Wandering on the streets of Venice #4

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I LOVE VENICE ❤️


And I am sure all those who are following me have known by my other blogs, how much I love this place.. even with all the crowd and the expensive hotels this city has not disappointed me. Venice is amazingly unique, every little Calle or square has its own discoveries, architecture or a hidden gem around every corner.


View from my Room

18 (10).jpg


Venice Vaporetto (Water Taxi)



Most of my days were spent just wandering around the streets, eating Pizza, tasting wines, admiring the artworks and wishing if I had a million euros I would buy the glass jewelry- which was quite expensive.


Street Performance


EARLY MORNING BREAKFAST


A quick heavy breakfast of decaf coffee and pancake—if you are a fan of pancake-like me one must check out this place ‘Handay’- it lets you make your own pancake or gelato, you can choose your own toppings. the place has a small sitting area and a very friendly and welcoming staff. Their yogurt and gelatos are fresh and organic, haven't tried so can't comment. But their pancake was good and an overdose of sugar for me. ;)

a8.jpg


a7.jpg


But I would suggest if in Venice must try the local gelato- as they are superbly amazing. I loved Pistachio ...kind of already missing it!!

61 (2).jpg


SHOPPING IN VENICE

Venice is irregularly planned for the most part, with busy shopping ports between the bridges and the medieval architecture. One can find all kinds of cafes, restaurant, and bar with shops selling the unique artworks of the place. The streets are filled with Murano glass products, Carnival maks, postcards, and other fashionable items.

47 (3).jpg


58 (2).jpg


60 (1).jpg


Shopping streets as per my experience :
Le Mercerie and Salizada San Moisè - for luxury shopping - the streets have many brands like Loius Vuitton, Gucci, Prada, Mui Mui etc, and one can find fine italian leather products here.

San Samuele - for craft shops, unique products, and art pieces. This street is a perfect place for art and crafts.

IMG_20170127_180814.jpg


St Mark’s Square is the most famous place for the tourists, it is busier most of the time, except midnight when you could few tourist just sitting under the moonlight. It is the main place for shopping- where you can find all kinds of items- glassware, leather goods, postcards, luxury boutiques, masks and all kinds of souvenirs.

21 (8).jpg


a2.jpg


a9.jpg


WHAT I LOVED THE MOST


It's amazing to just walk there without any cars, or other vehicles honking... coming from the city I never realized how amazing and satisfying it is to walk without the noise of vehicles.
I spent most of my evenings sitting near the bridge or a canal with a glass of wine watching gondolas just pass by, tourists relaxing, marveling and enjoying their ride. It was a different kind of satisfaction watching people so happy. It made me happy. This was my favorite part of visiting Venice. :)

a3.jpg


16 (5).jpg


a19.jpg


Walk around the city into the maze of narrow alleys which will lead you to empty quieter lanes away from the crowd where you can gaze at the architecture, interact with Venetians, find small cafes, and try local wines.


a1 (1).jpg


GETTING LOST


You might end on a different island but it doesn't matter where you are, eventually you will find your way back. if you get lost, don't worry, you will reach someplace beautiful and you can always ask the humble Venetians for directions or just follow the crowd and you will most likely reach St. Marks Square! There are about 340 bridges (Ponti) in Venice which connects their islands and its interesting to just walk from one to another.


42 (2).jpg


17 (6).jpg


17 (7).jpg


43 (1).jpg


It easier to get lost in the alleys of Venice even with all the signs but I somehow managed to get lost on Vaporetto, while coming back from Burano island. Since I had my day pass, I could hop on as many ferries, visit as many islands I can in the day, I wanted to get down at Murano but unable to explain I reached some other island, till now I don't where I was but somehow I loved the whole journey I walked around for a while, and found a nice cafe and ate the most delicious pizza. I wish I knew what place was that!!

a6.jpg


STREET FOOD


Being a vegeterian I didn't had much choice, but I enjoyed eating Pizza, gelato, chips, and frittelle (normally served during Carnival)

a5.jpg


a11.jpg


a12.jpg

I liked the colors and the look of it- but too much sugar for me :P


a13.jpg

Frittelle - I loved these-- tasted like doughnuts with a flavour of lemon <3 they are to die for!


a22.jpg


AROUND BURANO


24 (4).jpg


41.jpg


32 (3).jpg


45 (2).jpg


I met these two cute birds while wandering around....

50 (1).jpg

Black-backed Gull


48 (3).jpg

Birds eye view



MAP VENICE.JPG

Source

Google map view of Venice

Even with a google map, I feel I will be lost in this complex and beautiful city. Can you see the parking lot on the left of the map...I didn't know there was one.


The whole experience was simply magical for me!


To read more about Venice, check out my other blogs:

VENICE. All By Myself. Part #3
Venice #2: - Venetian Masks - A journey of celebrations
Venice #1: Palazzo Fortuny - A journey through time

Ci rivediamo!



I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

All photos and content by @itravelarts

Love. Swati ❤️

iTravelArts

Sort:  

Oh Venice,
I can write a beautiful poem on you but it still won't be as pretty as you.

:P

didn't know you are a poet. Now I really want to read a complete one...but true, no words or pictures can explain how beautiful the place is :)

Haha I am, sort of.
Obviously not like some of our old English folks but I write short poems whenever I see beauty around me or anything that has metaphorical depth in it. I don't really share it here that often but I did share one about my love for rain.

You can check it out here <3

didn't know you are a poet. Now I really want to read a complete one...but true, no words or pictures can explain how beautiful the place is :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itravelarts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wandering-on-the-streets-of-venice-4


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you @c-squared You made my day :)

The pancakes look great. The birds are cute.

hehehe..thank you :)

Wonderful Venice shots!

@zorank Thank you so much

Venice is one the best touring destination of the world. Thanks to you for sharing the entire venice in your travel feed the streets the food and the location....👍

Thank you for stopping by :) . I cant agree more , Venice is indeed one of the best places in the world.. <3

You ate from India...where are you from actually?

Jaipur, Rajasthan. What about you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow..pink citY. 👍..i m from Delhi...

You have got Venice in your soul and thanks for giving the chance to understand the amazing city. Pictures are kind of attractive and last thing which you have already been gone through, "The unforgettable Experience", and last last thing these lines, I'm in love with that "Complete Feeling", "I spent most of my evenings sitting near the bridge or a canal with a glass of wine watching gondolas just pass by"

Its always a pleasure to read your comments..you picked out exactly how i felt <3
thank you <3

It's always a pleasure to read your comments.. you picked out exactly how i felt <3

I love venice. Venice a very pleasant city

I went to Venice many years ago. I took my mother, when she wasn't well. Her great joy was sitting in St. Marks square and drinking espresso. We traveled on a budget, but it didn't matter. The city was its own reward. To the end of her days, my mother remembered Venice. I think it was her favorite place in all the world. Your blog brings it back for me.

I am so glad it took you back to your beautiful days.. I loved spending time at St. Marks , loved seeing people all happy and content... I can feel what your mother did. <3 Much love I am sure wherever she is, she is happy ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42