Port Hope Hotel: Port Hope, MI

in #travelfeed6 years ago

In my post yesterday I talked about how we had recreated my wife's parents wedding ceremony for their 45th anniversary.

The next day we decided to head North up the coast from Harbor Beach and visit a couple of spots.

If you didn't read the title, this post is about the Port Hope Hotel. The main reason we stopped here for lunch is because they are famous for their "Leroy" burger.

It isn't a very big establishment, so when the 16 of us pulled in on a Sunday afternoon, it is safe to say we got more than a couple of stares.

We probably should have called ahead, There was already one large party at a long table and I don't think they were really prepared for another one. We had to spread out across four or five individual tables and our whole experience took a while because there was only one waitress serving the whole place.

I didn't get any pictures of the inside of the bar. It wasn't anything special, just your average small town bar.

We waited for our drinks, ordered our food, and played a couple rounds of Keno through the State Lottery program.

I had a really good burger a couple of days earlier that I am going to write about in another post, so I didn't get the Leroy Burger. Luckily two of my brothers-in-law did, so I have some pictures.

I opted for the patty melt which is basically a beef patty with Swiss cheese and caramelized onions on a sourdough rye bread. It came with chips and was quite tasty.

IMG_20180624_133652.jpg

My wife chose the nachos and since she doesn't eat beef, she got chicken on them instead. You can't see it in the picture, but the chicken is buried under the copious amount of cheese.

IMG_20180624_134527.jpg

She said they were okay as far as nachos went. I don't know that she would get them again if we ever found ourselves back in Port Hope though.

Most other people in our party got either the regular sized burger or chicken fingers(the kids). Like I mentioned though, two of the people in our group got the Leroy.

IMG_20180624_133703.jpg

If I had to guess the patty was probably over 1 lb. of beef. One of the guys that got it just smushed it down as much as he could and dove in. The other one decided the divide and conquer approach was best, so he cut it in half. This gave me the opportunity to get a shot of the inside.

IMG_20180624_134025.jpg

They both agreed that the burger itself was a little dry. I am guessing to ensure that it was cooked through, they probably had to sear it off on the griddle, then bake it off in the oven to finish it. That would account for the dryness of the patty.

In all, I am glad that I chose to go with the patty melt. The burger I had on Friday was so good that I think this would have ruined the memory had I gotten the Leroy.

The people at the table next to us got pizza and it looked pretty good. That might be something worth giving a try if you pass through and you are not hungry for a burger.

If you are in the "thumb" area of Michigan and you want to visit a local legend, stop in to the Port Hope Hotel and take on a Leroy.

Keep an eye on my feed to hear about the place I had a really great burger at while we were on this trip!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Oh LORD!! I haven't had a Leroy burger in over a decade! Ohhh, such fond memories!

Glad I could help you dig them back up :)

It does look a little dry on the inside, but on the outside its a beauty. :D
But the only burgers i have contact with are Mcdonalds, so what do i know. haha
The nachos though, with the cheese look jummy.

I agree, they do a pretty good job of presentation on the outside. I am not opposed to the occasional McDonald's burger, nothing wrong there :) The nachos did look good, but ended up falling kind of flat. It is hard to explain, you just know a good plate of nachos when you taste them :)

My only contact with this kind of food is, in as i said mcdonalds and cinema theatres.
Even if its not the best what you had id want to try and see what its like when they actually prepare this kind of food as more then a fast food or cinema snack.

Ah, I understand! American bar food is quite unique. There are some real gems out there if you find the right place!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-27T16:50:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 516.00/200.00
Total Photos: 72
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

To be honest, being in the US I thought 'Leroy' would be bigger. Everything usually is there ;) We have a chain here called 'Gourmet Burger Kitchen', who do huge ones. They are really good.

That gooey cheese on the chicken looks a bit much too, not sure if I could handle that. I do like cheesy Nacho's though.

Honestly, I was kind of surprised too. It was a big burger, but I thought it was going to be a little bigger than that. I think if I was getting that much beef I would prefer multiple patties so they could at least cook them medium or medium well to keep some moisture. I tried the nachos and also wasn't that impressed with them.

Wow! That looks like a ridiculously awesome burger

It was quite large!

SOund slike a greta time and WOW that Berger Patty was huge

I've never seen chips served with any main dish actually (nachos excluded). Is that common in the US?

Yeah it is pretty common for sandwiches at bars and stuff. You can usually get fries or onion rings for an additional charge.

Someone's hands wrapped that burger? Is he a basketball player? That must be some huge hands! There's so much going on in the middle of that burger, it is scary.

He was a basketball player once upon a time :) he coaches his daughters now . Yeah it was pretty big.

Never hear of "leroy burger" before Bozz. Nice to know and that nacho cheeze topping looking so photogenic 😃

Now I'm hungry and decided to make tacos 😃, lol
Thanks for sharing and enjoy! ❤️

No Problem! Tacos sound awesome right now!

The tried and true patty melt is usually my go to choice at most establishments, but I would HAVE to take a run at old Leroy for sure! That is truly an epic burger!

I agree, you can usually never go wrong with a patty melt or nachos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44