Travel: Banff National Park and it's lakes 🇨🇦

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Bannf is a huge National Park in Canada which can not be described in one post.
That's why my second post is all about Banff and our experiences.

Lake Moraine

I love to be recommended by the locals. Most of the times these people know what they talk about and that usually pays out. This time a new friend told about us about Lake Louise and how busy that could be in summer. That's why he told us to go to Lake Moraine, but really early otherwise the road to access Lake Moraine would be closed due to a full parking. We had to be there at 05:30am so we were able to see the sunrise. My alarm was set at 04:58am and we were driving at 05:01. Maybe not the safest way, travelling with your girlfriend still sleeping in the back of the car. She needs a bit more time in the morning than I do. But I can tell you it was so worth it. I'd recommend everybody to visit that place early in the morning. Check out the photo's:

_DSC0248.JPG

_DSC0271.JPG

_DSC0278.JPG

_DSC0285.JPG

_DSC0288.JPG

_DSC0291.JPG

_DSC0302.JPG

Lake Louise

Lake Louise was a bonus for us. There was no way that it was going to beat the impression of Lake Moraine. There is a hiking trail next to the lake which leads to a perfect view point on a glacier. It's kind of weird to see a glacier when it's 26 °C in the middle of the summer, but because of that heat we stopped half way the hike and went back. First I felt like a quitter, but I slept so well that day/night that I know I really needed to rest.

_DSC0338.JPG

IMG_20180713_095910_00001.jpg

_DSC0349.JPG

Tomorrow we'll make our way to Jasper National Park which is just above Banff. On the route towards Jasper we're hoping to see some falls and maybe some wildlife. Because I'm in Canada for three days and I haven't seen any bears yet. What's up with that Canada?!


Thank you for taking the time to read this. Leave a comment, resteem and upvote this post. It is highly appreciated.

Or check out my previous post about Canada:

Canada part 1: https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@dboontje/travel-van-life-is-wicked

signature.gif

Sort:  

Wow, the first few photos of lake moraine look like an unfinished computer art, the colours are unreal. Beautiful photos.

I haven't been to canada yet, hoping i can visit someday during summer. These two places are something inwill keep in mind, thanks tp your post!

Lol, one the things I try to focus on is no photoshopping. All these photos you see in this post are unfiltered. These lakes are really beautiful in real-life. No need to do some editing. And about your plan to go, just go! That's what we did! Thanks for your comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am an enthusiast, when it comes to traveling and seeing unseen sights.

This is really lovely. Sometimes, we don't need to travel physically.. All we need to do is to click a post.

This is the next best thing.

Goodluck for the rest of your trip.

Thanks and cheers.

No worries bro! Thanks so much for your appreciation. The next post will be here within a day or four.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome, mate. Definitely gonna follow your blog, and wait for it. Cheers

Hi dboontje,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Yeah! This is such a good feeling. Your votes and appreciation is what I'm doing it for. I'm looking forward to the weekly post results.

Posted using Partiko Android

Seems like you had a great day!! Don't feel like a quitter for abandoning the hike, better than getting yourself in a trouble situation, some of them are pretty long and strenuous. On the Icefield parkway instead of the highway (it takes longer to get there tho)to get to Jasper will get you to some neat places, Of course the Columbia ice Fields, near Jasper there is Athabasca Falls that are very impressive and it's neighbor Sunwapta Falls, both very near the parking lot. Maligne Lake Road possess many spectacular views, First the 6 Bridge walk in the Maligne Canyon (the first 4 bridges are the better views) Medicine Lake higher up the Road is a beauty, to keep following the road to the end to Maligne Lake where a Tour boat can take you to the Famous Spirit Island for a lofty price. At the beginning of Maligne Lake Road wildlife can often be spoted including your sought after Grizzly (not a promise they are an elusive creature that took me 10yrs of going to even see one) The higway that connects it to Jasper and Towards Edmonton until reaching the Park boundaries is a hot spot for Elk, Deer and Rams (sometimes grizzly) Jasper is where you should see the most wildlife being in the Montane Forest Region, early in the morning or a few hours before sundown they come out of the woods. There is a spectacular view from the gondola as well, Pyramid bench is also a great view and has plenty of activities going on including horse back ridding. I hope you have a great time in Jasper. ( By the way, Famoso in the town of Jasper makes a rocking napoli pizza if that's your thing) If you have time to drive around a bit, Mount Robson Provincial Park is about 1 and a half hour away is amazing (the Bherg trail is a few hours walk to Kinney lake for a better view) Sorry I turned my recomendations into a post on your blog, there is just so much to see. I prefer Jasper over Banff.

