Buying Winter Clothes For Steemfest in Bali

in #traveldigest6 years ago

I went on a treasure hunt today for winter clothes!!!

Don't try to fight me and say they're not a treasure.

When you hate cold weather as much as I do, ANY warmth you can get is a treasure.

Wasn't sure how much like I'd have finding anything warm here, considering the weather is tropical and hot 90% of the time.

I knew I'd at least find tennis shoes, socks (not thick warm ones, though), a jacket (not winter coat necessarily) and pants because I've seen locals wear them.

But, there isn't a ton of shopping around where I live.

No malls or big box stores within an hour driving distance.

I have zero time to drive an hour, so I just drove around and popped into little local second-hand type stores.

I found everything I wanted except for a winter scarf and boots!

Ok, maybe some thicker pants would have been REALLY nice...

...and all I found was a pair of some used ripped jeans and some semi-thin red pants.

BUT at least they're pants!!!

I didn't have ANY pants before going shopping!

Can you believe I walk around pantsless all the time?!?

Haha, just because I only have summer dresses here to wear. And flip-flops and no socks!

So here's what my shopping looked like.

I got most of my stuff from this store, which has no name as far as I know of.

I forgot to take a picture of the inside, but it's basically just a bunch of used clothes in there, which was perfect.

Oh, and here was the traffic outside:

Here's another random side-of-the-road store where I saw some socks:

Yikes. I don't know how I feel about my socks giving me a camel toe...

but in desperate times... 😆

Luckily, they had about 3 pairs that were normal, so I just bought them.

Glove choices:

I hate how everything is individually wrapped in plastic. Just seems like a needless way to add trash to the environment. But I needed something, so I bought a pair anyway.

The last thing I had to go find was shoes.

I hadn't seen any shoes yet that weren't just flip flops.

Then a lot of stores aren't legitimate shoe stores, so they really only have a few sizes, and none of them fit me.

Took me several tries and lots of driving around aimlessly...

But FINALLY found some shoes.

And on sale!!!

I was too lazy to take off my helmet to try them on:

Super happy that I found some things and I wouldn't be condemned to die of hypothermia immediately upon landing in Poland:

My finds:

  • 2 pairs of pants- I guess incase I pee myself. Not sure why I got 2. Backup pair because one of them was only $4
    -2 pairs of gloves - $.50 cents each, $1 USD total.
    -4 pairs of socks - Uh oh. Just realized I'm going to be re-wearing socks like a McNasty. Oops!
    -2 zip up hoodies that I plan on layering because seriously I get cold
    -1 hoodless sweatshirt with an owl on it
  • A hat that was $1.60
  • Pair of shoes that 80% fit me, but it's good enough. - $5USD 'cause I got lucky and found a sale!

Total I spent: $46 USD. When I was doing my raffle, I guessed that I'd need about $50 USD for winter clothes, and I was almost right!

Things I Couldn't Find

❄️Boots
❄️Jeans that didn't have holes in them
❄️Scarf
❄️Warm socks
❄️Pants that are thicker than leggings, which some may argue aren't even pants

Things I'm Borrowing For Sure

❄️Winter coat from @guchtere which I'm very excited about!

:) See you guys soon!

Sort:  

I'll bring an extra scarf for you! This one should match your clothes ;)
When are you arriving?

IMG_7262.JPG

Oh my gosh, even one that matches!!! 💜 You are an ANGEL!!!

Thank you!!!!! Dankeschon.

You have my phone #, right?

I don’t think so but I’m on telegram, same name :) Oh and discord, though I never check that... ;)

lol do you have whatsapp? I'll discord you my #. Can't get telegram to work

Well, you know how the old saying goes... desperate times call for camel toe socks, lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol yes, so true. I have that quote hanging somewhere on my fridge I think

Its getting real!! This is really happening, YOU are going to SF:)

I CAN'T BELIEVE IT! YAYY THANK YOU!!

wow, it's fun in bali, @nomadicsoul

Haha you can get drunk, that always helps with cold :D No need for borrowing a coat then :D Here's the proof:

It's crazy thatin some parts of the world, you just don't need some type of clothes :D We in europe have to be ready for eeverything haha :D And I love the owl motive btw!

Oh and my grandfather gave me once a great McNasty advice - if you turn the socs inside out, you can wear them again and it counts as if they were clean :D

hahaha I love your grandpa's McNasty advice!

It's so funny how differently people experience the weather in Poland. While you guys from tropical areas are buying topped clothes, me coming from Finland has had to throw my sweater and all extra underwear away, wearing only short-sleeved t-shirt under my fleece jacket cause otherwise I'm literally sweating, haha. Already am even with this lighter configuration when I'm carrying my backpack.

It's so comfy here, for me that is, lol.

That’s so funny, I don’t think I own any winter clothes at all. I would of been jacked if I went to steemfest 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha I def had 0% winter clothes before this lil' Bali escapade.

Congratulations @nomadicsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You truly crack me up. We are going to have a blast creating shit here together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77