Meet Split, Croatia - The home of the Emperor Diocletian

in #travel6 years ago

Hello and welcome, my fellow lovely people. I'm honored to be a part of the platform where you can meet people from all around the World. So, I wanted to show you where I live for the past 30 years, from my day one!

City of Split is a unique city full of historic places, passionate and sometimes temperament people. It is situated on a small peninsula near the hill of Marjan, the lungs of Split. The center of Split is a Diocletian's Palace, an ancient home of a Roman emperor Diocletian, also it's where Daenerys, from the series Game of Thrones, kept her three dragons ;). The city of Split is more than 1700 years old, sitting peacefully from year 295 until now.

Now, let me take you on the adventure and a casual walk through the center of the city, where everything happens! I am living 10 minutes from the center so I took the pictures of the most famous places there. After that, I went to the hill of Marjan and took a good panoramic photo of the whole city. Finally, I went to the football stadium Poljud, the home of Hajduk Split - the most precious thing for people in Split and all over the region of Dalmatia.

The city of Split - the pearl of the Adriatic sea

Today I woke up and my first thought, of course, was about Steemit and my post. After some thinking, I decided to make a post about my city. We all love our city so I encourage anyone to make a post about his homeplace, just so we can know each other better.

Even though it's not common to see clouds in this time of year, I saw few of them coming and thought it might rain today. So, quickly I had my lunch and I went to visit my old city.


BAČVICE BEACH

First of all, I wanted to show our sand beach Bačvice, that is in the vicinity of the center, just 5 minutes by foot. Unfortunately, it's not summer and you can't see the whole beauty of it but I hope you get a glimpse of it. On this beach, we play a game called Picigin. The crazy thing about this is, it is played all year long, so we have a tradition of Christmas Picigin and on summer we have World Cup in Picigin. Maybe, you should come with your friends and try to win the World Cup haha!


THE PORT OF SPLIT

After visiting Bačvice, just 4-5 minutes by foot and we're already in the port of Split. It's a small port but what is interesting, it's in the center and only one road leads to it. Now you can get a picture what summer traffic looks like when thousands and thousand tourists come and want to go to some island with a ferry. It's hell down there :D :D Croatia has over 1000 islands, and in this area, ferries go to 6 big islands every day, two times per day. On the west side, we have Aci Marine and a small area for smaller boats. So, you can say the port of Split is a bit of a busy port.


RIVA

At the end of the port lies Riva. It is the place full of palm trees, cafe bars, souvenir shops,... where old and younger ones love to spend their time. If it's a sunny day, and it is almost all year long, Riva is a place to be. You can see people drinking coffee, parents with their children, old folks sitting on the benches beneath the palm trees. This is the center of the center :D


DIOCLETIAN'S PALACE

The best place to visit in Split is probably Diocletian's Palace. It's the historic monument and still a home to people. Here, I will take you through some photos so you can learn a bit about our history.

The Golden Gate was used in ancient times to go to a nearby place Salona and only Emperor and his family could use it. For military defenses, it was built with double doors. Unfortunately, those doors are not there anymore, but now, people can pass through freely. They were built on the north side of the palace.

In front of The Golden Gates, there is a monument of Bishop Grgur Ninski (Gregory of Nin). It is the work of a worldwide known Croatian sculptor Ivan Meštrović. Funny thing about this monument is that it's said that if you rub his toe, it will bring you good luck. That's why you can see that his toe is golden now :)

Taking the narrow street from The Golden Gates you can come to Peristil (Peristyle). Peristyle was the center place in the palace and now, in front of it, there is a Cathedral of Saint Dominus. It's one of the oldest European Cathedrals and the Mausoleum of Emperor Diocletian. Cathedral is still in use and today it's a place for liturgy. During summer often you can see a wedding there. Imagine having a wedding in this historical place!

If you take a right turn you can end up under Church we call Ispod Ure (Beneath the clock). But, what we're gonna do is, we're gonna go to the best part of the Diocletian's palace, the basement!

In the southern corner of the palace, beneath Peristyle, lies Diocletian's Basements or Basement Halls. Before, it was inhabited and a place to produce wine and oil, and now you can see souvenir shops and you can also take a tour of the basement. I recommend anyone who visits Split to visit this place. It's a special feeling to be here and wonder what was happening in Middle Ages.


CROATIAN NATIONAL THEATRE

Built in 1893. Croatian National Theatre is one of the oldest theatres in Dalmatia. It is situated north-west of the Diocletian's palace, only 1 minute by foot.


PROKURATIVE

Going down the Marmont Street, just at the center of the street we can turn right and come to Prokurative. It's a place surrounded by 3 sides with Neo-Renaissance buildings. Today, it is used in various purposes but you can also sit here at the cafe bar and feel the Roman times while drinking your coffee or the drink you prefer.

1ST VIDILICA

Too bad today was a bit of a cloudy day, but I left you one photo I took a week or two before, when it's a sunny day. I wanted to share with you the sunny side of my city and its beauty. This is the place you want to visit to see the whole city. I just love it!!

