Early Morning Adventure Exploring Caves in Vang Vieng Laos! Part One

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

One thing you'll quickly learn in Vang Vieng Laos, is that on a sunny day, it's blistering hot in the afternoon. It's the kind of heat, humidity, and sun that zaps your strength; so I've been getting up at 5:00am and doing activities on my own. This is an early morning adventure from just the other day.

Heading out around 5:30 am while the sun is just coming up, I capture this photo demonstrating traditional Lao life along with the growing tourist industry represented by the rising hot air balloon in the background.

Happy with my real life photo I continue over the Orange Bridge, crossing the Nam Song River.

The early morning view of the mountains.

I got this photo from atop a stair case along the mountain side.

At the top this cave was inaccessible at 6am.

I soon came across this Lagoon. You can swim under the water and it opens into a cave area.

In the same area there was a small cave with a Buddha Shrine inside. Many caves have Buddhas placed inside of them in Laos.

I soon find myself on a trail leading to this strange area. Look what I find still bedded down from the night.

I decide not to cross the bridge and see the caves along the side of the mountain.

I continue on the hardened mud trail worn down by the cows. I see an opening into the mountain but it doesn't seem like much.

I come around a corner and find myself looking right into a cave.

It's not even 7:00 am now, using my phone as a flash light I enter the cave and crawl through a long tunnel which this video leads up to.

A cave chamber opens up and I see I can go on further climbing up a broken ladder, but I felt unsafe doing so and turned back.

Feeling a little bit of claustrophobia and adrenaline, I soon see light!

The trail continues and so does this post. See part two here.

Sort:  

Nice post and update. It sure is an adventure.

Thank you. Wait until you see some upcoming adventure post. I found myself in a few hairy situations last week. Going to go check out your page now.

Nice this post

Nice location, nice photos too

Great pics of the landscape.

Thanks buddy! I like your handle name much more now that you're traveling! lol :)

Loving your adventures and also your wisdom to know when to not take unnecessary risk. I'm a bit claustrophobic too, so even looking at some of those pics makes my chest tight.

Thank you! Making safe decisions will be a theme of mine. Backpacking for ten years, never had anything stolen or lost either! Hope I didn't just jinx myself! lol

Wow. That's impressive. I can't imagine 10 years of nothing lost or stolen. I would feel super lucky to go half that.

Yeah it is pretty lucky. But a lot of it has to do with avoiding shady situations and places.

And also not doing dumb stuff. Like last year when I left my phone sitting on the table at a bar while I went to go pee. Doh!

You almost like you have to train your mind to be in-tune with your surroundings and what's going on. Especially when constantly in foreign countries and foreign places.

This is so true. Sometimes I don't want to listen to that inner wisdom. I convince myself I'm being judgey. Particularly as a woman, not listening to that voice can be a terrible mistake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61728.21
ETH 2680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56