from that regioun is Riesling.

image

All houses have coloured facades and some wooden beams.

image

image

I cannot miss to share again the photo with the Dolder Tower from one of my previous posts.

image

The colours of the houses were all enhanced by the flowers. In the fountains fish were swimming and you can see clearly the reflection of the houses on the water.

image

image

We stopped for lunch in one of the numerous restaurants called Le Tire Bouchon, which means corkscrew in English.

image

I got no picture of the big corkscrew that was placed on the wall, nor the one that was placed above the entrance. So I choose to show you the photo from the website.

image

Source

Since we prefer to be outside we passed by the foxy under the arch and sat alongside the blue wall. How to describe the atmosphere? It was like being in an old winstub (which means cafe or restaurant that specializes in wine) combined with the modern service.

See how happy my friend Julia is. 😀 She was amazed by the size of the dish she ordered.

image

We saw this old cart on the street and souvenirs next to it. I wonder why I didn't go closer to make a better photo.

image

If I only knew then that I would be making a blog about my travels, I definitely would be making much more photos and getting more details.

Our day trip was over and we were heading back to Switzerland, where we were staying with our friends.

I hope I managed to make you feel the beautiful atmosphere through my post and if you have a chance to visit that part of France, don't miss to stop at Riquewihr, you will be enchanted like me.

Next, I will show you the beauty of Moléson, we are going in the mountains!

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

Sort:  

Howdy nelinoeva! what a marvelous little town to visit! Someday when I get to France! lol. This is a delightful post, well done nelinoeva!

It is a marvelous place and I recommend it.

Howdy again nelinoeva! Thank you and God bless you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you guys! Your support is much appreciated!

Awesome writeup, the pictures of the fish and reflections are amazing. Cool stuff. Cheers

Oh I have been there and have photos of many of those same places! Isn't it beautiful there?

Awww, so glad that you have been there too! It is a place I wish to return. I love it.

A great post Neli, I love seeing those old buildings and the colors together with al fresco dining makes me want to go there.

Thank you Trudee for your support!
Aww, the place is worth seeing. It is absolutely fab.

Always a pleasure dear Neli. 🌼 🌻 🌼

What a beautiful place to be touring love the old building and the whole set up looking at that food has made me so hungry now did you have to put that yummy food in the post...lol :)

Aww, I am so glad you like it. And the food, oh the food was yummy. French know how to cook. 😀

Yeah i bet it was yummy ...do rub it in...lol :)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you so very much! Greatly appreciated!

hey... that picture really makes me feel happy... good to see... which Cam did you use?

Hi, glad to make you feel happy 😀
The camera was an old Samsung S860. Ten years ago it was a good camera. I even thought to brush the dust from it and start using it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55