PAPUA NEW GUINEA#4: Honor to the visitor !

in #traveldigest6 years ago (edited)

JACQUINOT BAY: Honor to the Visitor!

The original version of this report is in French. I try to do my best to translate it into English so that the whole community can enjoy it, but it is possible that mistakes remain. Thanks for your understanding.

During the past two weeks, I have repeatedly referred to the incredible welcome Papuans have shown me during my visit to their country. Here is certainly the most eloquent example...

_DSC2696.jpg

************

After a rather tiring navigation spent fighting for 36 hours against the current and storms of the channel of St Geroges, I finally find calm by entering the Jacquinot Bay, and I anchor in front of the village of Sallel around midday. The banks of the village are as usual unpopulated. But accustomed to the fact, I suspect that behind this barrier vegetation is hiding most of the homes. I go down on the ground to introduce myself and do not find many people until I reach the central square of the village. On a slow and monotonous rhythm, dozens of women dressed in foliage, flowers and necklaces of shells evolve around a figurine raised by pieces of wood and dressed in old clothes representing the old now disappeared. This ceremony symbolizes a belief that the spirits of the dead remain among the living. Suddenly, farther into the forest, heavy and severe cries arrive. Men are approaching ... At the same time the pace of women is accelerating moderately. Closer the group of men come, more the women's group moves around. Now in sight, some men stand out from the group to threaten the women with their spears. The reunification of the two groups will generate the rise of a rhythm that will have nothing to envy the most furious sambas. The "Sings Sings", as they are called here, will be done all afternoon, and for several days.
_DSC2535.jpg_DSC2701.jpg

Celebration of spirits ceremony

************


I finally meet Francis, the village chief who as usual gives me a few fruits and vegetables and invites me to visit the village scheduled for the next day.


After a good night's recovery, I go to the ground and follow my hosts to the four corners of the village. A church here, a tomb over there, the house of an elder, I find all this very nice but a little disconnected ... And for good reason! As I followed Francis politely out of the village, a large part of the village was preparing a reception in my honor. What honor can I represent, will you tell me, ten years later I still do not know it! It was only on the way back that our road was suddenly blocked by three individuals covered with branches and proceeding with gestures similar to those of the day before. I was then invited to follow the group to a table that the women and children had prepared while I was distracted to follow my hosts at the other end of the village. Good game ! A table of about forty cutlery was then erected in front of me. One by one, all the guests will come to greet me. There will be a flag raising, the national flag, the flag of Jerusalem, and the Australian Navy ... Do not ask me to describe a possible link between the three! What a welcome !

_DSC2673.jpg

Line of pans waiting for us before the carbet of victuals...
************


Offerings and discussions will follow one another all afternoon in the house of men. As the name suggests, only men have access. In the center of this box, a basket filled with food is intended to troubleshoot travelers. On the perimeter, appointed benches are arranged and receive their owners for long conversations on the life of the village. A manager is appointed to look after the visitor, me. He makes sure that he can find accommodation, food and is available to offer him the visit of the surroundings if the need is expressed.
_DSC2651 copy.jpg_DSC2654 copy.jpg


Representation of the local deity
|
Representation of the 10 commandments


I remember a few conversations with Australian sailors who strongly advised against going to Papua New Guinea while we were trading beer in our hands. Aggressions, firearms, robberies, violence, these are in a few words how they described this fabulous country. Today, 10 years later, I only dream of one thing, to return ...

_DSC2560.jpg

Representation of happiness!

More about Papua New Guinea, here :
https://steemit.com/traveldigest/@marc-allaria/papua-new-guinea-4-once-upon-a-time-there-was-underwater-exploration

https://steemit.com/traveldigest/@marc-allaria/papouasie-nouvelle-guinee-4-il-etait-une-fois-l-exploration-sous-marine

Copyrighted photography ©Marc ALLARIA - www.photo-sousmarine.com





Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=marc-allaria
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=papua-new-guinea-4-honor-to-the-visitor


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 22:14:04
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1494.55/1600.00
Total Photos: 74
Total comments: 221
Total contest wins: 19
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Ma femme est née en Papouasie Nouvelle Guinea!!!! Elle adore vos photos.

Ah merci ça me fait plaisir. J'espère qu'elle trouve les textes justes. Même si j'ai adoré le pays et y suis resté quelques mois, je ne reste qu'un étranger et ce n'est pas facile d'appréhender toutes les difficultés, les traditions d'un pays, et d'en parler avec justesse.

De très bonnes photos! la cérémonie semble imprésionnante.

Elle l'était et ça m'a beaucoup surpris. Inoubliable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53