From Prokurative we can take a few steps going up the hill of Marjan and end up on 1st Vidilica (sightseeing place). We have three of them, but from 1st one, you can have the best view of Split. On the left side, you can see another hill Kozjak and not far from Kozjak there is a hill Mosor. Looking towards the sea, we can see the island of Brač and on the edge of the photo the island of Šolta.

THE STADIUM POLJUD

Going down the 1st Vidilica, this time we walk to the north. Just 10 minutes away we can see a home of Hajduk Split and its passionate fans Torcida. Torcida is the oldest football firm in Europe, established in 1950. The people from Split are very passionate about Hajduk Split, but not only them, the whole region Dalmatia breaths and lives Hajduk Split. It is something that can't be described by words. I will just leave you a video when Hajduk Split celebrated 100 years, in 2011. This was all done by people and Torcida, without a help of our major and the city, Torcida celebrated 100 years in a fashion a few clubs can be proud of. Believe me on this one, you got to watch this video! We celebrated for two days and at midnight we made a spectacle than we will never forget.


ARTISTIC SIDE OF THE CITY

This monument, unfortunately, doesn't work anymore. But when it does, it shoots the water from the finger :D It is on the Marmont street I mentioned before.

This is on the west side of the port, near the Aci Marine. It is dedicated to all fishermen and its height is around 3 meters. Split is a city with a tradition of fishing from a long time ago.

Near the stadium Poljud, we have a wall that is painted/sprayed all over again every year. Graffiti masters come here and really make us a view that we adore! The wall is long approx 150 meters (164 yards).


BELIEVE IT OR NOT

This is the smallest street in the city, probably in the whole world. Nobody lives here as you can see. But, what is funny about this street is that its name is Let me pass. True story bro :)



I could go on and on, but I hope you get a feeling of my small city. I really love it here and I wouldn't change it for anything. The climate and the mentality are almost perfect for me. If anyone is coming to Split, feel free to contact me! Then we can see much more amazing places in Split. Until then, have a great day or a lovely night!



All photos are Original Content.
Links in the text are leading you to the sites to know better what I'm talking about. These sites are not mine.




ADSactly



The STEEM Engine




BuddyUp

Sort:  

Wow! What a wonderful, attractive tour of Split. Just terrific!

You make me think. Maybe I should give a tour of Yuma. The UPS man brought me a pair of motorcycle shoes yesterday that I need to try out. Not just riding, but a little walking too. Hmmmmm.

Thanks for a magnificent post!

Thanks Tom, I wanted to share something about my crazy city :D :D I hope to see some Steemian coming here so we can have a detailed tour :D

Adventure is out there Tom, go for it! :D

What a thorough and informative post about your home. I grew up near the ocean so I love seeing the pictures of the water. The architecture is so captivating. I am such a big fan of the old structures. It is like they are telling a story. My favourite picture is the stadium. It looks stunning as you approach it.

Yeah, you know the feeling when you're near the sea, it's just amazing... Split is full of historical places, I didn't see it all yet xD

When built, stadium was one of the bestlooking in the whole Europe. It's really special to be there!

Have a great day bro!

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS CURIE TWIN!!!! :)

Yeaaaaah baby we made it!!! Everyone is invited to a partyyyy hshaha

party in da howwwwwwwwwwws LOLOLOL

I have only one comment to this "Najlipši grad na svitu i okolici"

hehe! Jel tako! Čim je zaslužia curie, to je ulitmativna potvrda haha :D :D

A very detailed post. People living in places connected to water bodies are blessed. Beaches simply add to the beauty of the place.

Yes, sea is my soul! I just love it here, it's almost perfect :D

My parents saved some postcards from Split and those postcards are older than me and Split was beautiful then as it is now. hope i will be there this summer :) like the shape of the stadium and it's cool cause it's surrounded by nature.

You need to come, and please contact me if you do! It's a beautiful city, too bad I couldn't tell you all here, but that would be too big of a post :/

Have a great day!

i will!
thank you, you too! :)

Que maravillosa publicación!! Muestras tu lugar y lo mucho que lo amas. Las imágenes y tu descripción son admirables.
Gracias por el tour!! ..y Felicitaciones por tu post ♥

Super ideja za travel post! Kad me moji klištima izvuku iz kuće možda pane koji sa moje strane o Rijeci. Čestitke na Curiju.

haha ma izađi i lupi ovako 20 30 dobrih slika, i teksta i nek te curiaju :D fala!!!

Your city looks fantastic. I had Croatia on my list of countries to visit while going yo Europe. Though now I only knew about Dubrovnik. Thanks to your post I discovered a new amazing destination that I look forward to visiting somewhere in the near future.

Yes it is :D I never went to Dubrovnik, but next week it will be my first time woohoo :D :D Come and visit Split, it is really a nice place :D

Thanks for stopping by. Luka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56