Travel Super Foods #7: Watermelon in Thailand!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey there my steemit friends. For all you travelers out there, you should know that one of many things Thailand does right is grow some of the best fruit on the planet. They certainly have the right tropical climate to do so. In a market on the Island of Koh Phagnan I recently I found myself staring down a beautiful dark green watermelon. I had to have it!

I bought it for 60 baht or about two dollars. After bringing it back to my hotel, being the curious guy that I am I wanted to know the health benefits of this popular fruit. After a little research online I was blown away. Watermelon really is a super food and here is why.

Watermelon is about 92% water, so it keeps you hydrated while giving you a nice dose of fiber helping keep you regular too. It's high in lycopene which has been proven to prevent cancer growth. It's high in potassium, vitamin B, and a bunch of other essential minerals giving you energy and keeping your body functioning correctly.

Watermelon is a great water transmitter meaning as you digest it, it will pull out excess water in your body stored through inflammation "water weight". It will flatten out your stomach and your jaw line may come back after several days of eating this super food.

It lowers cholesterol and is good for your heart. It's a good source of vitamin C. It's a natural anti-inflammatory. It reduces oxidative stress, which is basically cancer causing free radicals in the body; being high in antioxidants watermelon combats that issue head on.

An amino acid found in watermelon called citrulline has been proven to relieve muscle soreness and bring the heart rate back to a normal pace faster after exertion. It has vitamin A making it good for your skin and eyes.

Be careful if you are sensitive to sugar it may not be best to eat too much. For example those on an anti-candida diet or suffering complications from diabetes. However the sugar is natural, making it the best form to have anyway. Besides all these great benefits. Watermelon taste good too.

Also don't let anyone tell you that you can't eat the seeds. Chew them up to make them bio-available and you get a bunch of protein and other benefits as well. If you don't chew them, you pass them out the other end like a bird, and might accidentally plant a watermelon vine if you make in the woods!

They are fun to eat too. The watermelon I got was pretty small. I cut that baby in half and went to town on it with a spoon! A few hours later I attacked the other half. It was sweet and tasty. So eat your watermelon and enjoy! Until next time. -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Pro Hits 750 Followers and Turns Full Time Steemit Travel Blogger! A Special Thank You to My Steemit Friends!

Travel Pro Tip #25: Take the Overnight Sleeper Train in Thailand!

Real Life Captured #28: Quito Ecuador Part Three (15 photos)

Real Life Captured #30: Krabi Town Thailand! Part Two (17 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #8: Back Alley Beef Noodle Soup in Chiang Mai Thailand!

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 9.677721 lat 100.065622 long d3scr

Sort:  

Thanks for explaining an amazing dish. Great post.

Wow! It is really a super food, it is a fruit of summer and I like it very much. Thank you for reminding its health benefits.

My pleasure, glad you enjoyed the post! Hope to see you again soon! -Dan

very interesting indeed!

I thank you so much that it is so much better to share this beautiful post in order to keep the body better

Yes it's very good for keeping the body better!

Haha love the shape of that watermelon, another perk with watermelons is although they have high GI their GL (glycemic load) is very low to its density and thus don't suffer from being very insulin heightening as other fruits!

If you're into travelling, vlogs, self-development, fitness etc feel free to check out my channel, otherwise keep it up and I see you around ! :)

Thanks for the additional info you added. You really know you're stuff. Just checked out your blog. I think you're onto something. Best of luck to you, and hope to see again soon! -Dan

more fun way to eat watermelon is without spoon...just bite it raw and wild...got to know many health benefits of watermelon, thanks :)

I started eating the seeds recently. Makes it a heck of lot more enjoyable not having to sort them out in your moth and spit! Thanks for stopping by. Glad to see you enjoying my blog! Hope to see you again soon! -Dan

hahaha.. Nice style to eat watermelon.. We just cut it and then eat that.. But I like your style... nice mate..

I'm a bit of strange cat! lol Thanks for stopping by.

Best fruit for the hot summer months..so refreshing! I love having watermelon for breakfast or making some ice cold homemade watermelon juice..YUM.

Me too. Lately I've been going, watermelon chuncks, banana, strawberry, black berries, and walnuts and dark chocolate, just toss that up and eat it like a fruit salad. Wheaties has nothing on that. Breakfeast of champions....or should I say "travel pros!" my friend. Thanks for stopping by. -Dan

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-super-foods-7-watermelon-in-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43