Mission accomplished and more memories at Batad, Banaue, Ifugao

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Our mission to distribute school supplies and relief goods to the students and the community was done. Our wandering soles also had their good share of exercises in the morning. Now, it's the moment of truth. Time to go.

Everyone was quick in getting ready for after our hike to Tappiya Falls. As we started to line up along the dikes of the rice terraces for our climb back to the school and farther up to the Saddle, we took as much opportunity as we can to take more memories with us.

Below one of the dikes which we passed by were these bundles of rice panicles being dried under the sun. This is how we used to do it during my childhood days in Zambales. My parents said drying the panicles in the sun will make them more brittle and husking will be easier when we pound them in big mortar and pestle.

Yes, we husk rice manually back then like how it is done on this video. The difference with what we had was that we had a big, and I mean big, mortar. I remember its height was right below my mother's waist while it was to my chest that I had to step on a pedestal so I can match my mother as we pound alternatively. Pay more attention starting from 4:03 of the video to see what I mean. I was competitive with the altenative pounding that my mother would even ask me to slow down. She can't keep up that our pestles would hit the mortar simultaneously. That will blow the rice grains out and will be so hard to scoop back. That was the kid as I was...

Farther down there are more terraces that are mostly not captured on the post card photos. I wonder if any tourist have considered going down there to find out until when the terraces stop. At the foot of the mountains, I guess.

Just few meters up when we started ascending, this lovely hen was leading her chicks right beside our path. It does not show any hesitation being near humans walking very nearby. People here are one with nature. I guess that's pretty obvious.

The ascend was more challenging this time. Iy was not as hard as the others were feeling it, it was not as easy as I thought I would take it either. My companions would ask for a break because they can no longer move. I knew that I can move on for few meters more ahead of them but I take their breaks as opportunity to do the same. Those breaks were also opportunities to take more shots of the lovely nature that I can not get enough of.

Aside from the lovely panoramic view, beautiful creatures were also surrounding us as we pass by. This little dragon did not escape my eyes and my phone's lens. It was behaving well that I was even able to take few shots before it flew away.

At about half way through to the school, this panicle came into view when I got on to a level. It reminded me of Anne's question yesterday as to how do I know that the rice grains are good and not infested. I stepped out of the way to the dike to clear the path and waited for Anne to catch up. Then I asked her to join me on the dike and showed her the rice plants in that particular level.

I told Anne to recall the panicle that I showed her yesterday. The grains were thin and many were black which means pests have sucked the content. The panicles were also standing upright which means it is very light. Those are the opposites of how these panicles are. The grains are full and all golden. The panicles are also bowing down which means it is heavy because the grains are full. That is how one should know good and bad rice plants. That will also tell if there will be good harvest when the right season comes.

And while we were on that level, another shot of the terraces on the other side of the mountain is only proper.

Were already nearing the school but all of us seem exhausted so we stopped. The pathway is narrow and we were blocking it so we got into a household's open front yard and found seats on our own with the rocks around. I called out to no one in particular but to the house to announce ourselves. A young boy of around peeked through the window and I waved. My companions smiled at him.

While we were resting, Jen noticed this fire place to her left. It was to my right. It reminded me of my childhood days again. I got my senses into this kind of cooking system by fire. We, actually my elder brothers, gather firewoods as our fuel. It was hard to control the heat when I first learned to cook rice but it got easier in time.

We took time enjoying our break in stranger's front yard. Based on time stamps of my photos, there sixteen minutes of interval from the last photo to this next one which was taken from a store's view deck right above the school. I tried to capture different angles of the mountains this time.

For this shot, I intentionally aimed at the horizon between thr mountains and the blue sky. I just realized capturing different shades of color, and not just green shades, would make a good diversion.

It was in this particular store where we had our longest break because we had to wait for majority of our fellow volunteers who were still climbing and catching up with us. We took the opportunity of waiting to have our morning snacks. In spite of the heat from our ascend, I had a very good cup of freshly brewed native coffee from that place. Yes, coffee at almost noon time. That was because I've been hearing from those who've been here before that their coffee is great. I can not stop my curiosity when I myself was already there and smelling the aroma.

Our break took all the more longer when those who climbed late also had their snacks and we waited for them to finish.
Then finally, we started the hike again.

Just like yesterday when we passed by the UNESCO marker, we stopped by for more photo shoots. If they have rice on the terraces of where we just came from, they have vegetables in here. This one is on the mountain on the other side, at around 3 o'clock when facing the UNESCO marker.

