VENICE . All By Myself . Part #3

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Venice. Here I belong. Standing by the canal. Admiring. I am speechless.

Walking over the bridge. I hear the gondola songs.

I marvel at your colorful houses and ancient bricks.

I see your beautiful carnival face. I see the face behind.

You are so much more!

I am at Piazza under the starry night. Moon covered by the darkest clouds.

Cold breeze brushing my face. Love is around and hopes you give.

Romanticizing my own.

I will carry you wherever I go! All the time....


13 (8).jpg


wsws(1).jpg


A solo trip to Venice, a city of my dreams on my 30th Birthday - yes I went alone to the most romantic city of the world and yes I enjoyed it as much as anyone else could have. Hopped on from one ferry to another, walked around the city eating pizza, and enjoyed the gondola ride with a glass of rose wine. I did it all! And I fell in love with the place.


16 (5).jpg


Every part of Venice has been explored, described, photographed and painted millions of times, and even though having read and seen in pictures, the experience of being there can never be put in words or photographs.


18 (9).jpg


I got lost on the streets and alleys of Venice don't know how many times, but every time made new discoveries without maps and plans.


8 (9).jpg

“This was Venice, the flattering and suspect beauty – this city, half fairy tale and half tourist trap, in whose insalubrious air the arts once rankly and voluptuously blossomed, where composers have been inspired to lulling tones of somniferous eroticism." - Thomas Mann


3 (15).jpg


I planned a free guided tour of the city with La Bussola Free Tours which is one of the best ways to explore Venice and it's gems by foot. At San Giorgio dei Greci church, I was capturing memories and was in awe of the beauty of the place that I forgot I was with a group and lost time. I was left behind. But nothing could bring me down on that splendid day.

19 (8).jpg

21 (9).jpg

22 (7).jpg

59 (1).jpg

San Giorgio dei Greci church


I walked around on my own for some time watching the cheerful and ecstatic faces of people in love with the city like me and later visited the Fortuny museum and it was one of my best decision.
Once owned by the Pesaro family, this Gothic building in Campo San Beneto, near the church of the same name, was transformed by Mariano Fortuny into his own photography, stage-design, textile-design and painting atelier. Source


55.jpg


Check out my blog on Fortuny Museum


There were so many things to do and I had no time, I wished to visit every island, try every dish (well what was available for vegetarians, or else there is always an option of wine!).


2 (10).jpg

Check out my blog on Venetian Masks - A journey of celebrations


Rest of the day was spent on the streets looking at the handmade carnival masks of all designs you can imagine, unique glassware, fashion stores, pizzerias and wine shops.

67.jpg

Beautiful Murano Glass products


Strolling down the streets I turned up at the grand Basilica, St Mark's Square, the heart of the city with bright lights, architecture, shops and so much more. I don't remember how much time I just stood in front of the Basilica, maybe 3- 4 hours. I only returned back to my room after midnight, with that one last stop at the ice cream shop - pistachio. LOVE ❤️

61 (2).jpg


63 (4).jpg

St Mark's Square


52.jpg


55 (1).jpg


53 (2).jpg


56 (2).jpg


20 (10).jpg


Venice at night is nothing but straight out of a fairy tale movie, the soft sounds of canals, intoxicating smell of wine, and romance in the air. You can see a few tourists like me walking down the street at midnight, enjoying and soaking everything they could.

19 (7).jpg


For the next day, I took a whole day pass for water taxi 'Vaporetto', starting my ride to Burano, which took around 45 - 50 minutes to reach with beautiful views on the way.

11.jpg


25 (6).jpg


12 (11).jpg


15 (8).jpg


2 (13).jpg


37 (2).jpg

The colorful canals of Burano

The picture illustrates how colorful, beautiful and exciting this place is.


47 (2).jpg

Tre Ponti is the wooden bridge which connects the streets of Burano and is the best place to take photographs.


66 (2).jpg

One can also see ladies sittings outside their homes under the sun creating Burano needle lace which is as pretty as the place itself and quite famous too, or can also check the Burano lace museum where one can find artisans making delicate laces.


I couldn't resist myself from buying few artworks, bought one beautiful mask from here, from a small shop on sale... yayiiee.. check out the signs "Saldi” and one can find pretty Murano glass jewelry and other unique products at a reasonable price compared to the one in the city.


60 (1).jpg

Murano is known for its glass making. One can visit the factory and see the beautiful pieces getting made. It was a perfect day trip.

The quote says a lot about how I feel about the city...

“ If I could live in one city and do every single thing I do there, I would choose Venice. You can't turn your head without seeing something amazing.”― Nile Rodger


38.jpg


9 (8).jpg


Ci vediamo!!



I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

All photos and content by @itravelarts

Love. Swati ❤️

iTravelArts

Sort:  

Gorgeous pictures!!!!
Fell in love just by the pictures <3

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itravelarts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=venice-all-by-myself-part-3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

YES

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87