Wednesdaywalk: Walking in St. Petersburg. Triumphal arch and the General Staff Building

in #travelfeed4 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the @tattoodjay's Wednesday walk challenge.

Today I continue to acquaint you with St. Petersburg in my photo walks again .

Last time I settled on how I went further along Nevsky Prospect after I walked near the Kazan Cathedral and crossed the Moika River along the Green Bridge. It was here.

Moving further along Nevsky Prospect, I turned back and took another photo. After all, further my path along Nevsky Prospekt ended. Now I was heading to Bolshaya Morskaya Street. This street leads to one of the most significant sights of the city. Rather, to a whole group of attractions. After all, Palace Square, the General Staff Building, the Alexander Column and of course the Winter Palace are waiting for me.

But first, I have to go along Bolshaya Morskaya Street and meet the Arc de Triomphe of the General Staff Building. This arch connects two semicircular buildings of the General Staff building. The General Staff building itself was built in 1825. Arc de Triomphe was built by 1928. The construction of the arch was supervised by the famous architect Karl Rossi.

Like Kazan Cathedral, this arch is dedicated to the victory of the Russian Empire over the French Empire, in a war which took place in 1812.

On the way to the arch, I noticed how beautifully they paved the Great Sea Street in our time. It seems to me that when I was a student, this street was covered with asphalt. And now it is paved with granite tiles and in the middle lined with cobblestone circles.

In the upper corners of the arch you can see the bas-reliefs. They depict goddesses of glory with laurel wreaths and palm branches in honor of the might and triumph of the Russian army.

And I really liked how the clock complements the arch in the right corner of the photo. It turns out that this is the first street electric clock in St. Petersburg. The diameter of the dial of this watch is as much as two meters. They were installed here with the participation of the scientist D. Mendeleev. I bet you heard about the periodic table of chemical elements that he created.

Through the arch you can see the passage to the Palace Square. Also through the passage is visible Alexander Column. But about her later. Pay attention to how beautiful the arch looks from below.

In fact, if you look closely, it’s even three arches, not one. Two arches at the entrance from the street and one at the exit to the Palace Square.

And it looks like the east wing of the General Staff building from Palace Square. Currently, this building belongs to the State Hermitage Museum. Unfortunately, on this day there were some constructions on the square after the musical event. They were fenced, which spoiled the view a little.

Going out to the square, I saw the dome of St. Isaac's Cathedral, towering over the city. I visited this cathedral during another walk. And in the future I will tell you about it. There I took a lot of interesting photos.

And ending my today's story, I want to show how the whole General Staff building looks like. Pay attention to the chariot located above the Arc de Triomphe. According to the initial draft of Carl Rossi, she was not supposed to be here. But the Russian emperor Nicholas first insisted on its installation.

By the way, I forgot to mention that the General Headquarters building is so called because it housed the General Headquarters of the Russian Imperial Army.

Then I went for a walk along Palace Square and around the Winter Palace. But I will talk about this in my next posts.

At this point I end my today's story. I hope you enjoyed it. There are still many walks ahead!



Nikon D5000 + Sigma AF 17-50


I strongly recommend to open the photo in a separate tab to appreciate it.


Sort:  

One of the most remarkable locations in St.Petersburg

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

I agree with you! Thank you!

Hi @boddhisattva!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.222 which ranks you at #867 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 90 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you boddhisattva! You've just received an upvote of 20% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Thank you for these! SThe architecture in St. Pete rocks!

You are very welcome! Glad you like it!



Hey @boddhisattva, here is a little bit of BEER from @axeman for you. Enjoy it!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io? Also, thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we presented at SteemFest⁴, published our Android app and launched our Steem witness.

Please consider voting for us as a witness. If you're not sure how to do that, it's easy: Head over to our Support Us page and hit the witness voting button to vote with Steem Keychain, or Steemconnect if you are not a Keychain user. Alternatively, use this Steemconnect link or head over to the Steemit Wallet and enter travelfeed in the box.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

It looks really nice.

My wife and I are hoping to get there in 2020 when we are in Finland. Will come down to time I guess. Seeing your pictures makes me want to get there even more. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! I hope you will have good time here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=boddhisattva
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesdaywalk-walking-in-st-petersburg-triumphal-arch-and-the-general-staff-building


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #681.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Great pictures! The photos of the arches look especially gorgeous.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82