Real Life Captured #48: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Two (15 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

Hey there my steemit friends! Welcome to part two of the "Real Life Captured!" at the Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida. My bags were packed and and sitting by the front door at my uncle's house as I had a plane to catch later in the evening to Quito Ecuador. My uncle said "Hey, we have some time and it's Saturday; let's go check out this local farmer's market just a few miles from his house." So that's exactly how I spent my last few hours in the United States.

Arriving at this market I felt like I was already half way back in the third world. It was an open air venue, with no corporate companies. All of the small business owners were running their own stalls and selling their own products; just like here in Ecuador when you go to the local markets.

There was a huge variety of fresh produce. The quality was good and the prices were reasonable....for America ;) They even allowed dogs to walk around inside! I really enjoy this style of shopping as there is so much character. Each booth, each product, is like an artistic creative reflection of the one selling it.

Many things really impressed me. For one the variety and creativity of the products was awesome. Everything from organic lion's mane mushrooms to designer donuts were being sold. The quality of food was a real representation of the care and effort that each shop owner had put into their work.

After shopping in Walmart the night before, I was really proud to see basically the opposite. I told my uncle "this is where you need to go food shopping and make a point to do that!" He totally agreed and said he'll make sure to come next weekend and stock up on things he needs. Shopping here is not only good for you, it's really supportive of these small business owners.

So the comparisons to a third world market have already been pointed out, but how do we know we are definitely not in the third world? For starters there is a huge parking lot outside of the building. You certainly don't see parking lots anywhere near these sizes in the third world. The lighting was really good, it actually was a little challenging to take good photos with the lights often facing my camera. The signs were big, bright, and of high quality.

Some other major differences, there was no raw meat hanging on hooks. The place didn't smell, no dead animal odors or anything. The overall cleanliness and hygiene was impeccable. Everything from totally clean floors, to handling the food with latex gloves. The people's work stations were very clean, organized, and presentable as well.

Most people spoke English, even though I did find myself speaking Spanish quite a bit. American friendliness, hospitality, and service based mindset was in full effect; including free samples all around. American's are some of the kindest and most caring people on the planet.

I knew we were in the United States by the quality and craftsmanship of some these specialty products; from flavored olive oils to gourmet cheeses. The prices were American as well, I definitely was not getting a pound of cherries for a dollar here like I get in Ecuador.

One final tell that this was the USA is that the American flag was proudly being displayed in various places throughout the market. This was a great way to spend my last few hours in my home country and I thanked Uncle Kenny for taking me there. If you've been following my blog you already know I love markets! Now let's have another look at what makes the Yellow Green Farmers Market so special!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Answers #2: @Chefsteve Asks: How Do you Avoid Food Born Illness When Traveling?

Travel Pro Super Foods #8: Star Fruit in Florida!

Travel Pro Art #7: Stained Glass Windows of the Historic Basilica Church in Quito Ecuador! Part One (9 photos)

Real Life Captured #45: Chiang Mai Thailand! Part Two (15 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #9: Peppermint Guesthouse and Vegetarian Restaurant in Chiang Mai Thailand!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 26.028153 lat -80.168846 long d3scr

Sort:  

Excellent place my dogs would love it. 😆

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-48-yellow-green-farmers-market-in-hollywood-florida-usa-part-two-15-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Cool market and awesome dog! :D

love farmer's markets and those are some awesome mushrooms and ginger roots!

Me too Ruth. Getting great food and supporting the local community! Win-Win!

the market atmosphere is so warm, and the people look very friendly with the buyer @world-travel-pro

They they do. Good to see you here again my friend. Hope you have a great weekend! -Dan

You have created a very Nice, Interesting & Informative post
Keep it up
Please Follow me @sohailomi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47