Travel Pro Tip #30: How to Live Travel Pro! Inspired by @jedau. Part Four: Clean Up Your Life!

in #travel6 years ago

Clean Up Your Life!

This article could be called Less is More part two. As we are still on the topic of cleaning up and simplifying our lives so we can Live Travel Pro! In last week's article we discussed why Less is More is a Travel Pro Philosophy and how it is a key part in simplifying one's life. In this part we will talk a little bit about how we can make this happen.

One must first understand that more "STUFF" is more "STUFF". Less "STUFF" is more "FREEDOM". Less bills and less purchases equals more money saved. More money saved equals more freedom. More freedom equals more free time and that is what living Travel Pro is all about; being extremely wealthy in free time!

Having less things to take care of equals more time to take care of yourself! Less responsibilities and obligations means more time to live the life that you want! So this is all part of the philosophy of How to Live Life Travel Pro!

Where do I begin? I'm already drowning in debt, bills, and STUFF!

Cleaning up ones life, cleaning up one's mess, or even worsely stated; cleaning up the living hell one has created for themselves! This is probably one of the most challenging steps to accomplish in order to live travel pro.

It took me over a year and with help from others to completely relieve myself of the mess I created from years of accumulating STUFF. I was able to get all my STUFF down to the point where I have one box of memorable things I can't throw away which is stored with my father; and everything else I can fit in my backpack.

If you've ever seen that TV show Hoarders, what they do on that show is basically the process. If you really want to live Travel Pro and travel the world endlessly with hardly an ounce of worry, concern, or stress; you will have to get rid of almost everything you own!

What!!! But I can't get rid of my cast iron skillet, I've been using it for 10 years I love this skillet. What about my wedding photos! Is this Travel Pro guy insane? What about my diploma hanging on the wall. This is my favorite blanket since I was a child. My baseball glove I've had since, forever!

Do you own these things? Or do they own you? Like I said I have a box of stuff I would never throw away, but trust me I've thrown away things many people probably would not have. You literally are going to have to give up some things you cherish or that box being stored at Aunt Suzzy's house gets bigger and bigger.

I would start the process, by going through your house from top to bottom, and just start throwing out stuff that is more or less garbage. You know, that spring cleaning mentality. It's a great place to start.

From there you have a garage sale or a series of garage sales, then you give the rest away to charity or to friends. Finally you have two piles; one is for what you'll be traveling with and it can fit into a backpack and the other is that box of things you just can't throw away, like photo albums and such. That goes to a trusted family member or friend.

During this whole process you are selling your house or time is leading up to that rental lease running out. Preferably you're selling the house coming into a huge chunk of cash to get working safely for you which was discussed in part one and two of this series, or you'll be renting the house and having that rental income to help you Live Travel Pro.

Also around this time you are going to need to sell your car; and in comes another pile of cash or at least the end of recurring car loan payments. No more insurance payments and pumping gasoline becomes a thing of the past. You're almost Living Travel Pro!

All Cleaned up and Ready to Travel Pro!

Since you just uprooted yourself from all your stuff. You'll now be in the position to start planning your first travel rout and explore some parts of the world you've always wanted to. Start slow, travel slow, and get a feel for your new lifestyle.

Saying goodbye to friends and family may be a huge challenge for you, and for others you may feel you can't get away fast enough! However this is one of the more difficult parts. Before committing to life Travel Pro you have to consider if you can or want to separate from all your stuff as well as the people and community you will be leaving; and if your new found Travel Pro Freedom will be worth it in the first place.

However one thing that will naturally happen at this point upon your first travel venture is this mind blowing realization. Let's say you're nervous so you want to just take it easy close to the states and you spend your first Travel Pro month in a lovely place in Mexico called Playa Del Carmen.

You make a Travel Pro Deal and rent a furnished small apartment walking distance form the beach for $100 a week no deposit, no contract, all included. Well, suddenly you'll realize....last month this time you had a $250 electric bill to pay, rent was $850, internet and cable was another $120, Water bill that was $50, cellphone you just pay by how you use it now, before it was $100 a month, car insurance that was another $60. Holy Smokes! You literally have no bills to pay!

Welcome to the joys of Living Life Travel Pro. Clean up your life and Live Life Travel Pro! Until next time - Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

How to Live Travel Pro

Part One

Part Two

Part Three

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

There is so much freedom in having less stuff! I have also found that the things that you just can't get rid of changes over time. I don't know how many times I have gone through the things that I just had to keep and found stuff I don't understand why I kept. The freedom of less stuff can be almost addictive and getting rid of one more thing, that you were really attached to before, is a great feeling.

Couldn't agree more! So glad that you can relate and enjoyed my article. Hope you are well my friend! -Dan

Cool stuff. We might end up meeting in the road someday.

That would be great!

Very true man! Spoken like a pro haha!

Excellent post Dan! This is a subject that I struggle with. I'm trying to get rid of stuff and unnecessary expenses. Thanks for writing this post.

It's a challenge for many. Glad you enjoyed the article. Means a lot to me. Wish you all the success in this years spring cleaning. Just don't get rid of that oversize blow torch for removing the fur off a hog before you roast it! lol

Yep. Getting rid of stuff is always a challenge when you have house and are settled in @world-travel-pro.
I've written about it a few times recently as I've been trowing stuff out that I've held onto for years, even a copy of a book I wrote 20 years ago!
At the moment I'm just clearing out whereever I find myself that day. Seems to work OK. 😊

It's hard to let go, but it's also a relief and liberating once it's done. Thanks again for your great comment. A break from the PC is never a bad thing ;)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

many of the ways in travel are very useful for the people you give, it becomes a positive value everyone reads before traveling.
Resteem

Thanks buddy! Appreciated like usual!

Could not agree more! Stuff, i dont need it! a real pro!

Thanks Haas! You're the best!

Have you ever been to luangprabang Laos PDR?

Yes, that's my favorite spot in Laos. If you dig back about 4 months into my blog I have a ton of post on that place and Laos in general.

Wow! welcome

One must first understand that more "STUFF" is more "STUFF". Less "STUFF" is more "FREEDOM" ... it is very true!!!! I also saw your list of bills and when I compare to mine I feel super sorry about myself and the amount extras that I pay... it made me realize that it's not about not having enough in my pocket anymore it's about cutting some things and getting some good deals when travelling as well... I remember paying a 230 night for a hotel in Buffalo NY and I think to myself... that is almost a ticket to Puerto Rico hahahaha once again thank you for sharing your thoughts here and keep in touch ... also how about that coconut oil market lately? hahaha JK have a good one!

Hahaha. I'm actually all out of coconut oil and haven't seen it on the shelves here in Peru!

So glad I can help you think differently about money, and it's direct correlation to life and freedom.

Thanks for your great comment! Have a great day! -Dan

PS. Just another dip. Since I live my life in different hotels year in and year out. I look at it like this 15 dollars a night is about 450 a month in rent. That works well for me. Imagine paying $230 a night in rent for a month like you did in Buffalo...that's about $7,000 a month in rent my friend. Ouch!

very valid point you made there!!! thank you for the tip! keep in touch brochacho!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83