My afternoon with Bond ... in Motion

in #travel6 years ago

I love London!

London is probably one of my favourite cities in the world. So much diversity, great food, lots of history, shops you can't find where I live and generally pretty affordable, if you know where to look. The one thing I don't like is the people, they're distant and do everything to avoid contact and are very rushed. As a tourist you might get the impression that you're an obstacle for everyone you encounter.

I had to go to London last week for a trade fair, but I arrived a day early. This gave me some time for myself and to try and relax in this stressed city, not an easy thing to do. My hotel was close to a famous landmark, of which I won't mention the slang word, but you'll recognise it in this picture:

IMG_0119.JPG
Another name for this building is 'the Gerkhin'

Having lived and worked in London for 6,5 years, my expectations of hotelrooms are very limited and the least you expect, the more surprised you'll be. Before entering my room, I thought to myself 'I wonder how small this room is'. What I found was something I couldn't have expected in my wildest dreams.

The double-bed ended against the wall on my right next to the door and started against the closet. Above the foot-end hung a TV screen, larger than the average computer screen. The closet could barely fit my suit and also had a safe and coffee and tea making facilities, without any coffee. Next to the closet and opposite the entrance was the door the the 'bathroom'. Although one should call it a showercloset with toilet. There was definitely no space for a bath in this room. Under the bed was space to store my suitcases and that was about it.

IMG_0162.JPG
A picture of my room, taken from the door to the bathroom, with the closet on my left

After I dropped my luggage I went into town and walked around the famous centre from Piccadilly Circus to Covent Garden, where I got theatre tickets for the evening. Occasionally I went into a store, but I ended up without making any purchases. I stumbled at the London Transport Museum where they happened to have an exhibition of James Bond vehicles and props that they used in making the Bond-films. As a Bond-fan I decided to pay the £14 and visit the Bond in Motion exhibition.

I absolutely loved the cars (mainly) and other props on display, but the fact that you can't touch anything makes the entrance fee seem very steep. Nonetheless a nice exhibition to visit for any Bond-fan out there. At the end of this post are a few pictures I took at the exhibition.

After the exhibition I went to Byron Hamburgers for dinner. Followed by a walk along the river Thames. I walked all the way into the City of London. A little known fact, but London as most people know it is many 'cities' in one large city, where the city of London is a part of. The entrance is very recognisable by 2 lions that guard the entrance as you can see in my picture below.

IMG_0161.JPG
The 2 Lions guarding the entrance to the City of London

I ended the day by going to the theatre where I sat front-row at 'the Play that goes Wrong a fantastic play about a theatre group that is performing a play and everything that could go wrong, does go wrong. If you like Fawlty Towers this is definitely your kind of play. One of the characters even reminds you (on-purpose) of Basil Fawlty.

I finished the day doing well over 16.000 steps.

IMG_0122.JPG
the car that was made famous by probably my favourite Bond-villain Oddjob

IMG_0135.JPG
This car is fantastic, even more so with the customised options

IMG_0129.JPG
A gun that doesn't need an introduction

IMG_0159.JPG
The panoramic view over the river Thames on my evening stroll

Doron

Sort:  

#life
Frank Sinatra : The big lesson in life, baby, is never be scared of anyone or anything.

martinis not pictured?

Only in the bar :-D

London is awesome and can't wait to go back for a visit one day!

If you want any advice, just let me know. I know my way around and I stay up-to-date on new stuff to do over there.

If I plan on heading over there I'll definitely leave you a comment here on steemit.

Where do you live?

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 11.0% @zear upgoat, thanks to @wolfje
It consists of $5.17 vote and $0.21 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wolfje to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28