Wednesday walk - cloudy day in Zurich

in #travelfeed5 years ago

I know many of you think that Switzerland looks like a winter-wonderland now. This might be true in the Alpine region but there are places that usually don't have a lot of snow. Zurich is one of such places. There is not much snow even in January/February in this part of the country.

Recently I've been seeing so many beautiful photos of snow on Steemit and when I look out of the window I only see heavy clouds and lots of rain. Last weekend we were lucky to have a couple of hours without rain and as usually we wanted to make the best out of it and spend some time outside.

We went for a walk in Zurich and today I'd like to show you photos that I took before it started to rain again. I would also like to participate in the #WednesdayWalk held by @tattoodjay. I know it sounds a little bit like cheating as I did the walk during the weekend but I hope you will forgive me 😊

DSC_0053.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 35 mm

swoosh stretched.png

When we go to Zurich we usually park the car close to the train station and walk through the city center to the lake. The are many narrow streets and different roads that you can take to get to the lake. It usually takes us about 20 minutes to get there.

Zurich lake is one of the most popular locations in Zurich. You can go for a walk, have a picnic with your friends, do some exercises, go for a swim (not in December of course) or feed seagulls..😊

These fellows were standing on the railing like soldiers waiting for their orders. They were obviously waiting for food but unfortunately for them the real feast was somewhere else..

DSC_0058.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 26 mm

This is the place where they should be waiting instead 😊 There were some people throwing old bread in water and dozens of swans, ducks and seagulls gathered to enjoy the feast. I could only capture a few of them but there were many more.

I was also feeling uncomfortable standing there as there were many seagulls flying above our heads and you know.. some nasty accident could happen - if you know what I'm talking about 😊

I took a photo and ran away as fast as I could..

DSC_0068.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

You can imagine beautiful mountains on the other side of the lake. This is the place with the best views on sunny days. Today, you will just have to trust me when I say that there are the Alps in the back 😊

DSC_0061.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

This iron statue called Rhinoceros was created in 1982 by John A. Tobler. We were standing next to the statue, trying to decide what we would do next when an older lady approached us. She thought we were tourists and told us that this is the most photographed statue in city (which is questionable in my opinion).

We just nodded and thanked her for the information when she started to talk about British pounds and that we should go to the National Bank in London to exchange any old notes that we have. We nodded and thanked her again, trying to get rid of her as it became clear there was something wrong with her.

But she followed us and kept saying the same. We didn't want to sound impolite but eventually it became very annoying and then my husband said that we forgot something in the car and had to go back. For a second I thought she would go with us, but she left and we saw her approaching someone else 😊 I wonder how those people got rid of her...

DSC_0037.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

On the way to a cafe we saw this beautiful small alley. The color of the leaves was very nice. I wanted to change the photo to black and white because of the grey clouds but I like it better like this..

DSC_0050.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

This little flower is very inspirational. Even though the temperature is around 0 Celsius, it stays strong and I wouldn't be surprised if it would survive all winter! Just kidding 😊

But we were not as strong as this flower and as we were getting quite cold we decided to get a cup of tea and head back to the car.

DSC_0028.jpg
ISO 200 1/100 sec. f/5.6 52 mm

On the way back we came across a few simple graffiti paintings..

I've tried to find some information about them but they seem to be just random drawings so the photos will have to be enough 😊

DSC_0024.jpg
ISO 200 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

DSC_0017.jpg
ISO 400 1/100 sec. f/5 25 mm

DSC_0029.jpg
ISO 400 1/100 sec. f/5 22 mm

swoosh stretched.png

I know that you were probably expecting some different photos but I think that a change is good from time to time 😊

I hope that you didn't get too cold and that you enjoyed our walk today.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Beautiful again Martina! You are truly fantastic!

Thank you Dave! That is a great compliment!

So many amazing shots, @delishtreats! Thank you for braving the seagulls (or, as people in my hometown call them, "sky rats" - LOL) to get that awesome shot of the swans.

Speaking of my hometown (Gloucester, MA in case you were wondering) that incident with the lady reminds me of a woman many, many years ago who used to hang around downtown. There was a narrow, one way road between the stores, so people had to drive through slowly, stopping often for pedestrians.

