Travel Pro Art #5: New Year's Manigotes in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Two (13 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

My Steemit friends! Everything you see in this post will not exist in less than 10 hours! I was so impressed with this art work it almost breaks my heart knowing they will be gone very soon! Here in Ecuador it's their culture and their tradition to burn these incredible works of art at midnight New Year's Eve. So the count down to destroying all this incredible art is on!

We are looking at what are called "Manigotes". In Spanish that means old dolls. They are also called "Ano Viejos" which translates to "Old Years". The Ecuadorians make these dolls from paper mache during the entire month of December. Burning them at midnight New Year's Eve signifies the death or passing of the old year as a new year is born.

In times past the tradition was to make smaller dolls of old men and women which represent the "old" year. Culture is always evolving and changing; now it has become popular to make Manigotes of Super Heroes and characters from pop culture. Often the bigger and badder, the better! Now let's have a look at these incredible works of art before they go up in smoke!

<center>

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Pro Hits 750 Followers and Turns Full Time Steemit Travel Blogger! A Special Thank You to My Steemit Friends!

Travel Pro Art #4: New Year's Manigotes in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part One (13 photos)

Travel Super Foods #7: Watermelon in Thailand!

Real Life Captured #32: Krabi Town Thailand! Part Three (17 photos)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -2.202037 lat -79.887780 long d3scr

Sort:  

Really cool stuff!

Those are great! Good post :)

Beautiful artworks. Nice pictures, the pics were properly taken... 👊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-art-5-new-year-s-manigotes-in-guayaquil-ecuador-part-two-13-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

These are incredible works of art. I hope when they burn them that it brings mega luck for the new year! Happy New Year!

I hope so too! Happy New Year my Friend!

Thank you my friend for including my name in your post. I am honored. I am very happy to be a little part of your wonderful journey 😁 I step by to wish you all the best and life full of greatest inspirations. Let the life be the path to the happiness. Happy New Year 🎆🎊🎈

Thank you so much for the kind words Margeret. Looking forward to continuing out friendship into the new year! and I hope you have very lovely and safe night. Happy New Year! -Dan

They all look so cool ! its a shame they are going to light them on fire and then do it all again next year ! Crazy but very Cool !!upped 👍👍👍😀🎉🎉

your very welcome 😊 blogging from my phone using data right now . I got called to to sit in my car and watch a bank all night but there's no internet here . Boo Hoo.😝😲😢

What a shame! At least you got your data :)

How long have you been collecting the figures World ?

I don't collect them. I lite them on fire! lol

LOL thats fun! but alot of hard work making them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48