Real Life Captured #44: The Salvation Army in Ft Lauderdale Florida, United States!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My steemit friends, recently during my visit with friends and family in Florida USA I stayed with Uncle Kenny for four nights in Ft Lauderdale. I was in Uncle Kenny's world, and it was fun and interesting. He is quite a quirky guy. one morning after waking up Uncle Kenny says "The Salvation Army is having an auction today, let's go!"

So off we went. Now if you're American I'm sure you've heard of the Salvation Army but those who have not, basically it's a place where people donate their used goods. Everything from vacuum cleaners to antiques to even furniture and even clothing.

A lot of people struggling financially shop here. Uncle Kenny fortunately is not struggling, he just loves a good deal. I guess it must run in the family; however since I just live out of a backpack I had no use for anything I saw. But that didn't stop me from have a great time capturing the scene to share with all my steemit friends. Now let's have a look at the Salvation Army as well as the huge six lane highway I-95 we took to get there in Ft Lauderdale Florida!

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #43: New Year's Eve in Guayaquil Ecuador! Final Part Three (14 photos)

Travel Pro Health #9: Lemon Grass from the Markets in Chiang Mai Thailand

Travel Pro Gear #2: Five Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro! Part One

Real Life Captured #37: Santa Clara Market Quito Ecuador! Part Two (10 photos)

Real Life Captured #40: Buddhist Temples of Chiang Mai Thailand and Historic Summary of the City! (14 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 26.122170 lat -80.165262 long d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-44-the-salvation-army-in-ft-lauderdale-florida-united-states


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hey Dan,
I used to go to Salvation Army when i lived in California. So it was nice to see these pictures, brings back old memories. Thank You! :-)
really cool.jpg

Nice! and love the pic like usual :)

Another great post from you, Dan! Looks like you and your uncle had a great time! (btw I can't believe how big the highways are!)

I now, after being out of the country for so long, they even took me by surprise. Even living in Upstate NY, the highways are at most 4 lanes. South Florida is heavily populated, so they've made these roads huge! How big do the highways get in Denmark? Do you even need a car there?

Hahaha! Yeah, it's actually crazy! I also sometimes think about USA compared to Canada. Roughly same size but 10 times the population is living in the States - it is absolutely crazy! The maximum we have (I think) is three lanes. This is only near the capital for roughly 20 km (give or take), but usually we just have to lanes on the highways. In the cities it's just one lane. You can honestly be completely fine without a car. The country is tiny (max 45 minutes from the coast, no matter where in the country you are), and the public transportation system is fairly good. Also, the taxes on cars used to be 180% (I kid you not) until a year or two ago. Now it's "down" to 150% and might fall to 120% soon. So yeah, the tiniest car is roughly 20 grand for a new one. Not worth it - especially not as a student ;-)

Wow, nothing like motor city USA. Such great info! Thanks for sharing! -Dan

An essential service for many ! plus its recycling at its finest and keeping the stuff out of the land fill , at least for now ! I quite often shop at Value Village its the same type of place , we also have salvation army places here . Great stuff can be found sometimes and refinished like new for cheap !! Upped ! 💕✌👍😀✌

Karen, it's as if you an I live totally different lives yet have so much in common. I too have enjoyed taking advantage of some incredible deals at these types of places of the years. You know I like a deal. Wait until you see my twelve dollar hotel room here in Guayaquil, with all new furniture, AC, Flatscreen TV, fredgerator, and cleaning every day of the week! Travel Pro Baby! ha ha Hope you've had a great weekend. I'll be in touch! -Dan

upvoted....yup..Good old "Uncle Ken"...lol...

We had a good time pal'n around! Thanks for stopping by!

I like the same person as you friend .. I like your behavior friend .. if you have time visit is my blog kawanya?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23