When we continued our hike, these bundles of fruits came to view again. I noticed these yesterday when we were going down but only the local kids were nearby. We have our own packs of relief goods on us so we kept going and did not chat much along the way. I did not have the chance to talk about it with my fellow volunteers. Now, Anne is with me so I pointed the pack to her. I said I wish I can take them home and she frowned.

"Aren't those poisonous?" Anne asked.

Now I was the one who frowned at the question. "Why poisonous? No. Those are edible."

"What are those in the first place?" She asked again. Oh yes, I did not tell her.

"Those are rattan fruits. Sourly sweet but sour most of the time."

My elder brothers used to bring home of these when they go hunting in Zambales. I miss those old days. And I really wished I can do something with these bundles but I know there is nothing that can be done.

The rattan sticks crawled and tangled above a ravine and bore fruit in there. I am sure the locals would have gotten the fruits only if it is not too dangerous.

This fruit is considered wild since it is not planted or cultivated on purpose. It can be seen in Baguio City market but on very rare occassions so I was bitter that these ones will just be wasted. I will swallow this time and think of the good old days. Keep the memories and keep wishing. Who knows. Some day, one day...

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Beautiful scenery of the rice fields, vegetable garden, magnificent mountains, and wonderful white clouds! The little dragonfly is amazing.

The video is interesting. It's similar to the one that we do here in Thailand.

I also like the rattan fruits, too. Ah! It's great that you found plenty of them in the forest. These can remind me of my childhood, too.

Thanks so much for sharing. ;)

You're welcome and thanks too for dropping by my post.

Yes, nature is always amazing and I can't get enough of it. I wish I can always have the time to be close to it. 😊

Ah, you're from Thailand. Did you attend the steemfest? What do you do with chickens over there? 😊

You're welcome!

Yeah! I absolutely agree with you, "nature is always amazing". You were very lucky to be close to it like this.

Ah! It's unfortunate that I cannot attend the steemfest due to the high ticket price. In the meantime, I was lucky that I met my old and new Steemian friends at the Prince Palace hotel. It's a very exciting time for me indeed. ;)

That's cool. Meeting long distance friends happens only once in a while so it was good that you got such opportunity.

Yeah! It's my good memory indeed! ;)

Wow macoolette, what a gorgeous post with so many beautiful and interesting photos! And the video was interesting too, that is alot of work pounding that rice like that!

I've been through that manual pounding of rice so it's no surprise. Yes, it takes a lot of effort. I haven't done it in decades so my hands will surely get callused easily when I do it again. That was how hard to work first before having something. As they say, no pain, no gain. 😊

Exactly. That was good training and helped make you physically strong as well. When you do it again? You are going to do that again? You might need to wear gloves!

We left the farm when I was twelve so I wonder what chance I would do that again. Maybe when I visit the province and have the feel of it again. Gloves do not always work. Most of the time I feel like gloves are just hindrance. I don't feel like moving normally.

I get it macoolette. I would usually prefer to use calloused hands than gloves. Thanks for the explanation. So you have been a city girl since the age of 12?

We left the farm since I was 12 but it was not a total transfer to a city because we went to a suburb. It is still a rural place but at least, it was not literally in the middle of the mountains like where we came from. I became a city girl at 23 when I started to work in Metro Manila. It was a fear to my family because I never separated from home prior to that but hey, I made it! 😄

Yes, you made it and now you are a certified city girl with a country heart! Because you can take the girl out of the country but you can never take the country out of the girl! Am I right? lol.

you can take the girl out of the country but you can never take the country out of the girl.

I love that! I think I will adapt that as one of my self descriptions 😄. On a serious note, I think you were rirght. No matter how long I have stayed in the city, I always look forward to going back, at least visiting, the country life.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=mission-accomplished-and-more-memories-at-batad-banaue-ifugao


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #691.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.


Thank you very much! 🌞💖🌞

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Thanks for posting through TravelFeed.io! You have received a larger upvote from us. We hope to see you soon on TravelFeed.io!
Posting through TravelFeed.io also makes your post eligible to participate in the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi where you can earn up to 100 STEEM! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we presented at SteemFest⁴, published our Android app and launched our Steem witness.

Please consider voting for us as a witness. If you're not sure how to do that, it's easy: Head over to our Support Us page and hit the witness voting button to vote with Steem Keychain, or Steemconnect if you are not a Keychain user. Alternatively, use this Steemconnect link or head over to the Steemit Wallet and enter travelfeed in the box.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you very much @travelfeed and @elsaenroute! 🌞💖🌞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50