Real Life Captured #43: New Year's Eve in Guayaquil Ecuador! Final Part Three (14 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

Welcome back my steemit friends to the final part of my Real Life Captured New Year's Eve in Guayaquil Ecuador Series! Wow, it was a night I'll never forget. I didn't drink, I didn't party, quite frankly I'm a little boring like that and those days are more or less behind me. Now I get high on life, "Real Life" of cultures around the world.

Speaking of cultures the Ecuadorians really have some way to bring in the new year. They had me ducking behind cars and other structures to get out of the way of flaming debris and explosions. I got a couple great videos, if you haven't seen them yet the links are at the bottom. I was filming with one hand on the camera and my finger in my right ear!

Lacking a third hand, I sacrifice my left ear to capture these incredible videos of explosions and much more. However I did enjoy taking a bunch of still shots and I think these are great. They really "capture" the reality of the moment. Frozen in time to share with all my steemit friends. Now lets have one last look at this crazy night!

The Manigotes Burn #1
The Manigotes Burn #2

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Health #9: Lemon Grass from the Markets in Chiang Mai Thailand

Travel Pro Gear #2: Five Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro! Part One

Real Life Captured #37: Santa Clara Market Quito Ecuador! Part Two (10 photos)

Real Life Captured #40: Buddhist Temples of Chiang Mai Thailand and Historic Summary of the City! (14 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

steemitworldmap -2.199911 lat -79.887471 long d3scr

Sort:  

Lovely update! Lot of fire, fireworks and even wish ballons over there. Nice!

Thanks brother. Glad to see you enjoying my blog! It was a wild night!

Wow........... So many fireworks, the balloons, empty road and obviously your licks just awesome. There are some dolls in the fourth picture?

Yes they burn them to celebrate the new year.

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Same new years night for me. No drinking really besides a glass of champagne but I find I have a much better night and of course the next morning. :)

Exactly. I don't know how trashing your body became so popular. Alcohol is a really strong drug, especially if you have enough of it. Really makes me sick the following day. Like my body is screaming, No don't do it! But I do enjoy a glass of red wine with dinner from time to time. Glad to see you enjoying my blog my new steemit friend! Hope you are having a great weekend! -Dan

Me too. My body aches so bad it really is not worth it and while drinking awareness and clarity goes way down, which I love more than anything. I can agree with you on a nice glass on wine!

Have a great weekend also Dan!
-Matthew

Oh wow, that's pretty wild! Where you scared at all?!

Hey there Josefine! Actually I was tt certain moments. Especially during that first video. I was literally surrounded by smoke and fire and explosions going off all around. People were taking cover and I had to as well randomly throughout the night from 12:00 to 1:00 am. Was really nuts. Glad to see you enjoying my blog. I'll take a peak at what you've been up to now. -Dan

I could imagine! It looks and sounds pretty scary! I'm wondering is this is a tradition they have for New Years or if it is just something that randomly happened while you were there..?
Thanks, have a great day! :-)

Great question Josefine. This is actually a tradition practiced all throughout Latin America. The burning of the doll represents the death of the old year as the new year comes in. Hope you had a great weekend! Steem on! -Dan

Oh wow, that's really interesting! Maybe I'll get to experience it one day ;-)
Thanks, I did! Hope you did as well. - Josefine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39