Craters of the Moon National Monument - photo impressions USA part 2

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

On our trip through the west of the USA in 2014 we also stopped by the large area of volcanic activity, known as Craters of the Moon.
The 60 distinct solidified lava flows that form the Craters of the Moon lava field range in age from 15,000 to just 2,000 years.

If it wasn't for the beautiful vegetation you might really think you are walking on the surface of the Moon:


The vast lava fields looked as if they might still be filled with glowing lava underneath.


Having some fun on the top of the hill called Inferno Cone (you can see it in the distance in the photo above).


The fertile soil is full of unusual vegetation.


There were actually a great many of beautiful little plants and flowers growing everywhere.



This is part of my USA Impressions series, check out the other parts here:



Follow me if you are interested in more content like this!

Sort:  

Gorgeous photos! I love them :)

Thank you! I need spring to come soon. When I uploaded those photos I realized I was not getting enough fresh air lately.

Nice shots. Cool plants for such a rough environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63