Walking Tour of Bangkok Thailand and Steemit Meet-Up! (25 photos and historic description)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Bangkok, one of the most famous and exciting cities in Asia. Known for it's night life, it's anything goes atmosphere, Buddhists temples, markets, street food, and much more. Dating back to King Rama I in the early 1500s, Bangkok has long been the capital city of Thailand formally known as Siam.

Bangkok has been the location of Royal Palaces as well as political coups. The City was at the center of Thailand's modernization after being bombed by allied forces during WWII and is now the gateway into Southeast Asia, sporting two international airports and a population of about 10 million. Anyone who has visited the sights, smells, and sounds of Bangkok knows this is a place unlike any other.

We start tour on the streets of Koh San Road. The backpacker area and where there are clusters of hotels to choose from. I recommend heading north several blocks away from the craziness of Koh San and stay in the Phranakorn Inn. Here you have AC, good wifi, it's quiet, safe, and comfortable enough at a great price of ten dollars US.

Koh San Road. Photo Credit: Bangkok.com

From here I took one of the Tuk-Tuks (motor carriages) about 5 kilometers east to MBK Mall near the city center. The cost was about three dollars. Here you can see a panoramic view of where the mall is near the heart of he City.

Note the two billboards of the two kings. On the far right is a billboard of the king who recently passed away. His face is on all the money in Thailand and it was a great loss for the country when he passed. On the far left is the new king, son of the previous one.

On the walkway there are some very cool shade umbrellas used as a canvas for some great street art.

Here we are inside of MBK Mall. Not a traditional mall like we have in the west, it's filled with hundreds of private shop keepers all trying to make a living. It's like a flee market mixed with a modern mall. Some floors are devoted to electronics, some to jewelry and clothes, other's to food. There's a movie theater and arcade on the top floor. It only cost about five dollars to see a Hollywood movie here in English with Thai subtitles.

Here is a stall offering traditional Thai pastry. It's like flavored marshmallow fluff in a toasted thin waffle all freshly made of course!

At this point we have two hours until 5pm when we'll be meeting up with Steemit member @fitinfun. So instead of take the subway to her place, the ten kilometer walking tour begins. On the way to @fitinfun we see all sorts of things like this Budhhist ceremony with many dedicated followers showing their respect.

Here's a McDonald's with a food-stall right out in-front selling something that is probably much healthier. We actually walk past about four McDonald's on the way to @fitinfun's.

A short ways ahead we find the mascot to an Irish pub staring us straight in the eye.

We then walk under an over-pass to see some more vendors this time selling fresh young Thai coconuts for $1.50 and Leechee nut by the kilo.

On the other side of the over pass we cross a small bridge and look back to see a whole line of food stalls in traditional Bangkok fashion.

A little further down the road we see another reminder that this is a Buddhist country. The Thia people are very proud of their faith, decorating their city with beautiful statues, monuments, and art of what they hold deer.

As we continue on we find the produce section on wheels. I only wonder how inexpensive his produce is.

We keep walking and what do we see? More street food! Here we have a Thai Muslim preparing what is called a roti; a thin fried pancake filled with sweet goodness. My favorite is bananas and chocolate syrup!

This lady is selling one of my favorites, grilled fermented pork sausage balls!

It's getting close to 5pm, and it looks like they are setting up shop!

Finally we get to @fitinfun's part of town. I'm hungry after all that walking. Fortunately she lives near a huge market loaded with great Bangkok Street Food! I go right for my pork balls, she's a fan too and recommends the best vendor.

We pass on the sushi this time even though it looks good and go for some grilled chicken!

I was obviously hungry for meat and the grilled pork looked and tasted great!

We got some steamed pumpkin and corn too. All this food cost us less than seven dollars, that's for the the two of us! A nice Thai woman offered to take our photo before heading back to her apartment to talk steemit and enjoy our food. After all that walking I was tired and ready to eat! Thanks for coming along on the tour. Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

A Celebration of Life and Music in the Video Game Arcades in Thailand. Check out this Video I Took in Bangkok!

What Can you Buy for Forty Cents or Less in Thailand?

Is a Month in Thailand Good Medicine?

Who do we Love on Steemit?

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Nice tour, it made my hungry seeing all that food! Still have never been to Bangkok. I think it will have to wait, if we went now we'd probably end up eating at McDonald's since the kids are not quite ready for all that wonderful native food.
My dream is that we, after a few years in an RV, will be ready to travel with only one bag each and explore more of the world.

Thank you! Sounds like a plan. Ohhh, I'm sure you're kids would enjoy a chicken stick or a pork stick, or something on a stick over McDonalds. But then again you would know! Have a great day!

You really made us part of the story. That's another aspect of steemit that I like, so many cultures, so many places and we are lucky to see them first hand.

Thank you very much. Great observation, as I was trying to make the viewer part of the story!

Wow great post ! Upped and resteemed my friend ! I seen this before on The Amazing Race ! LOL! Those tuck tucks !? Are cool ! All the food looks yummy lot seem to sell those pork balls ! Must be a big hit they look yummy ! I love street art , we have a lot of it here in Kelowna it stops the taggers and graffiti artists from painting on the buildings ! They wont cover over someone else's work ! Thanks for sharing ! Need to go charge my Chromebook now im at work still watching this tent LOL ! And my battery is dying ! Good night !👍👍👍💙💙💙

Thanks again for promoting my work. It's always appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the post as well. Interesting to here that the gangsters have enough morality not to tag over other's art. Happy to here that. Pork Balls! Hope you a had a good night's rest. -Dan

haha no kidding eh !! Pork Balls sound great I will have to try and make some on my BBQ and do a post on it ! 💕💕💕✌👍

Dude, I wish I was there right now. Great post and pics. Love hearing about your stories.

Did you just "dude" me? lol Good to hear from you. Hope you're doing well in Playas.

Nice work guys! Steemit meetups are becoming very popular.

Need to get my ass back to BKK sometime soon! Here's one from inside a Tuk-tuk :D

img081.jpg

Nice. Glad to know another fellow traveler on here. I'm not a big city kind of person, but it's growing on me. Bangkok sure is an exciting place to be!

Same :)

Yes i much prefer the quiet life, it's employment that brings me back to the Cities. Planning on a change to that soon though as i quit recently! Maybe some volunteer/travel is on the cards soon :D

Nice, I think you just have to do what make you happy!

That's right!

My girl has seen a lot of the world, think she was in Vietnam for most of a decade. Has some nice shots and thoughts if you have time for a look.
Cheers!

Yeah Thailand is a cool country. I'm in Laos now, but thinking of dipping out back to Thailand. They just have so much more to offer.

Oho people eating NArial pani in there

Love it, Dan! Thanks for getting this posted and I am slow as usual. I hope you are have a blast in Laos now. I'm still loving my neighbors.

I upvoted and resteemed and I'm tweeting. One of your other food photos took off this morning over there :)

Great to here. I'm trying to have a good time. It's now 11 am. the sun is shining and all I want to do is go outside. But I'm on steemit, trying to be a nice guy and reply to people :) Thanks for helping publicize my work!

Was in BKK in June. Thanks for bringing back some nice memories.

You're very welcome.

nice place love your articles
@rogerblu

This was a great post! I hope to one day travel to Thailand myself!

Thank you. Thailand is totally awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67