Visiting Hallstatt - beautiful tiny town on UNESCO herritage list with the oldest saltmine in the world!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

DSC07434.JPG


Believe me, if young poeple hear word UNESCO, they are not as interested as you'd expect them to be. We don't say no to seeing those places, because our rational decision-making tells us to go there. But on the subconscious level, at least I feel that it's gonna be just a boring historical stuff. But this time I was wrong. Several days ago, I've visited a tiny austrian town Hallstatt listed on UNESCO herritage list and it was worth it!

Hallstatt

It is a tiny tiny town in Upper Austria. It lies in the middle of Alps and is probably the most picturesque town I've ever seen. Not only is it on UNESCO list but there's also the oldest salt mine in the world. Cherry on top is the beautiful fresh alpine lake reachable literally from the town square.

DSC07418.JPG

It has just 859 inhabitants but I guess the number of daily tourists is at least 3 times higher. This is how it looked like after we hopped off the bus. That's one of the cool things about the town. To preserve it's originality, they didn't build any extra parking lots, so to get there, one has to take a bus! I loved it!

The view

There was a cable directly from the bus stop to the top of the mountain above the city. From what I've heard, it was build to keep tourists going straight into the town but kind of disperse them in two directions - some go up for the view and some go to the town centre. This is supposed to prevent the town from being too crowded.

DSC07427.JPG
UNESCO Welterbeblick :)

If you're wondering, nope it's not a canalization flowing into the lake :D It was just a muddy spring.

After taking mandatory pictures from above the town, we've decided to visit the saltmine which was just 15 minutes of walk. As I've looked back, this view immediatelly reminded me of one one movie...Here is the picture and you can guess which movie I'm talking about:

It's Rivendell from Lord Of The Rings !! The elves town! I'm not sure whether my fantasy isn't getting the best of me here but that's really what I see :)

Oldest salt-mine in the world

As I've already mentioned, this old salt mine is another reason why Hallstatt is worth a visit. Its official start dates to 1719, but they've found out that mining there has actually started already in prehistoric times.

What I really enjoyed was that the whole mine tour wasn't as boring as they usually are. It was pretty interactive and lot of fun. Rather than long talks from the guide, we've been presented with movies, talking statues and more. The movie on how the salt was created was screened on the "globe" shaped screen :)

DSC07463.JPG

Funfact about the salt color - the orange color is caused by higher iron ratio.

DSC07462.JPG

So you say movies, talking statues and more. What more? Well, there was a 70-meter long slide! And they even measured the speed :D I've reached 31.7 km/h. The fastest one was our guide with 38.5 tho :/

DSC07460.JPG

And then, the way out of the mine was on some old mining train. I loved the fact that it really was dangerous AF. We had to be crouched as the tunnel wasn't high enough to sit straight. Had I raise my head up, I'd probably be dead now haha :D

The town itself

I mean, there's not really much to say about it. It's often referred to as one of the most fairytale-like villages in the world and I understand why. Houses typical for the region packed one to another mirroring their faces in the cold alpine lake suface. It really felt like a fairytale. I'm no professional photographer but I've done my best. But if you can, for sure just go there to see it with your eyes.

DSC07498.JPG

DSC07509.JPG

DSC07492.JPG

Town copy in China:

The town is obviously full of Chinese tourists. They are just everywhere haha. But this particular destination got into attention of some chinese officials and they....wait for it...They've built the exact same town replica in China :D Without any allowance or deal with Hallstatt people. They've got to know first when the town mayor got an invitation to China for the town opening :DD The story is killing me :)

DSC07488.JPG

DSC07485.JPG

DSC07489.JPG

And obviously - where are tourists, there are also bullshit souvenir shops :D At least this time they acknowledged that they are selling stupid stuff :D

DSC07510.JPG

I hope you've enjoyed reading the post or at least checking the pics at least as much as I've enjoyed the day spent there. I'm not a native Austrian but I have to say it really is a beautiful country. There are also another options for Europians and their summer vacation than just lying on the beach in Spain, Italy or Croatia :)

You can find my latest posts here:

  1. 7-Day Music Challenge: Your Top Albums - #4 Born In Babylon
  2. I have the most beautiful grannie EVER so where's the #familyphotography contest ????
  3. How I trained my "finger skills" as 16 year old ;)
  4. I should have done my research beforehand :) ** water drops photoshoot struggle **
  5. [DLive Vlog #4] We have a slackline in the middle of living room!! ** no clickbait **


Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Sort:  

Hi matkodurko,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, what a great present for my today's Bday :)

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Nice work nephew!

Another fantastic adventure shared on the blockchain. I am glad you kept your head down for sure.

How did you score that @hendrikdegrote vote?

Hah dunno how I scored it but Im happy I did :D From what I know he's basically a big curie brother. When ur post gets upvoted by curie, the majority of a reward value actually comes from him. Dunno anything more :D

Ah that's amazing.. totally beautiful. No wonder they built a replica in China!!!! But how on earth did they get plans etc? I'm off to Google. Too good. Great photos too.

Haha that was exactly my reaction when I was reading it in tourist brochure...like WTF?? Well, google is full of information about it, even video comparisons :D It's just crazy-ass story haha :D

Paráda. Myslím, že tohle travelfeed zaujme. Fotky taky super, jen ty největší příště trochu ořež, ta první se mi načítala skoro týden :D ;)

wow!
What a beautiful view out there, I'm sure that trip was worth it.

hah yepp it was :)

Congratulations @matkodurko! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great post with amazing pictures!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=matkodurko
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-hallstatt-suuuper-beautiful-tiny-town-on-unesco-herritage-list-with-the-oldest-saltmine-in-the-world


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yeah! I know what you mean by copycat towns!!

Hah how you know? Are there some in taiwan or?

Fortunately no, but i know there are quite a few in China

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92