Travel Pro Art #4: Greek Statues of St. Armond Cirlce Sarasota Florida, United States! (19 photos)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey there my steemit friends. I had no idea of the Greek influence in Sarasota Florida until I saw the incredible statues all over St. Armand Circle; a little island hanging off the west coast of Florida. But then again after doing some research it really has no Greek influence!

Charles St. Armand a Frenchman was the original owner of this land. He bought the 123 acre island for $22 dollars in 1893. He sold it to a man by the name of Angus McInnes for $1,500 several years later. Rumor has it that McInnes wagered and lost the land in a poker game against the famous John Ringling of the Ringling Bros. & Barnum Bailey Circus in 1917.

Upon receiving the land Ringling envisioned the island being a shopping area for the wealthy. He publicized it with a parade and from his own collection he placed these Roman and Greek statues around the island on display. Besides some new additions these statues are original works of art placed here all those years ago by John Ringling. Hence there really is no Greek influence other than the statues themselves.

John Ringling's vision was very successful and St. Armond Circle to this day is a high-end shopping area for the wealthy. I had a great time walking around St. Armond Circle with my father and his wife Phyliss. I visited for three days while I was in transit from Bangkok Thailand to Guayaquil Ecuador where I'm writing this steemit blog post now. Florida is one of my favorite states in the nation. It's the "Sunshine State" with warm sunny weather year round. But enough about that; let's go check out these statues!

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Pro Hits 750 Followers and Turns Full Time Steemit Travel Blogger! A Special Thank You to My Steemit Friends!

Travel Pro Tip #25: Take the Overnight Sleeper Train in Thailand!

Real Life Captured #28: Quito Ecuador Part Three (15 photos)

Real Life Captured #29: Krabi Town Thailand! Part One (17 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #8: Back Alley Beef Noodle Soup in Chiang Mai Thailand!

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 27.318380 lat -82.577244 long d3scr

Sort:  

Nice I will be going to Florida here soon.

It's a great place to walk around. Thanks for stopping by my blog, hope to see you again soon! -Dan

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-art-4-greek-statues-of-st-armond-cirlce-sarasota-florida-united-states-19-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Cool pics ! Love your travel stories :) followed you! @world-travel-pro

Wow! What a nice place!, I would love to take a visit to this place very soon.

awesome..great work!!

There's a city just north of there - tarpon springs, that might as well be in Greece. I went with my ex for a short trip when we lived in wpb. The food was amazing and there are old people who do not speak English etc. We went to a sponge diving thing in a little boat. All I can remember is how fat I was and uncomfortable. But it is a very cool and different town for FL.

Praying for keyworded captions and good media file descriptions since this is a unique post the rest of the world would search for. - back to nag again later...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99