Day trip to Konstanz, Germany

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

If you are following my journey on Steemit for a while you may know that I live in Schaffhausen (Switzerland). Canton Schaffhausen shares its borders with Germany and it takes us around ten minutes to get there.

We tend to travel around in Switzerland during the weekends and this weekend wasn't an exception. As it was so hot we wanted to spend our day somewhere at the lake. As you may know Switzerland doesn't have any sea but it has plenty of lakes with blue/greenish water offering huge variety of water sports.

Lake Constance

DSC_0078.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

We didn't want to travel far away hence we were looking for a nice location nearby Schaffhausen. We've been living here for almost eight years and we've never been to Bodensee so we thought let's do it!

DSC_0059.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/16 18 mm

Bodensee also known as lake Constance in English is split between Switzerland, Germany and Austria. It is the third biggest lake in Europe. It is the easiest for us to reach it through Konstanz (city in Germany) so technically we have broken our tradition of traveling in Switzerland and we went to Germany instead. Konstanz is a shopping destination for people from Switzerland and usually it's difficult to find a parking place there but we were lucky and it didn't take us long to be able to enjoy the beauty of the lake.


ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

The old bridge in Konstanz was destroyed in 1856 and the new bridge was built a few years later. There were supposed to be four statues on the bridge. After long discussions and several disagreements it was decided that four men embodied in the statues will be Leopold Grand Duke of Baden, bishop Gebhard II, Berthold I Duke of Carinthia and bishop Conrad.

The statues were placed on the new bridge. The two rulers faced each other, as did the ecclesiastical figures. They remained in their place for about eighty years until broadening of the bridge became necessary. It would have been very expensive to create suitable pedestals so the question at that time was where these statues should be located. It was decided to place them for the time being on the Rheinsteig, that is located between the two towers. This temporary solution became permanent over time and the statues are still placed there.

The city of Konstanz

After we enjoyed the views of the lake we were looking for a shelter as it was very hot. There is a Herosé park close to the lake and we went there for a walk in the shadow of the trees. It is a big green area and I could spend there hours just walking around. There were many cyclists, joggers, people having picnics or just walking around like we did.

DSC_0052.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

Afterwards we started to explore the city. As usually we went to a Cathedral too! I have never been to a Cathedral with so many different chapels open to public for free! We spent there almost two hours and we didn't even see everything as one part of the church is under reconstruction. You can get to the tower for EUR 2 but as I am a bit claustrophobic we skipped this part.

The Konstanz Minster (or Konstanz Cathedral) is devoted to Virgin Mary and the first mention about it was in the year 615.

It offers fascinating stained glass windows (this one is for you @leeart), stone sculptures, a crypt behind the main altar and more private rooms of paintings and carvings. There are also some stunning frescoes that you can see.

There are many benches in all chapels so you can sit down, rest and enjoy the beauty around you.

DSC_0094.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

Are you ready to go back to the city? We definitely are! Konstanz looks a bit like a Swiss city with its painted houses. There are a few of them that I have found really stunning. I am not sure if painted houses are typical for Germany too or if it's because of the Swiss influence in this city.

I particularly liked the Town hall decoration showing us paintings of the city's history.

DSC_0132.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/11 18 mm

This is Haus Zum Hohen Hafen located on Konstanzer Obermarkt - the upper market. The house was build in 1420. The paintings date back to around 1900. The author is Max Rahn. The paintings show scenes from the Middle Ages.

DSC_0131.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/11 18 mm

Can you see what I see? 😊 The yellow house on the left side is not built straight!!

DSC_0127.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/11 18 mm

We have also seen a few graffiti paintings and these two were my favorites!

This one says something like: Monotone environments tempt you to make them more complex with subtitles.

DSC_0114.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 22 mm

Both of them are created by German-based artist Tuk, who focuses on stenciling and site-specific paste-ups.

DSC_0115.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 22 mm
!steemitworldmap 47.673758 lat 9.177470 long Day trip to Konstanz d3scr

And now it's time to drink a glass of wine. Cheers to the weekends like this!

I hope you have enjoyed a day with me and my husband in Konstanz. We absolutely loved the lake and the city! There is still a lot to explore in that area and we will be back soon to share more with you!

If you like my article, feel free to upvote/resteem it and if you would like to read more about my travel and cooking, you can also follow me 😊

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

Wow! I don't think I'd miss the sea with such a beautiful lake nearby! You have definitely given me travel envy again. 😉

Thank you for stopping by :) Exactly! There are so many beautiful lakes that we don't miss sea that much :) It's just the salty water that we don't have here so we go to the sea from time to time but for the rest of the year we enjoy what we have here :)

What a lovely weekend! The stained glass is breathtaking, and I just love that they have benches. I think I could just sit in a place like that forever. Just soaking in the timeless feel I love old places so much.
You always manage to find the most amazing street art and top it off with knowledge of the artist. Thanks for sharing your excursions.

Thank you for stopping by! The Cathedral was really impressive! I love old places too :) You are right, I could spend there all day as well.

I actually search for the street art, I walk into small streets and always look behind the corners to see if there is anything :D This time I was lucky again :)

Have a great start of the week!

Same to you. I look forward to a rainy afternoon of clicking through your past posts. Maybe Google a few of those artist and see what comes up.

You are so nice!! I hope you will like them! Please let me have your feedback :) Have a nice relaxing afternoon!

Oh how fabulous , I drove through there and visited the lake very briefly back in the mid nineties. It is stunning scenery and what a wonderful day out for you!! Sunshine too, how perfect. Another great quality post too, fabulous photos and excellently documented information. yes u are a MAGNIFICENT steemian Martina, congratulations, we are so lucky to have you ❤️🌈🦋🌴💛👏

Looks like you traveled a lot in Europe before you came to Costa Rica :)

Thank you so much for your amazing comment my dear! You are the best supporter that I have here! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=delishtreats
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=day-trip-to-konstanz-germany


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@delishtreats
I have never been here, would really want to be . But only thing I lack is company..

wow another beautiful trip! I love the little painting of the girl on the wall... And the statues too... Keep showing us the world, it is awesome!

Thank you Dave! I'm happy you like this one too! :)

What a beautiful little town, you so lucky to be living so near it.

Thank you! I feel very lucky! :) But this is just my temporary home. We've been living here for long but at some point we would like to move somewhere else. We're not sure where yet but still somewhere in Europe.

Thank you for stopping by :)

8 years, surely you must be a local now!!!

Well, I would not say that. I was working all the time for an american company. My friends are all international and my husband is dutch. So there was not much contact with the locals. Now it's a bit different. I don't work for that company since 2 months so I have a bit more time to get in touch with locals so hopefully soon I will feel a bit differently here :)

European cities have so much charm and this one is really lovely. Beautiful photos Sweetie 🌸💖🌸

Thank you so much! I have many more to share :)

No swimming still? lol!

I would have stayed longer in the church and stared at those stained glasses. Fascinating!

It's really super that a lot of things have been preserved for people to appreciate.

I think both the yellow and red houses are not straight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40