She had a lovely habit of jumping into cars and ranting at people about whatever was on her mind at the moment - at least, until the police arrived and brought her back to the home she'd escaped from for the billionth time. To this day, I keep my car doors locked at all times, even though where we live now, it's more likely a cow would jump in than a person... 😜

Speaking of ranting, I'll stop mine now (lol) and say, thank you so much for bringing us along and dealing with the chilliness so we could enjoy the beauty of Zurich!

Hahaha, 'sky rats' fits them very well :) Last time we went to feed ducks, they couldn't even get to bread.. these seagulls were fighting them and didn't let them get to the food at all. They even jumped on their heads. I was so frustrated.. we walked away for around 500 meters and tried with ducks again but it's like they smell bread and are back in a split of a second..

Oh, I never know how to behave with such people. They need help but they are so annoying :) You learned your lesson and now you're safe :)

Thank you for stopping by! Have a great weekend!

Yikes! Yeah, I've been chased down by seagulls before, and they are determined little buggers!

And agreed! Thanks in return, and hope you're having a great weekend too!

I may say this is the first time I learn something more of Zurich than the name. Although I might have seen a pic of that rhino there.

The first image I would call a great success! Good job!

I'll be doing one post next year when it will be warmer and sunny so that the views will be visible :)

Oh, thank you! I like that one too!

Have a great day Manol :)

a lot of beautiful pictures and interesting story...
I wonder what's wrong with the lady... Hmmm... Maybe she just needs a friend to talk to 😀

I thought so too. Maybe she was just lonely and this is why we let her walk with us for quite a long time. But you know.. enough is enough :)

Thank you for stopping by! :)

Hahaha.... I know how it feels...

I've been there in February. Thans for your photowalk, it brought me some memories! Black and white photography really fits that city, and I love your colorplay

Do you go skiing? Or did you came to Switzerland just to see it? :)

Thank you so much! I'm glad that you like it! :)

"I was also feeling uncomfortable standing there .... some nasty accident could happen - if you know what I'm talking about." LOL yes....I know what you are talking about!! XD

I think you did right with the small alley photo. The golden yellow leaves and little other color give that photograph an interesting appeal!

I think your weather is somewhat similar to ours here in Detroit, Michigan, USA. At least at the moment. Cloudy. Dreary. Some small snow fall here and there...lots of frost in the morning on the windshields. But Jan and February will get white with snowfall and cold!

Peace

Hahaha, I'm glad that the message was clear :D

Happy you like that one.. the color was so nice that I didn't even adjusted it in Lightroom..

You can't really predict the weather here.. one year it's a lot of snow and the next year there is nothing.. it would be very cold but no snow at all.. I hope that this year will be a lot of snow as I like it ;)

Thank you for stopping by!

Very welcome!

I too hope you get lots of snow!!

Peace

Haha I see you've taken this one as "one color at a time" :D Cool stuff posting such nice post one day after getting curated :) Not many people do such stuff :) My today's walk was only to grab a lunch ..other than that, it's all just #wednesdaybike or #wednesdayride for me :D

Hahaha, yes! I wanted to try something different and it worked well in my opinion :) If I would be posting mainly because of money then I would be gone already :D first 4-5 months my posts were mainly below 1 USD.

Then you can join Wednesday walk with talking about how you grabbed your lunch :D

Hah true that :) I wasn't even about 50cents :D Im going to christmas market from here (training) soo will maybe do some pics there :D

Have fun! Would be nice to see the Christmas Market in Innsbruck :)

I enjoyed the variation in your pictures..........long distance views and close ups........black and white and vibrant colour. Thank you.

Thank you! This is what I wanted to achieve :) Different perspectives...

Have a nice day! :)

It may be rainy and gray wher eyou are, but you sure managed to capture some beauty while you were out on your walk! Wow!
It is also rainy and gray here. I keep seeing people posting their winter wonderland photos and wishing it was like that here, but oh well. Lots of rain and clouds... Perhaps I should go out and find my own beauty to capture. ;)

You definitely should :) It's sad that there is no snow 11 days before Christmas but we still have hope :) Go ahead and get some great shots!

Thank you for stopping by!

stunning pics! I loved the grafitti with the foxes and kittehs (obviously lol).

Thanks for sharing your walk, and doesn't matter if you did the walk on the weekend, Jay says in his notes you can walk anytime, just try to post on wednesday 🤓

Thank you! Glad you liked it! Yes, I could guess that you would like that one ;)

Now I know ;) I usually skipped Wednesday walk as I never did a walk on Wednesday but now I might join more often ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98