Travel Pro Art #4: New Year's Manigotes in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part One (13 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

If this first photo doesn't look like a scene out of a video game than I don't what does! My steemit friends, welcome to New Year's in Guayaquil Ecuador! So what we are looking at are some incredibly sculpted and painted paper mache larger than life dolls, called "manigotes".

It takes some serious talent to create such life like works of art. Not only are they incredibly detailed and well crafted. Just having them balance on two feet in my opinion is very impressive to begin with. Being familiar with Ecuador I knew about the tradition of these New Year's manigotes. But I was just walking to the market near my hotel, and low and behold I stumbled into the manigote honey hole!

The entire street was filled with them. I felt like I was walking through some wild super hero movie set. Talk about a photo op to bring to my fellow steemit members. There's going to be several more post showing these incredible works of art and I'll later get into their significance and what they do with them at midnight new years eve. Now come along and let's take a look at some of these wild manigotes!

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Pro Hits 750 Followers and Turns Full Time Steemit Travel Blogger! A Special Thank You to My Steemit Friends!

Travel Pro Tip #25: Take the Overnight Sleeper Train in Thailand!

Real Life Captured #28: Quito Ecuador Part Three (15 photos)

Real Life Captured #30: Krabi Town Thailand! Part Two (17 photos)

Travel Super Foods #7: Watermelon in Thailand!

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -2.202037 lat -79.887780 long d3scr

Sort:  

Wow great art

i m remember street fighter

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-art-4-new-year-s-manigotes-in-guayaquil-ecuador-part-one-13-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

These art incredible pieces of art. Please tell me that they don't burn them on New Year's Eve!

That's exactly what they do. I'll by on the riverfront documenting it tomorrow night. So check back on the 1st. So good to have a new steemit friend here. I literally just got a voting bot form steemitdunk.xyz.....so good news you are on it. I'll still make sure to check in from time to time. Thanks for stopping by and enjoying my blog!

All that beautiful art up in smoke! Holy cow Batman! We have paper mache "old Men" representing the old year that get burned here in Nicaragua but they are nothing in comparison to these.

Oh wow thats amazing art work ! thanks for sharing , and theres so many of them ! now im curious to see what they do with them all on New Years eve !👌💕👍✌😀

They go up in flames! Stay tuned for that post as I document it tomorrow night. Happy New Year Karen!

Haha awesome , I was thinking that and said it to my son lol! I have company coming over tomorrow but will check it out as soon as I can ! 👍👍👍

Wow really a very interesting art. looks real if fleeting note. Thank you so much @ world-travel-pro
I will be resteem, please check

Awesome. Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43