The Freshest Seafood on the Planet - It's Still MOVING!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Who here reading this is a fan of seafood? Anybody? Raise your upvotes if you like seafood! ;-)

Well, listen up. And by that, I mean read up. I'm going to let you all in on a secret. It has to do with the world's freshest seafood. Where can you find it? Oh, of course, in Japan, right? So famous for their delectable sushi and sashimi and the world's biggest fish market... WRONG!

Where is the World's Freshest Seafood_.jpg

No arguing, Japan does boast some of the world's best seafood, but let me ask a few questions. Does the Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo sell live fish? No? If you buy a fish from a vendor will that same person cut it up for you to eat right away? Nopers. Can you sit down at a place and have a plate of sashimi brought to you where the fish was still alive just a few seconds ago? Well... maybe at one. The gimmicky Tokyo restaurant where you can catch your own fish with a pole.

If you want the freshest seafood you've ever had in your life, head nowhere else but to South Korea.

20160828_185736.jpg
Jagalchi Seafood Market in Busan. Hundreds of tanks full of live seafood.

I don't know how many live seafood markets are in South Korea. The most famous ones are in Seoul and Busan, the largest cities. Many will tell you that the seafood in Busan is the best because they sell it right off the wharf where the fishing boats come in.

The coolest part of these markets is that right next to where they sell it, they have places set where you can eat it. As you can see in this photo.

20160828_185050.jpg
Tables next to the fish tanks

You order what you want while it's still swimming, even choosing the specific fish if you like, the seller or their partner kills it and prepares it for you while you sit, they bring it out to you and you chow down. That's all there is to it. It helps to have someone with you who speaks the language. I am very fortunate to have made local friends there who wanted me to experience the best of the country.

20160828_193312.jpg
Me and my bad hair day with my super sweet Korean friends.

I went to a couple different seafood markets around Busan. At one of them, we just ordered a couple fish to be chopped up into hoe (pronounced hwey), the Korean word for raw fish/sashimi, along with some steamed crab, conchs, fresh seaweed and veggies that all came with it.

1488031955865.jpg
Time to feast

At the other market, I wanted to try something a little less conventional. Sannakji: What us English-speaking folk would call live octopus. When they set this cut up octopus in front of you, the tentacles are still squirming. Talk about FRESH!

20160828_192336.jpg
My moving food. Look, one is about to crawl off the plate.

The octopus is not actually alive. It just looks that way. Their complex nervous system cause reflex actions in the tentacles even after death. Because of this, the suction cups are still active so you have to be cautious while swallowing so that it doesn't attach anywhere that will block your airways. Does that count as your food fighting back?

Sannakji is normally prepared with sesame oil and sesame seeds. This vendor tossed on some fresh onions too for good measure. From the first bite, I have to say, the taste was pretty great. There is only a slight fishy flavor from the octopus. Most of the flavor is from the sesame oil. It is most definitely chewy and a completely new experience to have a squirming tentacle in your mouth that occasionally attaches to your tongue via tiny suction cups.

That was the main thing I wanted to try and I'm glad I did. My friends thought I should try more weird stuff so they ordered some things that they call Sea Pineapple and Penis Fish (both named by how they look, imagine that). I know, one of those sounds much better than the other, but believe me, they both taste equally terrible.

20160828_193053 (1).jpg
Sea Pineapple and Penis Fish. When they aren't chopped up, they look exactly like their names

The former tastes something like strong iodine or something, the latter tastes like pure salt. Maybe they added salt to it, i don't know, but all I could taste was salt.

So even though not every super fresh product is pleasant to eat, South Korea still wears the crown for world's freshest seafood.

Eat your heart out, Japan. Whatever that means.

Which of these would you try?

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-freshest-seafood-on-the-planet-it-s-still-moving


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Some of the best/freshest seafood I've ever had is in the Philippines, Mindanao (especially the tuna!) but in fairness I've never been to Japan or South Korea.

This looks awesome! @suitcasemama and I always talk about going to Japan only to eat, looks like we'll have to include S. Korea as well!

Japan has incredible food, no question. And their seafood is amazing. But I have had sushi/sashimi in both Japan and Korea and honestly I liked it in Korea better. Just my opinion.

I also guessed Japan because their sushi tastes sooo fresh! If that isn't even the freshest then I would really wanna try that one in Busan.

I think I'll try the Sea Pineapple and Penis Fish just because the other plate with moving tentacles will scare me :p

Japan is very fresh. Just not 'kill it on the spot' fresh. I suggest you skip the sea pineapple and penis fish and go with something that you won't spit out, haha.

Been there last year Jagalchi Seafood Market in Busan ! I would say it ONE OF the freshest seafood tho. In Thailand we have pretty much the same thing. Not a must at all but if you want to just skim the post I've written a few months back about seafood in Thailand here

I was in Busan last year traveling around for 2 weeks. Mostly did couchsurfing. It was such a great experience and I loved the city!

Just to look at all those pics I'm hungrayyyy hahaha

Yeah, plenty of places sell it live and then cook it up on the spot. I was pretty much making the point that in Korea they kind of bypass the cooking part and serve it up raw and wriggling. Just a liiiiittle bit fresher than anywhere else.

That seafood in Thailand looked great.

Oh this is a super awesome post about travel and FOOD, @daveonarrival! I went to Jagalchi Market when I was in South Korea last summer, and you're definitely right, the seafood they have here is amazing. :)

Thank you. It's cool that you have been there too.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by daveonarrival from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44