You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A walk around the enchanting Davosersee

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Wow delishtreats..another stunning, wonderful, magnificent post! I'm serious.lol. I love that lake and the views, it would be great to visit that place. All it needs is a big castle on the side of the mountain overlooking the lake and me be the owner of the lake! What language would I need to learn, Swiss or German?

Sort:  

Thank you, cowboy! And I'm sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I just didn't feel like chat yesterday..

Hahahah, there might be some castle built already. I'm not sure but there are many of them in that region :)

Well, the language is called Swiss German. It is German but very different. You would have to hear it. I came here after studying German for 13 years and couldn't understand a word. Even now I struggle (after 8 years) and I prefer to speak high German :)

howdy again delishtreats, no worries on getting back to me later, I don't mind. So the type of German spoken in Switzerland is not taught? You just have to go and learn it in everyday life? I'd never get it done but you are gifted in languages so you could do it, what about your husband, did he learn it too?

That surprises me. I thought the Swiss language would just be Swiss, not a combination. Do you have your next post planned?

Every village has its own 'language'. Kids learn it at school as well as High German. The thing with Swiss German is that it is not a written language. There are no rules and everyone can write the words the way they think is correct so it is very difficult to understand.

He also speaks High German. When you ask them if they would be so kind and speak High German to you, they usually would. It might be more difficult with older people since they might not speak High German..

It's not a combination. It's called Swiss German - simply their way of speaking German. They have 3 other languages as well (Italian, French and Rhetoromanian).

Sure! It's going to be from Czech Republic. I'll post it either on Monday or Tuesday. Why do you ask?

Howdy again delishtreats! Oh my gosh this was interesing learning about the language situation. I think all kids should be taught at least two languages growing up and we are so dumb in the United States for not doing that. I've never heard of Rhetoromanian before. Thanks for the brilliant explanation, I know your highness has more important matters to attend to so I feel highly honored! lol.
oh, about the post, I was just curious because I didn't think you had done much traveling lately to get posting material.

Well, I thought you Americans expect everyone to speak English and this is why you don't put so much effort in learning other languages, don't you?

You should indeed feel highly honored :D

I think it's kind of relative.. I didn't do much but still much more than other people usually do :D

Howdy today delishtreats! Well on the subject of English, yes I think whoever in charge for a hundred years has tried to force the world to make English the world's language so whether that is good or bad I don't know. I just know that it's limiting at times to only have one language. Like here in Texas there are so many Spanish speaking people that it would be nice to know their language. And pretty soon a third of the country is going to be Hispanic.

Then you should start learning :) It's never too late!

Howdy delishtreats! you are so right! (big surprise) ..I've heard that if you aren't taught different languages as a child then it's much more difficult to learn a new language when you're an adult but learning Spanish is actually on my list of things to do and for Mrs. J also because there is a large percentage of inmates in the jail who are Mexican and can't speak English so it's difficult for them, I don't even think the county jail has one Spanish speaking person so it would help there too.

How would you recommend going about learning a new language?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41