Travel Eats #2: Tum Yum Gradoog

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey there my Steemit buddies, today we "travel eat" once again. This one is something I never had before, yet I have had the Tum Yum part. Tum Yum is a spice mixture heavy in Galangal (Thai Ginger) and Lemon Grass. They normally make a soup with it. I've had Tum Yum Goong which is with shrimp, Tum Yum Guy which is with chicken, but this is Tum Yum Gradoog, pork ribs!

This restaurant looked exceptionally clean and filled with college students and was right across the street from my hotel in Bang Sean Thailand where I stayed for three days. I was walking by there one night and I was like holy smokes look at that huge portion of goodness. I take a look at the banner and see it's a whole 80 Thai Baht or about $2.40 US. I had to have it. Knowing it was a busy restaurant that specialized in one thing; I knew it was going to be good, and it was!

It was obvious how they made it. They just boiled all the ingredients and spices for hours until the meat was fall off the bone tender. With a chunk of boiled radish and topped with spring onions, they gave me a portion close to the spine with marrow still in it. I was happy about that, I've gotten used to eating all the bits of everything and I know marrow is the most nutrient packed part of just about any animal, and it's a high quality fat.

It was served with a side of rice and a bucket to dispose of the bones as you eat. It was delish! I highly recommend giving it a try if you get the chance; or even try making it at home. Any decent Asian market in the western world carries thai Tum yum paste or spice mixture.

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Hotels #2: Yanadin Serviced Apartment, Bang Sean Thailand

Real Life Captured #3: The Night Market in Luang Prabang Laos! (16 photos)

Adventure in Thailand: Journey from Bangkok to the Islands! Part One

World Travel Report #13: Vang Vieng Laos

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 13.286812 lat 100.929079 long d3scr

Sort:  

Looks deliscious as always. I'm a bit more of a Tom Kha Gai person, but I'll give that a go. Especially because asian pork is a lot less gamey tasting than my local pig meats.

Tom Kha is a favorite of mine too. As long as there are a lot of vegetable and spices I usually leave the restaurant very happy. The meat was fall off the bone delicious! Gamey pork, not sure I've ever experienced that. Hope you are doing well buddy. Steemit and my blog are finally getting a long quite well. Thank you for helping me out when things were not so smooth for me.

yummy! I also just ate something like , a soup of pork ribs with vegetables..

I found an all you can eat buffet here in Chiang Mai for $6.50. I've been piggin' out! Will be a post in a short while. I love eating around the world. So interesting and tasty!

It look good. Enjoy your food. I see it and i m hungry

Thank you it's goooooood!

It is awesome! I like your pictures and the way you write
If you like to read about travels and circus life please welcome to my friends @annamur

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-eats-2-tum-yum-gradoog


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

try it comment it and say excellent stuff

Congratulations @world-travel-pro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79