@ladybug, I wish my upvotes are bigger as they are at the moment. These are valuable comments you're giving. Thank you so much. I'm lagging behind with my posts, but the route to Jasper is indeed stunning. That will be my next post as soon as I have the time and the internet to edit. Thanks again, your tips are highly appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had a very good friend in Canada and I remember he was talking a lot about Lake Moraine, it was his favourite place to got whenever he needed some peace in the wilderness. But if I would have to choose between Lake Moraine and Lake Louise I would rather not, because both of them are so wonderful and way more different than what lakes I'm visiting in my country. But in the end every lake has something special and its own beauty, and I can't wait to see the next part from Banff National Park :)

Thank you so much. There is no way you can choose. Buuut.. We saw the lakes in two different times of the day and lake Louise was very crowded (we were lucky we were there in time so we didn't have to take the shuttle). This is not very pleasant.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello the photos of the sunset in lake Moraine looks absolutly magnificent. It looks like it was worth waking up at 4h58:)i would love to visit canada it looks so beautiful but im the total opposite to you i definitly dont want to see any bear!!!:D lol i can't wait to see more photos of your trip.

Lol, there's a differences between seeing a bear and getting eaten by a bear because I'm a stupid tourist who doesn't respect nature. I make sure we'll always be safe so we nor the bear gets hurt. Thanks for your comment and appreciation.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know a few poeple who went to canada on WHV and worked in the country and saw bears in the yard or on the drive to work...Without been eaten:) It still will freak me out:)

I let you know when I'm dead by a bear ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Banff National Park is a place I have traveled to a few times in the summer and a few times in the winter for skiing. I absolutely love it! You caught some amazing pictures and I love the one of you (or your friend, I'm not sure) jumping on the beach. I can feel your joy! Where where you traveling from? Are you a Canadian?

Hi @porters, yep that's me jumping and posing whilst my gf tries to handle the camera. It took some patience but the result is worth it don't you think. I have been doing this jump everywhere I go at a remarkable spot. It's becoming quite a gallery. And yes, Banff was amazing. It is crowded, but the reason is simple. It's gorgeous!

O and I'm Dutch, not Canadian.

Posted using Partiko Android

Everytime I see pictures of Banff I think that this can´t be true!! It always looks so surreal. That blue lake, the green forest and then these mountains in the back. Breathtaking.

We actually wanted to go to Vancouver after our Australia trip, but due to some family affair we went home to germany. hope we can make it next year!!

Awesome Post and great photos by the way!!

Thanks man! Germany is a great country with a huge variaty so you'll be fine. We did Australia two years ago and France last year. So it was a break between two big journeys as well. Have fun and enjoy the heat!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a great update to the Canadian journey. Keep up the posts, glad you can get signal way up there in Canada Eh?

How much time do you have until you have to be back in class?

My favorite part is the difference between one and the other in the morning. Some people just need a little more time than others, I won't say anything more ;p

Hi @ecoinstant,

Thanks for your appreciation. And you're definitely right about the struggle in the morning thing. But atleast we both enjoyed scenery. A few weeks left before I have to face all these lovely creatures in class again. 🙄
But it's better not to remind me of that. Lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you have a little coffee pot in that big van of yours?

Enjoy your summer and may fall never come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88