BDZ Blues Part II

in #travelfeed6 years ago

 

Hello, friends,

A month and a half ago I posted a tale about my travel with the Bulgarian State Railwais (Български Държавни Железници) or БДЖ / BDZ.

 

Making another entry to that series with Part II, a visual story of my way along the railway rout through the middle of the country, following the Balkan Mountains on the southern side, going West to East.

I am aware that the photos in the series are of somehow lower quality than normal landscapes or travel photos, because I took them from the train itself, moving at high speed most of the time and without the opportunity  to properly frame. 

 

And... dirty windows are dirty. Photos from the previous part had less problem with that since I used long zoom lens but this time I shot wide and more of the natural Dirty Train Window Filter is visible. Anyway... This is about the atmosphere of the trip, the locations we go through, the sights, the weather if you like... 

And, at the end, I will be showing clear photos from my long exposure series at the final station at Burgas at the Black Sea.

The blue sky to start the blues at the beginning of the trip, shortly after leaving Sofia.

Since I joined the blogging community on Steem I began to value things even not technically good. I learned to appreciate the reality around us, separated from my own ego of a photographer. It is how things look, alright...

By the way, I was maybe going to leave you with the impression everything in Bulgaria is Communism Era industrial complexes falling apart or working at some capacity with just new fences built around them... Then we may together realize it is normal for industrial stuff to be near railways since those are the most efficient ways to shift huge loads of materials or production across the land. Plus, those are what I put some emphasis on, right?

 

 

 

 

Then, there are also lots of small stations around villages which have been kind of depopulated lately. Urbanization, you know of it. Some places it hits harder than others.

And so the structures of the RW stations are not among the priorities of the handful of souls still living there. 

 

 

Small towns... well, they fare relatively better. Still people using railways on a regular basis. 

 

 

And finally, there we are at the town of Burgas, for the scale of Bulgaria it may well be considered a city, since it's more than a regional center. It grows. Which can be said about too few other places in the country. Someday, maybe, I will turn your attention t the town itself. During that visit of mine, I had less than an hour and a half and I took the time to explore the station and whatever situation I could shoot while waiting the departure of my ride.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, how did you find the Railway blues? 'Cause I suppose more is coming someday sooner or later.

 

Yours,

 

Manol

 

 

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 42.606426 lat 25.026855 long Bulgarian State Railways - Balkan Mountains d3scr)


View this post on the TravelFeed dApp for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=manoldonchev
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bdz-blues-part-ii


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #436.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Everything looks almost the same as in Croatia

You mean the guy with the blue jeans wears grey jeans in Croatia, the rest is the same?

This whole post communist look

The landscape is fantastic! The trains I found to be very Soviet-like, which is nothing wrong, I like the reminders of that era! 🚉

Thanks. Yup, mostly Soviet-like, some new ones more German-like. There are also those Siemens diesel trains on some routes.

I really miss train travel a lot in our country @manoldonchev something we did a lot of when young, today it is no longer safe.

People moving into cities is happening everywhere, more often than not it is better to stay where you are out in the country.

The East has some hidden gems due to the past, not the influx of people encountered in many places around the world.

Thanks for that train ride, good memories!

Thanks for your comment. What makes it not safe, riding trains around your country?

Great pictures! I love traveling by train - one of the things I miss the most from my years in Britain. Thanks for sharing!

So many train there sir @manoldonchev, in my place train just a discourse will be built, but until now, never happened since 10 years ago. Even though I once felt good riding the train. Nice shot and soo detail you are desribe it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Waiting for the train...

Thank you for the comment :)

This year I plan to visit Bulgaria and your post made me even more looking forward to it. Great rejourney diary in which you can feel a adventure :) I like this unique atmosphere of post-Soviet countries :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I made a good number of posts about Bulgaria, already. Welcome, any time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54