Real Life Captured #67: Mercado Este Guayaquil Ecuador Two (13 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! Here we are at another excellent old world market in Guayaquil Ecuador. This one was also near my hotel even closer than the Quatro Manzanas Market. It's kind of funny as I was walking toward the Manzanas market that I was regularly going to, but I decided to take a different rout one day and I walked right into this market.

Mercado Este or East Market it was only two blocks from where I was staying, where the "Four Apples Market" was six blocks. So I was happy to find this market as it was quite a bit closer. I also found it to be a little cleaner and more organized. The fruit and vegetables here were better displayed and maintained. Non the less this market's meat section was just as bloody! Including that cow's heart in a tray. Looks like the work of a surgeon rather than a butcher.

So this turned into my new place to go food shopping. I was buying black berries, strawberries, and cherries all for one dollar a pound. I'd get half a dozen bananas for fifty cents, and a big watermelon that would stay good in my fridge all week as long I didn't cut into it the wrong way. That was only two dollars as well. Now come along my Steemit friends and let's check out Mercado Este!

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #64: Quatro Manzanas Mercado, Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Two (13 photos)

Travel Pro Hotel Cooking #2: Travel Pro Breakfast of Champions! In a Hotel in Guayaquil Ecuador! (36 Food Photos)

Real Life Captured #65: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Six (13 photos)

Travel Pro Places of Interest #4: Basilica Gothic Cathedral Bell Tower! Quito Ecuador! (25 photos and one video)

Travel Pro Eats #10: Thai Buffet Restaurant at Siam House in Ft Lauderdale Florida USA and How it Compares To Thai Food in Thailand! (24 food photos!)

Travel Pro Gear #5: Three Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

!steemitworldmap -2.204492 lat -79.886554 long d3scr

Sort:  

That market looks great, and the meat looks very good and fresh.

It was a very good market. Much cleaner than some other which are similar style.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-67-mercado-este-guayaquil-ecuador-two-13-photos-1517428251


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banana if in aceh very cheap price buddy, but banana many contain vitamins, my hobby of eating banana kawan, posting good friend.

Thank you! That is some English you got there buddy. What is your native language?

I love markets like this. A bunch of great fresh fruit, produce, meats and seafood under one roof. And usually there are people selling cooked treats too. In Bangkok, my market has this one vender that sells coconut cookies. They cook on a flat top in a disk shape and then they roll them into a cylinder before they cool and harden. I always grab a bag of those to eat while shopping. The taste is amazing and they cost about 50 cents for the bag!

I love those too! I know exactly what you are talking about. That's what I love about the non-commercialized world. It has so much character. Character created by the people, their culture, not "Dunkin' Donuts" for example. But I do like Dunkin Donuts! lol Will be back in Guayaquil for a week, catching up on steemit Friday. So I'll make sure to stop by your blog and see what "Chef Steve!" has been up to! Hope you are well my friend! -Dan

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49